We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Glasshouse on our 4th night in Ireland. It was fairly easy to find, and has a great central location. Parking is in a garage that goes underground, and if I had to complain about anything, it would be about the tight spaces and maneuvering, but every parking garage we parked at in Ireland was like that. The staff was friendly, and the rooms very modern looking. The dining area has a nice view of the river. Everything is easily within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Cocotea
That you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a great central location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is very good hotel with its location in the centre of Sligo,s many shops,pubs & restaurants.
The rooms are spacious and well presented.Everything was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was faultless with a wide range of food on offer.The breakfast room has a lovely view out onto the river.
My only complaint is the wifi in the room.If you keep in contact with your smartphone then you will need to go into the bar area,dining room or reception area.it can be a bit annoying and a surprise for a hotel of this standing but we survived and I hope to return to this hotel when next in Sligo

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear garyanne
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the centre of Sligo. We would like to make you aware we do have Wifi in all our bedrooms, access to your individual password is accessed through the tv system. We would like to thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you want to relax in comfort but within walking distance of great restaurants, this hotel is for you. It is a 3 star in my opinion as little things like no fridge or wifi in the room mean it can't be described as 4 star.
But the staff are great, very friendly & we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIrelandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Nirelandrosie
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff great and very friendly and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are stayed here many times it is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious and spotless clean and the beds are so comfortable. the staff are great especially the bar staff - they are so helpful. i like to go for a high floor and we are always accommodated. The underground parking is so handy also. There are great pubs and restaurants close at hand - Foleys is the best for traditional music.

Room Tip: A high floor is has no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear ArdMhacha
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you find our staff great and you enjoy visiting us here at The Glasshouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here with my Fiancée for one night. We booked room only. Check in was quick and easy. We were welcomed by a very friendly lady at reception. We had a double room which was spacious, spotless and modern. Great facilities in the room. It was great to see a splash of colour in a hotel. The bathroom spotless with very good shower.
We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was very tasty, the service was very good!The hotel is located on the river, which is within very short walking distance of all shops, pubs and restaurants.
I would definitely stay in the glasshouse again.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night it might be nice to get a room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear SazC1
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and service good. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I based ourselves here for a long weekend spent touring around Yeats' country. It's the perfect location, in the heart of the city, but easy enough to access and within walking distance of all the shops or eateries. They have an underground carpark which is free for residents but used by lots of others as well; it seemed always very busy and some of the parking was all over the place so it's very tight to manoeuvre around. The hotel itself is pleasant inside, nicely furnished and well kept; the bedroom was comfy and spacious but the bathroom maybe needed a bit of an upgrade. We had a lovely view from a top floor out over the river and weir. There did seem to be several groups of young people staying and we found that they tended to fill up the bar and they were also quite noisy at nighttime. Breakfast wasn't included for us but we bought it anyway; it was tasty but very expensive. We also ate one night in the restaurant which was excellent. All in all, pretty good and would certainly recommend for anyone who wants a handy spit from which to explore the county.

Room Tip: Ask for one high up and facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Sean L
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the perfect location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in the Glasshouse for the second time last weekend. Again it was a great experience and the staff were extremely friendly as always. Check-in was quick even though it was quite busy. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the river and the town which was lovely, and the balcony was great as we were able to sit and enjoy the views. The room was big, spacious and bright. The bar had a great atmosphere and there was plenty of buzz about the place. We came back to the hotel quite late (around 1:00 am) after a few too many sociables in the town and a very kind staff member offered to make us some toasted ham and cheese sandwiches as we were starving!! He brought them up to the room within 10 mins, excellent service! Anytime we stay in Sligo we stay in the Glasshouse, highly recommend. One note, they are in the middle of installing A/C in the rooms so they only have electric fans but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudbugbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear mudbugbelly
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and have passed on your kind comments to the staff. As you noted we are currently installing air conditioning in all our bedrooms and look forward to having this completed next month. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: | Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £75 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing