We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here on business trip to Sligo, fantastic city centre location, staff very polite and breakfast was first class. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable with everything you need. A really nice, no fuss modern city centre hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Terminator128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Terminator128,

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse soon!

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for two nights recently at the hotel, confusing that car parking comes before the hotel and not well signposted.The hotel at the rear is very drab not like front overlooking river. Small reception area but very modern in bright colours, our room was overlooking side street. Bathroom small large chip in bath and toilet not flushing properly, after breakfast following morning I mentioned this to gentleman at reception, who was very pleasant and offered us a top floor suite for our last night, very nice gesture indeed. Breakfast was good overlooking river, access to city is superb, everything is so close. On last day notices appeared all around hotel stating car parking was now under new management and being charged at 3 euro per day, this would need clarified to residents of hotel regarding this matter.

Room Tip: Go for front of hotel we had room at rear , recycling lorry in morning causes lots of noise, as does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgreerBallymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear jgreerBallymoney,

Thank you for your recent review.

We do apologise for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay, I am glad to note that when you notified staff of the problem in your room it was handled efficiently,

The car park is now under new management so unfortunately it is out of our control, I do apologise if this was not explained to you on check in.

We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The water pressure was incredibly low. It took forever to fill the bathtub with water. The room was clean and breakfast was fine.
Good luck on finding the place. Even their website does not provide good information. We did notice some brown and white signs going into town that helped. Most credit should be given to our GPS. If you are driving, you need to turn down what looks like an alley. Just at the corner there was the hotel. Parking is under the hotel and you need to go down to reach it. There are two levels of parking. There are elevators to the hotel from there. It is on a convenient street right in the heart of town and you can walk around from the hotel. Oh, yes. Wi-Fi was free but did not work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear 10234,

Thank you for your valued comments.

We were disappointed to read about the issues you had.

We do have directions to the hotel on our website but will review them to ensure they are easy to find.

With regard to the Wi-Fi, we have just installed new smart TVs with Wi-Fi access in our 116 bedrooms. Apologies if this did not work for you, I do hope you informed our staff of the issue as they are all trained on how to reset the in room Wi-Fi should a guest have issues with it.

I hope you enjoyed your stay and if you ever return to Ireland you will be most welcome at The Glasshouse.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If your going to Sligo book this hotel it's has great parking and walking distance to everything in the town. I have stayed in Sligo on numerous occasions but this is my first stay in The Glasshouse I was so impressed I booked when I came home for my birthday in October. The rooms are spotless nice and big ours was on 5th floor looking over river. The only negative things are the room was very warm air con didn't seem to work to well and for the price breakfast should be included.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for your very kind review.

We were delighted to read that you loved your stay with us.

We are also happy to inform you that since your stay we have installed air conditioning in all our bedrooms.

When you decide to stay with us again please book direct and we can offer you a rate that includes breakfast!

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice location in Sligo and has its own parking. Rooms are tired in their maintenance but reasonably clean. I have a touchy back and the mattress was very worn out - if you have back issues, don't stay here. Bed linens are scratchy as well. Strangely I was given a handicap- accessible room, which meant the sink was just slightly above my knees and very tiny - I have dubbed this room the leprechaun suite!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Johanna M,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate your comments and will take them on board.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently visited the Glasshouse for a 1 night stay while travelling to Donegal for a few days. The décor is lovely, nice and vibrant.

The food was delicious and so were the cocktails.
The hotel was very busy, however staff managed very well and everyone received a pleasant smile.

Will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Susan K,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse when you return to Sligo.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend, were hoping that it would good from looking at their website. We booked a deluxe room, but they tried to give us the regular - while still charging for the deluxe on the card. We were promised a balcony in the room, and that's what the room description said. There was no balcony, and windows didn't open. When we asked about the balcony, we were told that we can use the fire exit an go up on the roof. It was a warm weekend, and it was extremely warm inside. Windows don't open in the rooms as well. I tried keeping the room doors open and get some fresh air from the hallways, but it's just an old dusty place. While there are a lot of really colourful decorations, the carpets were so dirty and dusty, the walls, everything seemed unclean. I feel like the whole place needs a thorough cleaning and especially air ventilation. Our room's AC barely worked, it was not cooling anything, it was just a fan of warm air and we barely slept because of how hot it was in the room. Management doesn't care about any requests or questions either. Crowded loud place with loads of kids, maintenance and upkeep of the hotel needs to clean and ventilate the inside. Of course no one cared about the fact that we chose the room solely for the balcony and space, "Deluxe" room was small.

Room Tip: Do not go for the deluxe or balcony, if you don't want to be crammed up in a small room just cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Madina E,

We were most disappointed to read your review.

Please contact us directly so we can investigate how this happened and hopefully resolve the issue as we don't like to see any guest leave unhappy.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: | Swan Point, Sligo F91 PXA7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing