We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky decor and great location but terrible food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“funky decor and great location but terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Loved the decor of this hotel, very vibrant! rooms were very comfortable and spacious. handy location for shops and many restaurants/bars nearby. Staff very unfriendly so don't expect a warm Irish welcome here.Main issue for us was that the food that was served in the bar was diabolical. Definitely eat elsewhere as there are many better options on your doorstop

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macidublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Macidublin,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glasshouse.

We were very disappointed to read that you found the food and staff not up to standard. The usual high standards we uphold here were obviously not upheld during your stay and for this we apologise.

We hope this would not deter you from returning to the Glasshouse as you can read from the many good reviews we get here for great food and friendly staff.

If you wish to get in touch with any of the Management to discuss your stay please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    511
    244
    90
    68
See reviews for
145
802
61
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to the city center, shopping and pubs/restaurants. Unexceptional breakfast buffet but decent food otherwise. Terrible service at the front desk and bar. Ultra modern decor uninviting and lacks harmony.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear DonnaC2,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the excellent location we have in the centre of Sligo town. We were disappointed to read that you found the service to be less than excellent as we pride ourselves on friendly staff and great food.

As regards the décor admittedly it is not to everyone's taste, we do hope this would not stop you staying with us in the future should you return to beautiful Sligo.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just back from a business trip to this hotel, not my usual style of hotel as I like period buildings but was lovely for a change. Very modern bright carpets and modern paintings on wall. Room was very spacious and my room had a view over the river which was nice. Hotel was quiet at night and beds were very comfortable. I had a bath in the morning and would agree with other reviewers that water pressure was slightly slow but there was plenty of hot water and bathroom was very clean. My sink was significantly cracked from one side to other but did not impair its use, just didn't look great as bathroom was lovely otherwise. Both the evening meal and breakfast were super and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I wasn't driving myself to this venue however I can see that it might not be the easiest to get to, however it is very central to shops, bars and restaurants and is definitely worth finding.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking river with a balcony for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Michele L,

Thank you for your kind review of The Glasshouse.

We appreciate your custom and do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business trip to Sligo, fantastic city centre location, staff very polite and breakfast was first class. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable with everything you need. A really nice, no fuss modern city centre hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terminator128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Terminator128,

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse soon!

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymoney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for two nights recently at the hotel, confusing that car parking comes before the hotel and not well signposted.The hotel at the rear is very drab not like front overlooking river. Small reception area but very modern in bright colours, our room was overlooking side street. Bathroom small large chip in bath and toilet not flushing properly, after breakfast following morning I mentioned this to gentleman at reception, who was very pleasant and offered us a top floor suite for our last night, very nice gesture indeed. Breakfast was good overlooking river, access to city is superb, everything is so close. On last day notices appeared all around hotel stating car parking was now under new management and being charged at 3 euro per day, this would need clarified to residents of hotel regarding this matter.

Room Tip: Go for front of hotel we had room at rear , recycling lorry in morning causes lots of noise, as does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgreerBallymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear jgreerBallymoney,

Thank you for your recent review.

We do apologise for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay, I am glad to note that when you notified staff of the problem in your room it was handled efficiently,

The car park is now under new management so unfortunately it is out of our control, I do apologise if this was not explained to you on check in.

We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The water pressure was incredibly low. It took forever to fill the bathtub with water. The room was clean and breakfast was fine.
Good luck on finding the place. Even their website does not provide good information. We did notice some brown and white signs going into town that helped. Most credit should be given to our GPS. If you are driving, you need to turn down what looks like an alley. Just at the corner there was the hotel. Parking is under the hotel and you need to go down to reach it. There are two levels of parking. There are elevators to the hotel from there. It is on a convenient street right in the heart of town and you can walk around from the hotel. Oh, yes. Wi-Fi was free but did not work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear 10234,

Thank you for your valued comments.

We were disappointed to read about the issues you had.

We do have directions to the hotel on our website but will review them to ensure they are easy to find.

With regard to the Wi-Fi, we have just installed new smart TVs with Wi-Fi access in our 116 bedrooms. Apologies if this did not work for you, I do hope you informed our staff of the issue as they are all trained on how to reset the in room Wi-Fi should a guest have issues with it.

I hope you enjoyed your stay and if you ever return to Ireland you will be most welcome at The Glasshouse.

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

If your going to Sligo book this hotel it's has great parking and walking distance to everything in the town. I have stayed in Sligo on numerous occasions but this is my first stay in The Glasshouse I was so impressed I booked when I came home for my birthday in October. The rooms are spotless nice and big ours was on 5th floor looking over river. The only negative things are the room was very warm air con didn't seem to work to well and for the price breakfast should be included.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for your very kind review.

We were delighted to read that you loved your stay with us.

We are also happy to inform you that since your stay we have installed air conditioning in all our bedrooms.

When you decide to stay with us again please book direct and we can offer you a rate that includes breakfast!

Kindest regards,

The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing