We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Checked in late on Bank holiday Monday evening & asked receptionist for best possible rate - she didn't do much for us considering hotel was very quiet after extremely busy Lissadell Festival. Sligo town was deserted after a busy weekend. Anyway stayed here this nite out of convenience but prob wouldn't stay again as a result. Better hotels out there for same price. Staff lovely. Room nice but no view. 2 major issues - first toilet wouldn't flush that nite which is unacceptable. Also air conditioning knob fell off when we tried to turn it on as room was very hot. This was about 2 in the morning so didn't bother reporting it. Breakfast next morning was not good. Buffet service, compare d to other hotel breakfasts I've had it was very poor. Not enough staff on & whole experience very chaotic. Prob wouldn't stay here again. It is very central to town however, very good residents bar. I also left my phone charger behind but have heard nothing from the hotel even though they have my number. Not very good after sales service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnazzyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    533
    251
    90
    68
See reviews for
148
837
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed in the glasshouse recently, the meal we had was cold and tasteless. The hotel has a great location but that is it. The rooms are okay but are hot and they are not soundproof at all.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels12345186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

After all the hype I had read about this hotel being like no other, really modern etc, I was disappointed to find it really wasnt anything special. Yes each floor is colour coordinated either orange or green and the reception has a glass roof which can be viewed from the top of the hotel, but thats about it really.
Saying that if you ignore all the hype and take the hotel on its own merit it is in a great location right in the town centre and next to a fast flowing river, it also has its own free car park under the hotel.
Our room was orange and was nicely decorated, not gaudy at all, and had everything you would expect. We had a room with a door which opened onto a balcony which overlooked the river. This was nice but there were no windows to open to try and cool the room down at night, and no air conditioning, so it was pretty warm.
Breakfast was not included with our price but could be purchased for a reasonable price in the hotel restaurant.
So generally this was a good hotel but just dont go expecting it to be anything different to most other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I returned from a stay in the glass house 17th to the 19 July . great location , fantastic staff and service , food super, all our needs met . Will certainly be back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liouseballymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The hotel is located right in the heart of Sligo. Convenient location for shopping, sight-seeing etc.,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker32_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This hotel is as good as it gets asfar as staff are concerned, the food and rooms are very good aswell. If I could use one word to describe the staff it would be "exceptional". They will go out of their way to help you and make your stay as pleasant as possible. I forget a few names at this stage (sorry) but Adrian, Fez, Heather, and co!! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionelbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed here with my fiance for a 2 night mid week break. Firstly took a long time to organise reservation over email - if i hadnt set my heart on going i may have looked elsewhere and if my fiance hadnt offered to pay for an upgrade we wouldnt have bothered asking about different rom types, as we were only offered a standard room. Hotel quite hard to find, but think that's more to do with Sligo one way system. Reception staff were pleasant but didnt offer any conversation, restaurant reservations, early call or newspapers. Also found the tourist information at reception unhelpful -no maps of the town! Room was lovely, we paid for an upgrade to a deluxe rivervie room with balcony over the river - view was lovely but room didnt offer anything extra. very basic toiletries and facilities. Standard of cleanliness was good. Was very diappointed though by service in the bar. Decided to eat lunch inthe bar, service was very poor. There were 3 staff members on, only one had a clue what she was doing and i felt extremely sorry for her! other two staff brought wrong food to table beside us, then walked past us with our dessert, and then came back and asked if we'd ordered desserts. The two were also had to ask the other girl when coming out of the kitchen what table they were going to - is there no such thing as table numbers on dockets? Our relaxing lunch was also interuppted by a female manager who was speaking very loudly on the phone behind the bar, obviously trying to sort out a complaint - didnt think it was the most appropriate place! We had breakfast in bed (as we were on a relaxing break!) both mornings - incidentally they got our order wrong on the second day but we didnt complain, which we probably shoudl have. I would have mentioned this on check out but we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay, if everything had been alright, or offered a taxi or assistance with our luggage. Small details maybe, but a little interest would have gone a long way to let us know staff actually cared. Fantastic location, very central, but unfortuantely I felt the Hotel lacked the standard of service to match the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibby26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
390 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing