We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place”

Coach Lane at Donaghy's
Ranked #3 of 121 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I would strongly advise anyone thinking of dining here to change their minds. I went here some weeks ago with my family and we left the place stinking of frying. That in itself isn't the worst, however, being one of my husbands pet hates he sent an email explaining what happened to which he didn't get a reply so a few weeks later he sent a further email, this one was responded to by someone so arrogant and rude I'm shocked their restaurant is actually still in business. Instead of a simple apology for the incident Andrew ( the owner I believe) decided that being petty and rude was more important. Ive never witnessed such a lack of customer service in all my years of dining out. With more and more nice restaurants opening up it's the customer service that can make or break them. If you want a decent service to go with your meal do not go to coach lane as Andrew does not take kindly to his customers having an opinion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Halfpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    144
    58
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very nice place, you are served up with a nice loaf of homemade bread on your arrival. Our meal was lovely and reasonably priced, the staff were nice as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This is how to do lunch!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have taken groups of 40-50 people all over Ireland and this was by far the best lunch spot we have been to! The food was great and very good value for money. The staff were incredibly helpful & friendly, couldn't recommend highly enough! Will definitely be stopping by for dinner the next time I'm in Sligo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Hickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREEN BAY
Level 6 Contributor
933 reviews
449 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

In general, a good dining experience with quality food served by a very busy (almost rushed) wait staff. Both had the lamb shank special at €18 each which was well prepared and tasty. Most of the entrees were in the mid €20 range. Bread was actually some of the best restaurant bread we have had in a long time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have been back to Donaghys a few times since my review of July 2010, most recently over the Easter Holiday weekend when it was very busy. Neither I nor any of my party have ever been disappointed with our meals. The high quality of the food is consistent and the staff are well trained, efficient and very helpful. I visit Sligo regularly and eat in many restaurants but would rate Donaghys as number one. Tip... the house wine served by carafe is good and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cahiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach Lane at Donaghy's also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Strandhill, Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Coach Lane at Donaghy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing