We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why was this my first visit?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bodega!

Bodega!
Ranked #4 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Listed in The McKenna Guide Best 100 Restaurants in Ireland 2014.In the heart of Waterford City is a restaurant that champions the local food experience. Vaguely Spanish in decor with a funky eclectic mix of food and ambiance that may well be described as Mediterranean. Most definitely, not a conventional Irish restaurant experience. Critics and regulars alike acknowledge this place is fun and different. With early bird menus from €20, this is an affordable treat in a relaxed atmosphere. But it's worth persevering according to the critics:" With its warm Mediterranean colour, this place would bring the sun out on the darkest of days" Georgina Campbell "Much loved menu that hits all the right buttons" The Irish Times"It's a dream vision of owners - Cormac & Donagh - who stamp their left field imprimatur on the excellent food & the fine drinks that make folk flock here in their droves" John & Sally McKenna"Bodega! Gives the taste of the med, and also the vigour & joie de vivre of the med" Bridgestone Guide
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Why was this my first visit?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I only left Bodega a few hours and am now back in Carlow...sti savouring the beautiful food I had consumed. Myself and my 3 wonderful friends sat down in the wonderfully quirky restaurant and felt instantly comfortable and at ease. The menu was amazing, the only problem was....what to choose. There was the specials board, the early bird and the a la carte...after 20 minutes of changing our minds and nearly eating the menus we had decided...crab cakes, pate and chicken wings to start..everything was delicious...our mains were lemon sole, pork belly, fillet steal and I had the seafood platter. Every last morsel was nicer than the last. My starter and mains came to €23 but don't let the price fool you, this was gastronomy at its best. The service was great and very natural, price was fantastic and the food...well I wish I was still eating it. Love it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    133
    55
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Offaly
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

First time here, following glowing recommendations from friends. Menu looked top notch and was seriously busy when arrived, which was a great sign. Went for specials on the board - soup and rack of lamb. Soup was fine, you can't really get it wrong. Rack of lamb looked like it was presented well with herb crust and stacked together with garlic potatoes. Lamb was cooked perfectly but it was not cut in three which I personally feel it should be, as it's not easy to cut with knife when chef could do it. What was worse though was that the lamb, albeit cooked perfectly was totally and utterly tasteless, herb crust was dry and lacked any flavour. I was asked at the end what was meal and when I said the lam was cooked perfectly but that it was totally tasteless, the waitress was horrified. She came back with a story that the lamb was young and hence it wouldn't be massively flavoursome... She missed the point but wasn't happy with me at all. I then ordered chocolate fondant (it's Easter!!!) and after 35 minutes there was no sign. I asked when it was due and was told they forgot to put in oven, and it was ten minutes away. I said it's ok you can leave it and was told I would have it in two minutes(????) so I declined. We were not thanked or greeted on way out, and I would feel this restaurant should not rely on reputation but look at customer service, because the menu is fabulous, very very disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OffalyPk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The slow cook menu at the Bodega is excellent value and covers different tastes. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are 2nd to none with a cheery and helpful service

Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Bodega never disappoints! Great food & lovely atmosphere. Only disappointment is the demand for tables which means you cannot sit there for hours but they make every effort to be polite when turning over tables for second sitting. Some feel that its a little pricey but I think its worth every penny

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deef0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bewildering experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Have had very good meals here. On this occasion lunch fish pie, fish scarce,
sauce cold, potatoes old. waitress female inappropriate and rude.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s0phistikates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega! also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Bodega!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing