We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of La Boheme

La Boheme
Reserve with OpenTable
La Boheme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Bohème Restaurant is housed in the vaults of the Georgian ‘Port of Waterford’ building – an historic property which has been associated with the local Chamber of Commerce for many years.Proprietors Christine and Eric Théze have patiently restored this magnificent space to create an inviting and intimate atmosphere. Its original flagstone floors, limewashed walls and vaulted ceilings are unique and particular to Waterford. The design of the restaurant is sympathetic to the architecture of the building, with influences of New Baroque. The restaurant combines ornate antiques and decoration with modern touches creating an eclectic, decadent interior.La Bohème is a restaurant where the pleasures of the table are in accord with the décor, blending modern delicacies with recipes passed down from generation to generation. Enjoy an aperitif at our beautiful pewter bar while perusing the menu and whetting your appetite.‘Here at La Bohème we pride ourselves in going the extra mile to give our customers a dining experience beyond comparison’
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Super location - room is unreal. Menu is pretentious and staff have poor English. It can be cold - depending on where they seat you. Pricey. Pity really as Waterford City centre needs a five star restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Palmyra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Palmyra14,
We always thank those dining guests who leave a review on Tripadvisor, so thank you. What I don't see the point of in your review is stating that the menu is pretentious. Perhaps next time you could detail this not only for ourselves but for other potential diners.

Our basement is over 250 years old and is in a listed building. Along with the city engineers, the builders, our architects and interior designer, we installed as much heating as legally possible. We start heating all the dining rooms, the corridors and even the wc's at 2pm daily for service that starts at 5:30. When weather dips below the freezing mark for a few days at a time, I am sure even private interiors will feel cold if one is sitting for a long while.

Our staff have all been to restaurant management schools and are very professional and yes, some do no speak English 100%, They come to Ireland to perfect their English after finishing their degree. We are part of Europe and enjoy the diversity that this brings not only to the culture here, but to the ambience in the restaurant.

kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    80
    22
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The place is truly wonderful, the atmosphere is very unique- it's underground, yet cosy. The food is one of the best I've ever eaten, mind you, the portions are rather small, so men could not be fully satisfied. It's also quite pricey, so it wouldn't be a place where I could go too often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Dominika,
We love a trip advisor review that starts with "Fantastic Restaurant". Makes us want to continue reading and we are delighted we did, you were so complimentary on your experience of dining with us.

With regards to the portions, the majority of people when leaving say how wonderfully full they are but not stuffed. We do offer extra side plates of vegetables and potato at no extra cost.

We hope to see you on a future visit to La Boheme
kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent food and very nice setting. Not the easiest place to spot as it is in the basement, but well worth visiting. The scallops were very nice. Not the cheapest place but prices seem not unusual for Ireland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear David C,
We are delighted you enjoyed beautiful food in a nice setting and that you chose to post it on Trip Advisor.

You are correct, we are not easy to find, being situated in a 250 year old basement of a Georgian Building, but the ambience of flagstone floors and vaulted ceilings make it all worth it.

We hope to see you on a future visit to Waterford,
kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Food, beautiful atmosphere in centre of Waterford City”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautiful restaurant set in celler with stone walls and flagstone floor, beautifully lit. Small with separate private dining area available for groups. Kitchen can be seen from the dining area. We had the set dinner menu which was €35 per head. We were given an amuse bouche of basil panacotta very smooth and rich. We had pork belly starter and salmon trio, both excellent, followed by rib-eye steaks (€3 supplement), served with mixed vegetables and dauphinoise potatoes. Vegetable portions quite small but good nonetheless. However steak was a little tough and tasteless. We followed this with Bread and Butter pudding and a cheeseboard (€3 supplement) both of which were very good. Extensive wine list, a little on the pricy side.
Now open for lunch on Sundays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Tet1,
Thanks for the time to post such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are always happy to hear about our guests dining experiences first hand.

We are delighted you complimented our restaurant interior we admit to having taken a liking to it ourselves when we first set eyes upon it. its over 250 years old and certainly has a lot of charm. Kind of like a grand ole dame!

With regards to the food, you enjoyed our €35.00 all inclusive Market Menu. Our steaks are locally sourced and dry aged. We serve hundreds per year, and unfortunately from time to time, there can be a tough one in the lot. This is quite literally out of our control. We would of course have happily exchanged it for you. We do not serve huge portions of vegetables. As restaurateurs we do not like waste, and prefer to give an extra portion if asked. You know now for a future visit.

Kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great kir royales. Food salty.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Bit heavy handed on the salt. But otherwise excellent . Deserts were fab. Decor is very nice. Wine excellent. Mushrooms with almost every dish. I hate mushrooms, but they were very accommodating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TsalaWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear TsalaWaterford,
Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed the great location, service.

With regards to your point of view on the saltiness of the food, it definetly remains your point of view, our chefs add just enough but not too much, and this is certainly a very personal opinion. Perhaps the next time you dine with us, you would kindly mention this to the server who will transfer you message to our kitchen.

We are delighted however that you found the entire experience satisfactory and accommodating.

We look forward to a future visit of yours,
kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Boheme also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing