We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of La Fontana

La Fontana
Ranked #22 of 175 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An intimate Italian restaurant located within Waterford's historic Viking Quarter 'The Viking Triangle'. La Fontana is built on tradition, authentic Italian cuisine cooked with locally sourced ingredients. With excellent customer service and a wide range of wines and mouth-watering dishes, La Fontana is the perfect place to sit and enjoy an evening on Waterford's beautiful waterfront.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a lovely dinner in La Fontana on St Patricks evening- all food tastes amazing,great portion sizes and brilliant service. If i was to say one bad point was that my boyfriends steak was a little salty other than that no complaints. Will definately be back again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRyan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    57
    16
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Omg this place will never disappoint you. Came back to Waterford mainly for this place and was well worth it. The most amazing food, lovely atmosphere, superb staff who are so accommodating. And it is so reasonably priced, menu alone is mouthwatering, portion sizes are so generous, there is no way of faulting this place, even had a flower for the ladies on valentine's :-)

Helpful?
Thank Dublins_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Super food!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Went to La Fontana recently to see what all the fuss was about. We all had the early bird. The food was gorgeous.. Italian cooking at its best for such a reasonable price. Will be returning there soon for another taste of Italy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessicacork_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsearcher2009
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice italian food”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

friendly staff and good value food, situated in tourist area of waterford, tables are a little close together.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunsearcher2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Salt, salt, salt”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The atmosphere here is lovely and the menu is very good. Good quality ingredients and good selection of Italian wines. However, I have never had food so salty. There was no need for so much salt in the food. I understand the need for seasoning in food but it was way too much. Everyone at our table thought the same.

I haven't noticed this in any other italian restaurant, and I have been to a lot of Italian restaurants, in Italy and in Ireland. Perhaps this was a once off as I have not heard anyone else mention it in other reviews. Please don't spoil lovely fresh ingredients by over seasoning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ...........
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fontana also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to La Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing