We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Goa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Goa

Cafe Goa
Ranked #14 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Goa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have been to the Café Goa twice and have found it to be really good. The food is Indian in essence and is of a very high quality. We ate here last night and had bhaji and chicken tikka for starters, and beef biryani and the Goa special combo plate for mains. All were prepared to the highest standard. The service is perhaps a little slow and the tables a wee bit close together but neither the service or the crowded room is bad enough to be a real problem. Come to the Café Goa with friends when you have time to spend and enjoy very good Indian food that is reasonably priced. We have to drive 30 miles to get there and will certainly be going there again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PatMurff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    97
    26
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go to Goa!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Genuinely the best Indian food I have ever tasted - and Ive done my research!!! I have been to Cafe Goa numerous times as a couple, with family and with friends. We have always ordered a variety of dishes and every meal is as good as the next! Service also excellent! Looking forward to coming back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Citobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“consistent & casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

6 friends out for some tasty food, authentic Indian beer & quick service with a smile, we weren't disappointed! food was delicious

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bewarebeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never too sure !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have been to cafe Goa about 3 or 4 times now , usually by default ( some one else books) and I'm never sure what to make of it .
It's a tiny room ,,and tables are crammed in , you may as well be sitting with the people at the next table , so no privacy at all
Food is nice , and flavoursome , but I don't like the idea of charging extra for rice €2 I think ,when the main dish has already cost €15 for an average bowl size of curry.
One girl usually works the room alone , so she can be busy ,don't wait til the end of your beer to order another, ask half way down , then it might arrive when you need it .!!!
There is a nice atmosphere here though , and if your not too bothered about where you want to meet up , eat and chat , then this place might work for you .
One toilet for all, which can also be hit and miss at times. Pardon the pun !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very underwhelming, left disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Thursday night with my better half, what can I say only we left a little under whelmed and lighter in the pocket.
Staff weren't overly bothered by us or particularly polite being honest. Food ordered &poppadoms arrived with the usual dips which were very nice. Starter of mixed meat platter arrived promptly and was nice but it only contained chicken?!!where was the lamb or prawn?..If our server had of bothered to ask us if we enjoyed it or if it was ok I would have broached the subject with her but as I said she wasn't particularly interested in whether we liked it or not. The chicken was nice&consisted of tikka, tandoori chicken & pakora. For mains we both got boiled rice one with lamb rogan josh & the other lamb jalfrezi and a garlic naan for good measure which was really lovely and light. The mains were very tasty but both tainted with a lot of ghee which became over bearing half way through.
Price wise it was a little on the expensive side and I don't think it was worth the money to be honest. The rice was charged seperate to your main course which is a bit rich now in an indian restaurant, well considering they are charging €15for a main course and then an additional €2.50 for plain rice! Also they use those horrible paper table cloths, it's a real pet hate of mine, makes it look cheap, tables would look much better without them or with proper white table cloths. Also the table we sat at wasn't properly dressed & staff never bothered to dress it after we sat down, which left one of us with a wine glass one of us without. Then when I asked for jug of water it came out with one water glass! As other people mentioned they tables are quite small and your on top of the next table but as it wasn't overly busy on the night it didn't really impede our dining experience. What did though was the fact that the table was too small for the plates when the mixed platter arrived and the waitress just plonked it down in the middle of the table regardless. We had to remove stuff from the table ourselves. The staff could do with a bit more training. There was nothing really bad about the place just all the little things adding up together to take away from what should have been a nice dining experience. The food was good but the service and price were only average, if there was a two and a half marks they would have gotten it instead of a three.
I wouldn't be back in a hurry, there are much nicer Indians in Waterford, all within walking distance and much better value for money. Sorry cafe goa but being my2nd visit and giving you the benefit of the doubt we won't be back any time soon.

Helpful?
Thank Ms_McLovinTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Goa also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Cafe Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing