We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samuels Heritage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samuels Heritage B&B
Ranked #2 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Morgan, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Susan and Des were great hosts and they have a lovely place just outside of town with a great view. The breakfast was very delicious and the fruit compote was fantastic. They gave us great ideas of places to visit and Desmond shared a lot of the Waterford history with us. If we return to Ireland this will definitely be a place we would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
89
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Samuel's Heritage B&B. The location is just outside Waterford - close but far enough away to be quiet and offer a great view down to the town. The B&B is only 3 years old and everything looked new. The room was large, clean and very comfortable with a long cabinet to sit at as well as a table and chairs. The beds are firm. The bathroom was small but adequate with a great shower. All the rooms are on one floor which made it very convenient to haul luggage in and out! There is a guest lounge that had coffee and tea fixings as well as a little refrigerator where we could put our left over dinner - very unique to any other B&B we have stayed at. The breakfast was extensive and extremely good. They offer a hot Irish breakfast as well as the usual eggs, etc. but also had a wide variety of cereals including homemade granola, fresh squeezed OJ, several types of fresh fruit, homemade bread and scones and jams. Although we did not use it, they have a mini gym and sauna - also unique to most B&B's. The hosts are very friendly and Des helped us find a Renault dealer to get a problem fixed on our rental car. The only complaint I can come up with is that the towels were a little too scratchy for me - but I am kind of picky! All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathysonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fruitysusy, Owner at Samuels Heritage B&B, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks Kathysonny, so much for your kind words and taken the time to review your stay with us. We will review the quality of the towels - we do dry them outside - trying to keep sustainable and using free resources of course. So this drying process tends to make the towels ever so stiff. We usually soften them up in the dryer but must have not done that on this occasion. Hope your stays around Ireland were pleasant ones and that we may welcome you again some time in the future, best regards SUSAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Driving along the long drive to the house and then viewing the River and surroundings in the front yard was just the beginning of this pleasant stay! Room was large & on the ground floor but with a bit of motel feel, breakfast was wonderful with much appreciated scones! Anything this B&B may lack is more then made up for by Susan's great personality, she is a hoot! Hubby was also very nice and welcoming. Would come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLM319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a great B&B!!! We had a first floor room which was great to not have to carry luggage upstairs for a night. The room was spacious and clean. The wifi worked perfectly. It was a great location not too far from the Waterford Crystal Factory. The little fitness center was a nice touch, too. Susan and Des were so nice and so helpful and full of suggestions. Susan suggested the Strand Inn for dinner in East Dunmore and it was one of the best meals we had in Ireland and definitely the best apple crumble we've ever had!!! The breakfast here was the best we had on our trip with homemade scones and so many things to choose from. There was also about 10 different kinds of fresh fruit out and all were delicious!! You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Room, particularly by European standards, was spacious. It even had a table and chairs. Everything was on one floor. No stairs! The wing with the rooms was new construction and everything in the bathroom was totally up-to-date with a large walk-in shower and counter space. There was even an exercise room. Susan and Desmond were exceptionally friendly. Susan even did our laundry for us for a very reasonable fee. Breakfast included a selection of several fresh fruits plus a variety of choices in addition to the traditional Irish breakfast. Food was fresh and well prepared. The location was on the outskirts of Waterford but this provided dramatic views and parking for all the guests. We ate dinner at Becketts which was very close. We enjoyed an opportunity to get away from hoards of other tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Susan upon arrival to the Samuels Heritage B&B in Waterford. This was a great contrast to the hotel service we received our first night in Dublin. Very comfortable beds! Private bathroom. Delicious traditional Irish breakfast! Terrific hosts! Great experience. Highy recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here in May 2013, we found that the room was huge, more like a hotel room than a B & B, the bed was large and very comfortable. The views outside are very commanding of the nearby river and counrtyside, very nice, shame the table and chairs to sit outside were in a state of disrepair. We were also, put out by the lack of promised Wifi connection. Overall, a a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
1.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
2.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuels Heritage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuels Heritage B&B

Property: Samuels Heritage B&B
Address: Dunmore Road | Ballymaclode Halfway House, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Samuels Heritage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samuel's Heritage Bed & Breakfast on the outskirts of Waterford City in the South East of Ireland delights with panoramic views of the River Suir, Comeragh Mountains & City. Set in 30 acres of farmland on an acre site in quiet & peaceful countryside with mature gardens, yet only 300 metres from the Dunmore Road (R684). Our family run guest accommodation has 6 ensuite Rooms and a relaxing breakfast Room & seperate TV lounge for your use. Our Breakfast Menu is famous for its scrumptious & wholesome variety & whenever possible homemade & organic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Samuels Heritage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing