We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #18 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst touring. Parking is directly opposite and costs 5Euro for 24 hrs. Very convenient. Location is excellent being just seconds walk from a convenience store and several excellent pubs. The town centre is just 10 mins walk too. The hotel is pretty basic but was clean enough and we really had no complaints especially for the price although it did feel a little tired, old fashioned and the room was rather small. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Overall it is a very acceptable place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnaxMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Having been unable to book the hotel of choice, we were drawn to this guesthouse by the words 'best value accommodation' at 59 Euros the room plus breakfast as well as its quayside location and professional website. Now I don't want to be instrumental in ruining someone's business but I feel it my duty to flag up this place. We're not opposed to budget hotels but this is something else entirely. When we parked in the 5 Euro for 24 hours car park opposite The Anchorage my heart sank. From the outside it looked pretty run down. (M was being kind with this comment. I said it looked like a 20 Euro an hour place...) Having to buzz on an intercom to be let in didn't help. But the welcome in reception was okay. Then up the stairs with worn-out, threadbare and quite frankly dangerous carpet to Room 202, which interestingly is Room 101 x 2! First impression was 'filthy'. Blackened net curtains, dirty and stained window sills, holes in the plaster around sockets and smoke alarm, and the interesting staining on the ceiling. I won't mention the state of the carpet other than to say it's the sort of place you don't walk around barefoot. And the shower tray... Yuk! Sitting on the loo involved careful positioning so you didn't burn yourself on the radiator or wedge your knees under the basin. However, the beds - a double and a single - were clean (we both did a good check otherwise we would have left immediately); and the towels, although frayed around the edges, were also clean. (Toiletries and hairdryer were provided.) The Anchorage stands on the main road to Rosslare which means lorries... And it is opposite the bus station which means reversing, beeping coaches at 6.30 am. However, the beds were comfy and the shower - braved by M - was powerful enough. Breakfast was the usual buffet of juice and cereal followed by toast and a cooked breakfast. Symptomatic of the attitude pervading the place was the mould on the soda bread served by the waitress who gave us a piece of A4 paper with the breakfast options typed on it. When the proprietor asked if everything was all right he couldn't apologise enough for the bread and came back with 3 slices of 'something a bit fresher'. The best part about The Anchorage was paying the bill and leaving.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Siouxsie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rudike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yainsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.1 mi away
Portree House
Portree House
#2 of 10 in Waterford
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Guest House

Address: The Anchorage 9 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anchorage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing