We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you're on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #18 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was in Waterford on business and wanted something as inexpensive as possible. This was €39 for a single en suite - the same as the hostel down the road, but breakfast was included in the price at The Anchorage. First impressions - it was a bit run down, decor-wise but when I'm looking for budget accommodation decor isn't high on my list. It was clean, had TV, tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer and soap and shower gel in the bathroom - I've stayed in a more expensive hotel in Waterford which didn't provide these! Towels were clean, and the bathroom had good powerful shower. I also got a warm welcome and a good breakfast.

One thing to be aware of - The Anchorage is on a busy road so it isn't the most peaceful location, but it's handy for the town and bus/rail connections.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazy_hoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just got back from a rather interesting over nite stay at the Anchorage. Was awoken at 7am this morning by the sound of the bathroom fan. I was still in bed at this point but got up to check it out. To my surprise a strange man came out of my bathroom!!! he had been in the room sleeping also! He had been given a key to my room while i was inside asleep. Needless to say I swiftly evacuated him from the room and took his copy of the key. When I went down stair to convey my annoyance, the guy at reception was also quite amazed that there was a stranger sharing my room and he was very apologetic. Also just discovered that the mystery man had been in my bag, a t shirt and jumper are missing but I have been left with a strange black shirt of his as a replacement. All in all as you can imagine, Im not very impressed.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank aislingN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It was nothing special, but the room was comfortable enough and it was in a convenient location as well. The B&B is undergoing renovations, so I'm expecting in a year or so it will be much better. The host was extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot testify on the parking conditions on the place, as I took the train into Waterford, but walking from the station is an ease. The one problem I had was that overlooking my bed was a skylight which I could not figure out how to close for the life of me and in summer time in Ireland the sun comes up at four.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starberry1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst touring. Parking is directly opposite and costs 5Euro for 24 hrs. Very convenient. Location is excellent being just seconds walk from a convenience store and several excellent pubs. The town centre is just 10 mins walk too. The hotel is pretty basic but was clean enough and we really had no complaints especially for the price although it did feel a little tired, old fashioned and the room was rather small. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Overall it is a very acceptable place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnaxMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Having been unable to book the hotel of choice, we were drawn to this guesthouse by the words 'best value accommodation' at 59 Euros the room plus breakfast as well as its quayside location and professional website. Now I don't want to be instrumental in ruining someone's business but I feel it my duty to flag up this place. We're not opposed to budget hotels but this is something else entirely. When we parked in the 5 Euro for 24 hours car park opposite The Anchorage my heart sank. From the outside it looked pretty run down. (M was being kind with this comment. I said it looked like a 20 Euro an hour place...) Having to buzz on an intercom to be let in didn't help. But the welcome in reception was okay. Then up the stairs with worn-out, threadbare and quite frankly dangerous carpet to Room 202, which interestingly is Room 101 x 2! First impression was 'filthy'. Blackened net curtains, dirty and stained window sills, holes in the plaster around sockets and smoke alarm, and the interesting staining on the ceiling. I won't mention the state of the carpet other than to say it's the sort of place you don't walk around barefoot. And the shower tray... Yuk! Sitting on the loo involved careful positioning so you didn't burn yourself on the radiator or wedge your knees under the basin. However, the beds - a double and a single - were clean (we both did a good check otherwise we would have left immediately); and the towels, although frayed around the edges, were also clean. (Toiletries and hairdryer were provided.) The Anchorage stands on the main road to Rosslare which means lorries... And it is opposite the bus station which means reversing, beeping coaches at 6.30 am. However, the beds were comfy and the shower - braved by M - was powerful enough. Breakfast was the usual buffet of juice and cereal followed by toast and a cooked breakfast. Symptomatic of the attitude pervading the place was the mould on the soda bread served by the waitress who gave us a piece of A4 paper with the breakfast options typed on it. When the proprietor asked if everything was all right he couldn't apologise enough for the bread and came back with 3 slices of 'something a bit fresher'. The best part about The Anchorage was paying the bill and leaving.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Siouxsie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rudike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yainsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.1 mi away
Portree House
Portree House
#2 of 10 in Waterford
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Guest House

Address: The Anchorage 9 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anchorage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing