We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #18 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2013

the staff are very friendly and helpful. the breakfast witch was included in the price was excellent the was clean and comfortable for the low price.10 min walk from the city center and 5 min from train station the place really stands out the bus stop is across the road. thanks to micheal for have us stay looking forad to the nex time we stay the kids loved it there

Room Tip: all rooms are all execellent for the lo price it does matter what room u choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Although clean and the linen was nice and crisp and freshly laundered the whole place could do with a bit of decorating. Fine for an over night stay if you are not too fussy about the decor. Cheap and cheerful you get what you pay for with this place. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The staff is very friendly and allowing. The breakfast include in the price was very varied and fresh food. The room was clean and comfortable for the low price. The hostel is at 5 min walk of city centre, and you have the bus station and rail station just opposite at the hostel.
The personnel est amical et accueillant. The petit déjeuner inclus dans le prix de la chambre était varié et frais. Pour le prix, la chambre était propre et confortable. De plus, l'hôtel est a 5 min du centre ville a pied et juste en face de la station de bus et de train.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Not a nice place to stay. Very tatty, seedy looking from the outside too. There were 3 air fresheners in the room . Misled into booking by finding it on hotel booking websites. It is not a hotel, by any stretch of the imagination.

Room Tip: Avoid this B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was in Waterford on business and wanted something as inexpensive as possible. This was €39 for a single en suite - the same as the hostel down the road, but breakfast was included in the price at The Anchorage. First impressions - it was a bit run down, decor-wise but when I'm looking for budget accommodation decor isn't high on my list. It was clean, had TV, tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer and soap and shower gel in the bathroom - I've stayed in a more expensive hotel in Waterford which didn't provide these! Towels were clean, and the bathroom had good powerful shower. I also got a warm welcome and a good breakfast.

One thing to be aware of - The Anchorage is on a busy road so it isn't the most peaceful location, but it's handy for the town and bus/rail connections.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazy_hoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just got back from a rather interesting over nite stay at the Anchorage. Was awoken at 7am this morning by the sound of the bathroom fan. I was still in bed at this point but got up to check it out. To my surprise a strange man came out of my bathroom!!! he had been in the room sleeping also! He had been given a key to my room while i was inside asleep. Needless to say I swiftly evacuated him from the room and took his copy of the key. When I went down stair to convey my annoyance, the guy at reception was also quite amazed that there was a stranger sharing my room and he was very apologetic. Also just discovered that the mystery man had been in my bag, a t shirt and jumper are missing but I have been left with a strange black shirt of his as a replacement. All in all as you can imagine, Im not very impressed.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank aislingN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It was nothing special, but the room was comfortable enough and it was in a convenient location as well. The B&B is undergoing renovations, so I'm expecting in a year or so it will be much better. The host was extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot testify on the parking conditions on the place, as I took the train into Waterford, but walking from the station is an ease. The one problem I had was that overlooking my bed was a skylight which I could not figure out how to close for the life of me and in summer time in Ireland the sun comes up at four.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starberry1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.1 mi away
Portree House
Portree House
#2 of 10 in Waterford
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Guest House

Address: The Anchorage 9 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing