We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McLeary's

McLeary's
Ranked #6 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Went with friends from Carrick on Suir. Not from Waterford so went on their recommendation. Not disappointed. Excellent choice from Value Menu and A La Carte. Everyone was happy with their meal and the service was very good. Would go back next time in Waterford. Well done to all involved.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    129
    43
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went last week, good food. Cosy atmosphere, enjoyed it. Not cheap but a good meal and we would return again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danni1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“happy customers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went here to celebrate my friend's birthday. We have a space for ourselves (around 10 people).

- great service, very accommodating staff
- great ambiance
- delicious food
- endless supply of water which is good

Will recommend this to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

great family night with american guests. food amazing . staff very helpful . waiter very helpful with wine choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maysmillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Let down by the steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I can see how this restaurant doesn't have many bad ratings - there is a nice atmosphere and the staff (particularly two of the guys) were very friendly and genuine. My melon starter was lovely and I was looking forward to my steak - I don't order steak that often but when I do it's always because I have a real steak-craving! I ordered it well done but it came out medium, with a lot of red still showing in the middle. It was a very thick cut of steak and very, very tough...more gristle than anything to be honest. I actually have not had a steak as poor in Ireland ever. I didn't send it back because I was with a friend and I didn't want to cause a fuss. The sauce, fries and onion rings I got with the steak were very good and dessert was nice. We didn't feel rushed at all which is always nice. I would definitely give it a second chance, but would not risk the steak again unless they change their supplier and I was sure they would do it as ordered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nury77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McLeary's also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to McLeary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing