We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian Sunday Buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Spice - CLOSED

Planet Spice
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Planet spice restaurant is only organic feature indian restaurant in warerford city cooked bybaward winning chef
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Sunday Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Tried this restaurant for the €10.90 Sunday buffet lunch. House wine €15 and a reasonable wine. Beer at €10/pint to drink two bottles (€5 ea) is too much. Curry and beer are go hand in hand and either serve draft beer or beer in pint bottles at better value.

The meal was fantastic, the children loved it and the quality was very good. This is an easy way to introduce children to Indian food as there are plenty of dishes to choose from so they could experiment. Great meal and with some adjustments to the beer prices/selection a super day out for the family. Highly recommended – we will be back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samnta2013, Manager at Planet Spice, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
13 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your review which is appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your Sunday buffet meal with us & look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Anwarul Tarafder
Planetspice,Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    12
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst indian ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Drove through waterford and stopped for an indian. Food shocking lamb as tough as old boots.
Eating indian for 30 years this is the worst ever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samnta2013, Manager at Planet Spice, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
13 June 2013

Dear Guest, We are really disappointed to read your review on Trip Advisor but appreciate your comments which will be taken on-board. Without feedback we cannot improve. Please rest assured that your comments will be taken extremely seriously.

We hope we can welcome you again at Planetspice for an improved food and dining experience.

Kind regards
Anwarul Tarafder
Planetspice,Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“""Best restaurant in waterford city ""”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We are regulars at planet spice and have been for 2 years.ignore any bad reviews.food is excellent ,manager really looks after you and if you are not used to indian food he will bring you out tasters.once you have been here you will be addicted!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sumonm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““Amazing food and exceptional service””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is our favourite place to eat in waterford city . when we have an occasion that merits spending the . We have been there 4 times and each time the food and service has been quite amazing. I would advise you to book an earlyish table as last time we went (table for 4) we were there for 4 hours enjoying the tasting menu.
The atmosphere is more relaxed than other two star restaurants and this is down to the excellent service. As you would expect the decor is immaculate and I could not recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zdena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Planet spice is a great Bangladeshi restaurant in Waterford .. We are regulars there for over 2 years now, the menu has a great variety of dishes to choose from, if your not sure what to go for the staff are always happy to advise.. The staff are very friendly and can t do enough for you.... Food is delicious , with good portions and well priced..and if you like a glass of wine there is no need to go past the house wine.. It is very good.
Only negative comment I would make about planet spice is their coffee, all I can say is skip the coffee... Not good!

Kimm and Margaret Phelan.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planet Spice also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing