We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here in November the Hotel was very nice, the food was excellent and even when I felt unwell they made a tray up for me to have in our room, the waiter was very nice. The rooms were very clean and tidy, I would definetly stayed again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyharwoodpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel, its a pity that you were unwell during your visit to Waterford but I am glad to see that we looked after you with room service. I will pass on your good comments to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford in the very near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

had a nice stay at this hotel. rooms are basic and a little tired but very clean could do with a few more pillows.meals very nice, and they have tennents on draught, a rare find!! we requested bar man to turn on tv at lunch time to watch the rugby and we were told to ask again at kick off time and it would be no prob. we later asked the waitress we were told tv was broken? however it was working correctly later in the evening??? same waitress a bit rude, all other staff very helpful and friendly. lovely poached eggs and homemade brown bread for breakfast. well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadivsor, we rely on guest feedback to improve all the time, I am sorry for the shortcomings you experienced here during your weekend, I will certainly address the manner in which you were addressed and going forward it will not occur again. With regards to the television we did have a problem which did not allow the digital channels to come through to the bar in time for some of the rugby matches that weekend and there was a delay fixing it again I'm sorry about that. I am glad to read that these issues did not put you off and that you enjoyed our food, you can contact me directly if you want the recipe for the brown bread and in the future, we hope to welcome you back to Waterford.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Email - gm@waterfordmarinahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Decent hotel and excellent value. Rooms seem a bit tired but they are clean and function. The hotel itself is nice and quiet and has a lovely relaxing view of the river. Trouser press in room is very handy and there is a good secure car park. Loved the full Irish breakfast. Would stay here again for Waterford, while not luxury, it does the business.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for taking time out after your break to write about the Waterford Marina Hotel, it is always nice to read about the hotel from our guests perspective. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Waterford in the near future and please don't forget to request a river view room.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed at Marina Hotel for two weeks on business. The location is excellent, our room was alongside the river and you could relax and watch the swans from the room. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Special thanks go out to Michael and Mia. The rooms were comfortable for two adults and very clean. There was a problem with two lamps in the room when we arrived which were replaced in quick order, service with a smile.
The resturaunt food was very good. The bar staff were friendly and there was a mix of locals and guests at the hotel every evening. Music on friday night in the bar. When I return to Waterford, I fully intend to stay at this hotel. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dalton_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

I would like to thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us. Two weeks is a long time to be away on business and I'm glad that the staff made it an enjoyable experience. I am sorry about the issue with the lamps and glad to hear it was rectified to your satisfaction.
We hope you return to Waterford soon and I can assure you, your room will overlook the River Suir.
Kind regards

Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Recently stayed for a special offer weekend with a group of 11, including grandchild,family and friends.The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful,especially with the baby. We really enjoyed our stay.
There was entertainment in the bar on the friday and saturday nights, the guys singing were good fun, and could play anything we named...
The hotel was in the middle of the town,very handy for walking!
The rooms were clean,and the food and service was spot on.
Would definitely go back here in the future,don't miss it!!

Room Tip: Look for a river view.The swans swim past all day and the river always seems to have river traffic g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy Customer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor readers. Myself and the team here in the Waterford Marina Hotel appreciate your kind comments and we'll make sure you have an area reserved beside the music on your next visit so you can join in..
I'm glad you enjoyed the activity on the river, the swans are there all year round and so are the rowers - hail, rain or shine they are definitly dedicated to their sport.
We look forward to meeting you and your family again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for around 13 days and we have nothing but good things to say about it. The staff were very helpful and were always on hand to assist our every request with a smile. The location is absolutely perfect being just 5 minutes from the City Center yet when you are in the hotel it feels like you are in a peaceful countryside with the view of the river.

The rooms are basic but comfortable. We requested the river view and were not disappointed.
we will absolutely be coming back here again. Hopefully they maintain this great level of service and friendliness.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have obviously the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahid18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with other Tripadvisor readers. It was a pleasure to look after yourself and your wife during your time in Waterford City, the weather could have been a bit better on some occasions but in general I'm glad you enjoyed what is on offer in the City while being able to unwind in our hotel beside the River Suir.
We like to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay with us and we certainly intend to maintain this and continuously strive to improve the experience all the time.
Please contact us when you are planning your next trip to Waterford and we will ensure you get a similar room overlooking the River Suir.
Again many thanks for your kind comments and we look for ward to meeting you on your return.

Kind Regards

Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

A family group (15) of us stayed overnight and had dinner recently. We found it faultless in every way. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and actually reserved an area in the bar for after dinner so we could be together. Food was excellent and the only downside was we were only staying for 1 night. It is in a very good location I would highly recommend the Waterford Marina. Larry

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Larry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for writing about you and your families overnight stay with us on Tripadvisor. My staff looked after you as they do everyone but your family were equally kind and nice in return and we would be happy to welcome you all back to stay with us again only next time maybe for more than one night - make a weekend of it.
Please don't hesitate to contact myself or any member of our team for any information in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

A family group (15) of us stayed overnight and had dinner recently. We found it faultless in every way. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and actually reserved an area in the bar for after dinner so we could be together. Food was excellent and the only downside was we were only staying for 1 night. It is in a very good location I would highly recommend the Waterford Marina. Larry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £44 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing