We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“south east return, Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I decided to return to the south east as i had not seen all the good spots on my other trip. I took the n11 to Waterford going by the Glen of the Downs to Ashford on past Jack Whites, A GOOD EATING HOUSE, on the new elavated road which gave a wonderful view of the country of Wicklow by- passing the Vale of Avoca crossing the Avoca river, and by passing Arklow and Gorey. The new wide and elavated roads make it so much better to see the country side. Next stop the old town of Enniscorthy to see Vineger Hill where there was a famous Pike battle and across the Slaney River. We had to stop again in New Ross to see the famous Ros Tapestry. They out - shine the Bayou Tapestry in Normandy, for their size and colour. The Tapestries tell the story of our ancestors who came from the East 700 years B.C. KELTOI the secret ones - spread across the Russian steppes and into Germany, France and Italy where they settled in tribal colonies. Tall, blond, blue eyed, pale skinned, their restless nature saw many drift west wards, colonising Britain and Ireland where the Atlantic ocean insured they went no further. The Celtic world flurished, the Roman army never came to Ireland. Language, rituals, laws,and sagas of largly eastern origin. There I will leave their tale for you to discover for yourself. I took of on the n25 to Wexford wanting to see more country side. The May blossom -Hawthorn bush, was in full bloom also the gorse, deep yellow in colour. The fields were alive with yellow also, rape flower crop - for the harvesting - i believe rape oil and spread is the product derived from this crop. My next stop was The Irish National Park called the "HERITAGE PARK", THIS PARK WAS VERY INTERESTING, it outlined Irish life as a story of 9000 years, it was magical. Then we were hungry so the "FULACT FIADH" Restuarant was just there for us. Traditional home cooked food is served all day also treats. There is a souvenir shop with lots of interesting crafts and cloths. We had a great browse there. This was a great high light of our journey, we lernt so much history of the life of an ancint people, and visited 16 archeological and historical reconstructions in natural settings there.
Next on to Waterford, we stayed at the Marina Hotel, by the water frount. The hotel is built beside the river Suir. We were so comfortable, after our journey in the beautiful bedrooms and the comfortable beds. The food was great just like home and served with pride and courtesy. Our trip to The Bishops Palace the next morning gave us a new insight into life in Ireland in this century. The Waterford Crystal tour of show rooms and factory was tops, we saw glass blowing and the finished artical in many hand crafted designs. Skilled master blowers shape and form molten crystal with finely honed skill. Well worth our visit.! In the afternoon we took a trip to the "Waterford and Suir Vally" railway in Kilmeadan. We experienced the beauty of the Suir river in a narrow gauge railway train, slowly chugging along the river at 15km per hour. On the left we saw an old ruin of Kilmeadan castle and much wild bird life. We visited Killkenny next day on our journey home to Dublin as it is a very good town to visit, but that is yet another spot you must visit and enjoy for yourself.

Room Tip: ask for special DEALS when you are booking. We asked and got a good price. Leaflets and good photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvaofthegales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

What a wonderful guide to the 'South East of Ireland' you have shared with us, it is lovely to read your experience through Wicklow, Enniscorthy, Wexford, New Ross, Waterford, Kilmeadan and Kilkenny. It is a great insight into what we have to show and the history we have on our doorstep and I would like to thank you for highlighting your stay with us in the Waterford Marina Hotel amongst all your other wonderful memories.
We look forward to meeting you and your friends again in the future and I will pass on your kind comments about us to all the staff.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Waterford Marina Hotel was a very nice hotel in an ideal location...a little hard to find (kinda like everything else in Ireland since nothing really has an address) but I found that everyone was very willing to help point us in the right direction. The front desk staff was more than willing to give us ideas on what to visit and where to grab a bit to eat...including the hotel resturant, which was very good. My only complaint is the beds are VERY hard other than that everything was great.Thanks for a great nights stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review about the Waterford Marina Hotel. Its lovely to read that everyone was so helpful and kind to you and that you enjoyed our restaurant. I am sorry to see that you found the beds very hard but I am delighted that over all you had a greats nights stay with us overlooking the River Suir.
We look forward to your return visit and in the meantime have a safe and enjoyable summer.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week room only. Had a great week exploring the south-east of Ireland and it was very comforting returning to this hotel at the end of the day. Very relaxed atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view a great way to wake up in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent visit. Its good to read that you enjoyed the south-east of Ireland, there is a lot to see and do in this region and I am delighted you used the hotel as your base. There is a great flight service between Waterford Airport and Southend and hopefully you will visit us again, we would love to welcome you both back at any time.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My partner and I have stayed regularly at this hotel for the past 11 years. We would highly recommend it. The staff are courteous and couldn't do enough for us. The food is delicious with a great choice at breakfast time. Excellent location for shopping and exploring Waterford. We will return again and again. Thanks Waterford Marina. Elaine and John Midleton, Co. Cork.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a waterside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Elaine and John, firstly we would like to thank you both for your continuous support over the years, we love meeting you both on your visits through each year. Secondly I am very grateful for the lovely review you have written and will certainly be printing it up for all the staff to read. Over the years I'm sure you have both seen the changes here in the hotel and it is great to read our food, service and staff rate a special mention.
I look forward to your next visit and until then have a safe and enjoyable summer.
Warm regards
Karen and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable, however, really think it could benefit from some TLC. It's a bit dated and as they say a lick of paint wouldn't go astray.
Room was fine but nothing fancy; not sure if I would return to be honest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel, I take on board your comments and need to assure you that over the winter period we carry out a maintenance programme that includes painting. I really would appreciate it if you would visit us again if you are planning to stay in Waterford in the future and hopefully you will see this years progress.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for a night, i have to say i was very impressed with hotel. Bar food was great, staff were very helpful and rooms were a good size, over looking marina which was fantastic. breakfast was brilliant a variety of foods to suit everyone. And the manager was a lady, went around to everyone to make sure they had enough tea or coffee and even went outside with children feeding the swans. which you wouldlnt see every often. i would recommend this hotel, and will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for spending time reviewing the Waterford Marina Hotel after your stay with us, it is lovely to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Coming up throughout the year there are many festivals in the City and surrounding areas and we would be delighted to welcome you back to enjoy another visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have just had yet another stay at this hotel, 9 of us in total this weekend. 3 Coeliacs in the party. We would have to give this hotel a top rating, The staff are exceptionally nice and helpful in this hotel, gluten free food is no problem at all and the hotel itself is spotless and in a great location for shopping etc in Waterford. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a mini break - there is music in the bar and the atmosphere is always good. Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your weekend experience at the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor, I appreciate your kind comments about the hotel, its location, service and staff. I would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us and that we enjoyed having your party here this weekend and would welcome you and your friends back at any time in the future.
Looking forward to meeting you all again soon,
Many Thanks
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing