We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed 1 night for a business trip. Staff were very friendly, price of accomodation and food/drink was good and location convenient for what I had to do. Food was average. The bedroom was large and clean.
The decor was a little tired, especially the bar area.
Overal a pleasant experience and would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you Andrew for taking time to share your experience with Tripadvisor readers. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay especially as it was a working visit. We have a very convienent location in the city and our own free carpark and wifi is another plus for us. We are in the middle of painting and decorating the Waterfront Bar and Restaurant to match the new carpets that were laid recently so hopefully on your next visit you will enjoy the improvements.
Looking forward to meeting you in the near future and again thank you for your lovely comments about the staff.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    446
    142
    33
    13
See reviews for
198
534
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived late at night and they kindly made us some sandwiches. The most gorgeous ham and cheese sandwich ever!
The rooms are basic and dated in style but everywhere is so clean and I respect that.
All the staff are lovely and the location is great for the City Centre.
Weekend entertainment in the bar is not really needed, and on the friday night we were there, there was a singer called "Just Kieron", and to be fair he was probably once part of a band but due to lack of talent is now "Just Kieron." He refused to play any Irish songs for some locals as he stated that he didn't "do songs with city names or streets in" and then sang "Walking in Memphis" 2 songs later!
The bar is dated but cosy and breakfast is ok.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Bay as the back of the hotel faces onto a housing estate and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy17Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review the Waterford Marina Hotel, I'm delighted you were looked after for something to eat after your journey down to Waterford. We do indeed have a great location in the City overlooking the River Suir where our guests can sit and watch the activity on the water. I would hope to welcome you back for a return visit in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me personally to ensure you are allocated a nice riverview room.
Have a safe and enjoyable summer.
kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Really nice clean hotel for a very reasonable price. Great place to stop overnight if you want to explore outside of Dublin with restricted time.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Jessica, thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel, I can see you were on a tight schedule and I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Waterford City, it is a very short distance from Dublin travelling by either road or rail and there are lots of attractions here for our guests to visit especially if they do not have a car.
I would be delighted to welcome you back for another visit in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us for great rates in a Riverview Room.
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Waterford Marina certainly lives up to its name, the hotel is surrounded on two sides with water!! Our room had a pleasent view of the front courtyard and the river and was spacious. it was quiet and afforded a good nights sleep. The Bar was great and so was dinner. We spent an enjoyable night, the only let down was not getting a wake up call as scheduled, although all the details were carefully taken down by a staff member at the reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and had a nice dinner followed by a good nights sleep. I want to apologise for not receiving your wake up call, this is an automated system and I will certainly check this to ensure there are no recurring issues with it.
I hope your overall trip to Ireland was enjoyable and that you will return again in the near future, We would be delighted to welcome you back to Waterford City to see our new Museum and Cloisters that are opening soon.
Enjoy a wonderful summer in Melbourne.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were wandering around Ireland with no schedule, going where our whims took us and not looking for a room until we knew where we wanted to be that night. We had checked out a couple of pretty uninspiring B&Bs when I spotted a sign for the Waterford Marina Hotel. I pulled out the computer (they call it a phone but it is a computer) and found it was a four star hotel and we could get a room for 59 Euro - less than the B&Bs wanted. I suppose this has to be an example of the depths to which the Irish economy has descended though I suppose time of year helped also. We were to find that this was not an anomaly. At least thhat particular week good hotels cost less than B&Bs. We ambled over to the hotel, showed them my phone and sure enough that was the price. It is a beautiful hotel, very well appointed, a lovely view out the window. When quality connsists of absolutely no complaints it is hard to describe it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Niall, thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am so glad your 'no schedule' trip found us, we are a three star hotel but the location and staff add to that everyday. I look forward to welcoming you both back at anytime in the future with a great rate in a river view room.
Many thanks again for your lovely comments and enjoy a safe and enjoyable summer in CA.
Kind regard
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Waterford Marina and had an enjoyable stay. There were 8 of us and everyone was so friendly and helpful, delightful with the children.. Party bags and lollipops !!!! The rooms were spacious, the food was excellent. Short walk to the centre. Brilliant value for the money, we had a 4 course meal included with the stay which was excellent as was the breakfast on both mornings. The staff were so friendly. Overall great stay and would stay here again if we visit Waterford in the future. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: The family rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you Joanne for taking the time after your visit to write about your stay with us. I am glad the children enjoyed the party bags and lollipops, we give all children a small welcome gift to get their little holiday off to a good start. Your comments about our food and staff are very much appreciated and we hope you visit us again in the near future.
Wishing you and your family an enjoyable summer ahead.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

we have just returned from a 5 night stay at the marina, which was extremely comfortable and very clean. The view from our bedrooms was beautiful ,and very restful of the river Suir.. Breakfast ,restaurant and bar food was excellent but the highlight of this trip where the wonderful stafff !!! polite ,friendly, helpful nothing was too much trouble ,my mum who is wheelchair bound was accommodated in every way to make her stay as comfortable as possible . would highly recommend this hotel for a large helping of Irish hospitality .

Room Tip: ask for river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryoung10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about the Waterford Marina Hotel, we were delighted to look after you last week, its easy to be nice to nice people and all the staff plus myself enjoyed meeting you and your family during your holiday. Thank you for your patience on Thursday when the carpet was being laid in the Waterfront Bar and we had to serve lunch in the restaurant, it took a little longer than expected but I hope you agree it was worth it in the end.
I hope you can visit us again and bring back the sunshine with you. Wishing you a safe and enjoyable summer ahead.
Kind regards
Karen and All the Staff
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing