We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the water in Waterford!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“On the water in Waterford!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a tour group. We ended up in room 310, which is sometimes referred to as "the river room", I think. There's a feeling of being over the water and the views from the many windows were wonderful from one, we watched some men fishing. From another we watched herons perching and boats going down the river. It was raining, so I know the views would be even better with sunshine. The hotel is centrally situated with a great location. All that said, our room was somewhat odd. It was a huge room, but the furniture didn't take advantage of the size. There was a small double bed, a wardrobe, a small table and chairs, a desk, a sofa and table, and an older model television. The bed had only two pillows, but I found a third in the wardrobe and they cheerfully brought us another. The bathroom area was really strange. It was just to the left from the entry door and was separated from the bedroom by wood paneling. There was a little hall. The first door on the left was a toilet and basin. Straight ahead and up one step was a large room with a huge shower. Oddly, the one shower head pointed forward, so most of the shower wasn't useful. There was also a sauna, but it was locked. The wall between the shower room and the bedroom was frosted glass or plexiglass and was totally see-through! This room was obviously something else previously. The room decor was dated, but really some good furniture arrangement would help a lot. The pub was good, but crowded with furniture. Our dinner at the hotel was excellent. We had Bangers and Mash that we really enjoyed. Breakfast was fine, although they were supposed to have it early for us and they were late opening. It's a decent place to stay--just be prepared for the quirks!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Striggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent holiday in Ireland, you have remembered the views from Room 310 perfectly, we are really lucky to have such a good location where our guests can watch all the activity on the River Suir - even if the sun isn't shining.
I hope you have the opportunity to visit Waterford City again and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Waterford Marina Hotel.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    456
    142
    33
    13
See reviews for
202
545
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed one night on our journey around Ireland. Booked it the day before and got a great rate. Hotel is clean and rooms are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful and the food great. Car parking included is a big bonus. Short walk to shops and other pubs along the river. A very nice hotel and would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time after your holiday to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments about our food and staff are very much appreciated. Just to let you know that next year is a big opportunity to revisit during 'The Gathering 2013' where lots of festivals and events will take place nationwide throughout the year to celebrate Irish culture, history and genealogy.
I would be delighted to welcome you, your family and your friends back to the Waterford Marina Hotel at any time in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager



“Great value”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 NEW Stayed one night on our journey around Ireland. Booked it the day before and got a great rate. Hotel is clean and rooms are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful and the food great. Car parking included is a big bonus. Short walk to shops and other pubs along the river. A very nice hotel and would definitely recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend for a hen night. Its exactly like a three star should be, basic and it did the job for what we booked it for. Just a short walk from Johns St where all the pubs and clubs are located. Would reccomend for hens etc. Not somewhere i would stay for a luxury break away but as i said...it did the job!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesabelGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent stay, I am glad you enjoyed your weekend, Johns Street Village has many venues with live entertainment plus a variety of bars and restaurants to suit everyone.
I hope you and your friends enjoy the wedding day and look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed the 6 & 7 July. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The place has a nice feel to it. Our rooms were comfortable and the meals were very good. It is in a good location too.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and that we made you feel welcome and comfortable. I am very lucky to work with a great team of staff who do their very best to ensure our guests are looked after and I will certainly pass on your review for them all to read.
I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future and please ask for a riverview room overlooking the River Suir.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice with friends and kids.
Great location close to shops, nice bar area with music on some nights.
Hotel food was lovely and reasonable.
Breakfast was a buffet style, have as much as u like of anything was lovely.
Overall great value for money and very family friendly, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you were on a return visit with your family and friends, it means a lot to us when we get the chance to say welcome back.
Please do not hesitate to contact me to introduce myself to you on your next visit and in the meantime I wish you a safe and enjoyable summer ahead.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Accommodation basic, bathroom could do with an upgrade. Smell.of stale smoke in the corridor and room was unpleasant. Booked 2 nights but only stead the 1. had to pay for the 2nd night but did not mind. Will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and would like to apologise for the issues you had. Unfortunately I was unaware of your early departure and would like to discuss this with your personally. If you could contact me either by email of phone I would appreciate it.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Email gm@waterfordmarinahotel.com
Telephone 051 856600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel cannot be beat for the it's location and price. Parking was included in the rate. Just a short walk to the center of town. We had a room overlooking the water which was nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for taking time after you recent vacation to include the Waterford Marina Hotel in your reviews. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and I agree with you that we are very lucky that we are in our location, in the heart of the City sitting right on the banks of the River Suir.
I hope you have an enjoyable Summer ahead and maybe you could have a look at some of the great events that Ireland have planned nationwide for 'the Gathering 2013', we would be delighted to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing