We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location - and a cracking hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at the Waterford Marina for 4 nights earlier this month. We'd requested a quiet room with a river view if possible, and were delighted to be allocated both. The location of the Marina - as well as being really picturesque - is an easy walking distance from the city centre, near enough to be convenient, but far enough away to be quite peaceful.
The staff here are really friendly and will do their best to help. The prices in the bar are good too - not much different to the city centre bar prices, which is always a plus point in hotels!
Waterford itself was impressive - a really clean city with things to do in the centre (Waterford Crystal tour, Reginald Tower etc.) or with good transport links if you prefer to explore the neighbouring counties, e.g Kilkenny.
All in all we had a fabulous stay. So good in fact that our return visit is booked , and this time we have friends in to tow who want to see for themselves if Waterford - and the Marina - is really as good as we've said (and yes, it is!;)

Room Tip: The river view rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brummymummy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

I would like to thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor about the Waterford Marina Hotel, it is really nice to see that you enjoyed your stay in Waterford City so much that you are bringing friends back with you on a return visit. There have been a lot new developments in the City over the past few years which has regenerated an area less than 200 yards from us called The Viking Triangle and with the River Suir running past our window I agree that our location is a great asset. I would be delighted to meet you on your return visit so please can you ask for me when you and your friends have settled in and in the meantime enjoy the rest of Summer 2012.
Kind regards
Karen and all the Team
Waterford Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

My family and I have just came home from 3nights at the Waterford Marina. When we arrived the 3 children were given a goodie bag with puzzel books and a lollipop. The family room was the most spacious we have ever stayed in and the children each had a proper bed and not a camp bed. The views out the windows of the river suir and the city at night were fab. The staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough. We had an evening meal included which was lovely. The childrens meals were great value. The breakfast had great variety and all freshly cooked. The bar food was lovely too. Overall a delightful stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers. I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us last week, its great to read the children liked the party bags we like to give them a treat to start their little holiday. I appreciate your kind comments about the food, service and staff and will certainly pass them on to the staff to read.
We look forward to welcoming you again whenever you are returning to Waterford City, please remeber to ask for the same room at reservation.
In the meantime enjoy the remainder of the Summer.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a nice hotel. Situated close to the city centre (and a Chinese restaurant called Jude's, very nice!) We stayed for 1 night and requested a river view. We got a river view room which we were pleased about and it was a good sized room too.

The room had a double and a single even though we only needed a double, the extra space was welcomed. Room had tea and coffee making facilities, TV (an old CRT) and two desks. The bathroom was clean and had the usual shower gel dispenser in bath/shower, shower caps etc. 5 towels in the room which was nice (3 hand [or 2 hand, 1 guest] and 2 bath towels). Shower was nice and high, at 6' sometimes in hotels I find the shower heads too low but not here.

Breakfast was included which was during 7-10am as far as I remember. They were possibly understaffed at 9.30am, we queued for about 3 minutes to get a table and then again at the hot food area (member of staff wasn't there). Nevertheless, the food was delicious. Croissants etc. were available, as well as toast, fruit, yoghurt, etc., it was a very good selection.

Staff were friendly. The bar gave us glasses and two buckets of ice for our room when we asked for some ice. Overall very helpful.

Small improvements could be made, old CRT TVs make the room feel older than they would otherwise. More staff could be available during breakfast (the staff at the time were extremely busy but coping well given the circumstances). Very good, we will be back if staying in Waterford.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, it's very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b33p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time after your stay at the Waterford Marina Hotel, Its lovely to read a such a detailed account of your experience with us and I really like the photographs you downloaded with your review. I will certainly look at the staffing levels and do our very best to avoid any future delays with service, I would like to apologise for the delay you experienced but am glad this aside, you enjoyed our breakfast in the Waterfront Restaurant where the staff work hard to please our guests.
I would be delighted to welcome you back for a return visit in the future so please contact me personally and I will arrange a nice riverview room for you to enjoy.
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

If your on a bus tour the hospitality team in the restaurant for blast and dinner seem to treat you as second class. You have to wait in the foyer to get permission to enter for breakfast. You have to sit at a small number of tables close together with your travel group whilst in a restaurant that is massive in size and very few customers. Waterford Marina don't forget who is paying the bills, we are all customers

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Thoughts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I would like to assure you that we value every single customer that chooses to visit our hotel. We work closely with all tour companies that visit Waterford City, there are prearranged timings in place to ensure that we can that all groups meet their itinery commitments.
Again I would like to apologise that you felt undervalued that was most definitly not our intention, I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around Ireland and when you are visiting Waterford again please do not hesitate to contact me personally to arrange a nice riverview room for you.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Not every city is going to boast new hotels. The Marina Hotel was nice. Good location, nice rooms. The rooms are a bit older but it is clearly apparent that some care was put into recent renovations. Had an experience that was odd to me. Inorder to keep the electric on in the room we had to keep our room key in a receptacle inside the door.if we left and took the key we would not be able to charge phones, iPad, cameras, etc.

Overall we found our stay pleasant comfortable, worry free. Te room was lean, neat, well kept. Nice view! Th staff was helpful and courteous. The restauarant was good with a great Irish breakfast. If you stay here take the B&B package, well worth it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadivsor readers. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Waterford Marina Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated, breakfast is a very important time of the day and we have a great selection on display but there are many items such as porridge, fish, meats & cheeses that are prepared to order by the chef.
I hope you have another opportunity to visit Waterford in the future bearing in mind The Gathering Ireland 2013 is on next year, this is a series of events and festivals to celebrate Irish culture, history and genealogy and everyone is welcome.
In the meantime enjoy the remainder of Summer of 2012.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here one night during our trip to Ireland. We found the hotel clean and our room (family room) was spacious. The breakfast was outstanding and the service was great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thankyou for your lovely review of the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your special mention for our breakfast and service. We would be delighted to welcome you back at any time in the future and in the meantime enjoy the remainder of summer 2012.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a tour group. We ended up in room 310, which is sometimes referred to as "the river room", I think. There's a feeling of being over the water and the views from the many windows were wonderful from one, we watched some men fishing. From another we watched herons perching and boats going down the river. It was raining, so I know the views would be even better with sunshine. The hotel is centrally situated with a great location. All that said, our room was somewhat odd. It was a huge room, but the furniture didn't take advantage of the size. There was a small double bed, a wardrobe, a small table and chairs, a desk, a sofa and table, and an older model television. The bed had only two pillows, but I found a third in the wardrobe and they cheerfully brought us another. The bathroom area was really strange. It was just to the left from the entry door and was separated from the bedroom by wood paneling. There was a little hall. The first door on the left was a toilet and basin. Straight ahead and up one step was a large room with a huge shower. Oddly, the one shower head pointed forward, so most of the shower wasn't useful. There was also a sauna, but it was locked. The wall between the shower room and the bedroom was frosted glass or plexiglass and was totally see-through! This room was obviously something else previously. The room decor was dated, but really some good furniture arrangement would help a lot. The pub was good, but crowded with furniture. Our dinner at the hotel was excellent. We had Bangers and Mash that we really enjoyed. Breakfast was fine, although they were supposed to have it early for us and they were late opening. It's a decent place to stay--just be prepared for the quirks!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Striggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent holiday in Ireland, you have remembered the views from Room 310 perfectly, we are really lucky to have such a good location where our guests can watch all the activity on the River Suir - even if the sun isn't shining.
I hope you have the opportunity to visit Waterford City again and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Waterford Marina Hotel.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing