We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the weekend and really enjoyed it. It is very good value for money. The bedroom was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and well equipped. The location of the hotel is good, just a short walk from the city centre and the hotel has a very secure car-park. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us in the Waterford Marina Hotel, we all appreciate the time you took to write a review on Tripadvisor to tell the readers about your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the very near future and in the meantime we would like to wish you a Very Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    445
    139
    33
    11
See reviews for
196
527
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Hotel clean and quite. Spacious rooms with a lovely river view. Staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Great central location. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor for the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am delighted that you and your friends really enjoyed your stay with us and that you have recommended as a a place to stay in Waterford City.
I hope that you all enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to meeting you again on a return visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester county, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and know Waterford well. The rooms are modern and comfortable with free wifi and lovely river views. The staff are cool and unobtrusive. Secure free parking. Bar food is nice and fresh. They don't have a fitness center but that's not a problem for most. How about some better coffee in the mornings? I think this place is good value and plan to be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank chriswestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to return a second time and hope to meet you again in the not too distant future. I will certainly look at the issue with the coffee and can assure you it will be perfect on your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact any of our reception team to make your reservation and request a riverview room to enjoy the River Suir and its views.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot Merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I've been a regular visitor to the Marina for the past eight years after trying nearly every hotel in Waterford. Like some of the other guests have said it is a good value three star hotel in a great central location but very quiet with plenty of good secure parking. The rooms are a good size and always clean and the staff are all very friendly so I've no need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river for absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCashman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Firstly I want to say ' Hello', and secondly I want to thank you not only for your review on Tripadvisor but for all your business down through the years, myself and the staff really enjoy meeting you on your visits to us and want to say don't ever hesitate to ask for anything you need during your stay with us.
Looking forward to meeting you again soon.
Karen and everyone in the Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Overall I've rated our stay as average. There were a few minor issues with the room but not enough to complain about. There was a little bit of noise from a boiler? we seemed to be right beside. Parking was a little haphazard but its close proximity to the town made up for that. A little disappointed that we were charged separately for the kids breakfasts when there was so little choice for the little ones, no porridge or pancakes just a traditional fry which my ones wouldn't entertain so we paid E20 for a scone, a croissant, a bowl of cereal and 2 glasses of OJ. Most other hotels we've stayed at in the past have waived this fee as children generally eat so little or at least charge for going that wee bit extra like making pancakes. When my eldest asked about the chance of pancakes our waitress just shrugged.

The food in the bar however was great and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flosoup01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am sorry to read that you were a little dissappointed with your stay, I was not aware of boiler noises but will certainly investigate this, with regards to our parking we have an gated indoor carpark that is accessible via an intercom linked to reception we recommend on check in that all guests park in here, . Our Waterfront Restaurant serves breakfast daily and there is a reduced charge of €5 per child for breakfast with full and unlimited choices of 5 juices, 7 cereals, bread basket with scones, croissants, brown bread, white rolls, selection of yoghurts, fresh and tinned fruit, porridge made wit milk or water, boiled/fried/scrambled/poached eggs, bacon, sausage, puddings, hashbrowns, beans, fish of the day, cheeses and meats, toast, tea/coffee/herbal tea/hot chocolate.
I would be delighted to meet you and your family on a return visit, maybe during Winterval this December and hopefully redeem ourselves.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice, friendly, clean three star hotel; I ate in the bar which was warm and comfortable and the food was very good with a great choice. Room was clean, good double bed and a nice view over the river. Did not take breakfast as i had an early departure and choose sleep over nutrition! I sgree with other reviewers about the haphazard parking/buzzer arrangement. If it is raining, you will get wet as you wait! Also, a small sign pointing to reception would help. Overall, a good experience and I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: A river view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Extracare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I appreciate the time you took to share your experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I was delighted to read your description of the hotel as - Nice, clean, warm and comfortable with very good food. With regards to the carpark it is locked at all times for security reasons and access only via intercom linked to reception this is answered usually between 3-5 seconds sometimes a member of our reception team may be on the phone but our policy is to answer the intercom within these timeframe above, especially in the rain.
I would welcome the opportunity to introduce myself to you on your next visit to Waterford, we will ensure you are allocated a lovely river view room.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here on Thursday and Friday night 24th and 25th of October and got the room we requested with a river view. The parking is free and very secure but access is a little haphazard. You have to buzz reception from a unit just outside the covered parking area and wait for them to open the gates. This is uncomfortable if it is raining heavily and reception is slow to respond. It should be accessed with your room card for more convenience. The rooms at the Hotel are spacious and the on suite has all the necessary facilities. The TV is my only gripe as you have to constantly go to the back of the set and press a little switch to allow interaction with the remote control. It is ok once this has been done but every time you switch off you have to repeat the process to turn on again. I have never encountered this before and assume that it must be some kind of energy saving procedure. The breakfast in the morning is excellent and you have a great choice. Cereals and juices with croissants and cakes plus fruit and yogurts in abundance. On top of all this a massive selection of hot bacon, tomatoes, scrambled egg, sausages etc. to make up a very good full Irish feast. All is served buffet style with lot's of help from a very friendly staff. The coffee was a bit on the bitter side and may have been brewed for too long a time but again plenty of this also. The Hotel has a well equipped bar and serves excellent food. We arrived back to the bar on the Friday night to what was classed as entertainment. A very poor singer and an equally grinding keyboard player encouraged us to depart for an early night. The Hotel could have done better in the entertainment area or just allowed the guests to entertain themselves which would have been the better option. Overall worth staying here on a trip to Waterford as it is in walking distance to the Town centre, ''The Viking Triangle'' and has good views along the river and quays.

Room Tip: 211 to 217 quiet at night and good views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor,
firstly I would like to apologise for the issue with the TV, it was a faulty set and has since been replaced. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our location , we are very lucky to be so close to The Viking Triangle whilst sitting on the banks of the River Suir.
We have a wonderful christmas festival called 'Winterval' starting late November and running through December and a lot of it is based in The Viking Triangle so if you are thinking of coming to visit Santa please do not hesitate to contact us.
Looking forward to meeting you both again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing