We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

my hubby and i stayed here for 2 night from the start it went bad when we were checking in to hotel receptionist said to me its are policy that we had too pay befor we got are room thats not on we booked a smoking room and she said no smoking rooms left so i kick up a fuss and she found us one lol we got over this meal was ok not the best ive had went to residents on are last night group off ten bar man came too table to see if we wanted a drink one off the lads order 4 vodka in pint glass blt club lemon bar man ask was he was he joking he said not the barman said i cant sell ya that so he ask for 2 doubles and barman said ok but he would have to pay first as if to say we would not pay there is no need for that so over all i did not enjoy my stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do offer different methods of payments which are pre-authorisation of a credit card or payment in advance using cash or laser card. With regards to the drinks order, in conjunction with the Responsible Serving of Alcohol training it is inadvisable to dispense these volumes.
I would hope that you consider staying with us in the future to experience our usual high level of guest care and attention.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Positives: Guest room was good sized and comfortable, riverfront location was scenic and the wi-fi was free, which is always appreciated. Everything in the bathroom sparkled—porcelain, wall tiles, chrome.
Negatives: Pillows flat, no bath amenities other than one shampoo/soap product out of a dispenser in the shower. Some hot dishes were offered at breakfast, but overall it’s a pretty limited menu.
Most people seeking a 3-star accommodation just want a clean and comfortable place to sleep without a lot of frills. If that’s you, you’ll like the Waterford Marina.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Callejera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our comfortable, river view, good sized bedroom with its free WIFI and I appreciate your description of the sparkling bathroom. I would like to apologise for the pillows and have since replaced. With regards to the breakfast in our Waterfront Restaurant we offer a full irish breakfast which has sausage, bacon, black/white pudding, hash browns, tomato, beans and a variety of eggs - poached, fried, scrambled. We also have a fish of the day dish plus a variety of cold meats and cheeses plus a large selection of juices, cereals, breads, yoghurts, fruit - tinned and fresh, we have menus on all the tables and the staff will serve tea/coffee and toast to your table. I hope we have the opportunity to look after you again and that you will enjoy a good food, service and hospitality.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

my first time and it won`t be my last time staying here, warm rooms, very clean, staff were top class, the food was excellent, i had a freshly cooked breakfast both mornings, and pleanty on the plate to set you up for the day, and a strong cup of tea to wash it down , i dined in the bar before leaving having the lunch specials, very tasty, and well worth the money, i did`nt have a river view, but then again i only had to walk down a flight of stairs and out the main door to view it, it`s a little hidden gem, only a few minutes stroll into the city centre, this hotel gets a thumbs up from me, and i look forward to a return visit,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadivsor,
it is great for us to read that your first time to stay with us was a success and its lovely to get the thumbs up from you. I would like to introduce myself on your return visit and please request a river view room from our reception team when you make your reservation.
In the meantime I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Once again it was a pleasure to return to the Marina. The staff are friendly and helpful and food and accommodation are excellent. A lovely view of the River Suir from the riverside rooms. Off the main street so there is little traffic noise to disturb a guest.

Room Tip: North side gives a great river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to return to The Waterford Marina Hotel, myself and all the team really appreciate when our guests come back time and time again to stay with us as it shows we must be doing something right. Tripadvisor is a great way of telling everyone of your own experience in a hotel and I am delighted that you both enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to meeting you again in the near future but in the meantime have a Merry Christmas and a healthy 2014.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night break here, booked through a deal site. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms very spacious. One of the only hotels I've been to lately that still do smoking rooms. Had dinner in the bar which was delicious, and can't complain about breakfast either, plenty to choose from. Would definitely return when looking for a quiet place to recharge.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us in The Waterford Marina Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and that you were able to recharge the batteries. We look forward to meeting you again and in the meantime would like to wish you and your family a Very Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the weekend and really enjoyed it. It is very good value for money. The bedroom was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and well equipped. The location of the hotel is good, just a short walk from the city centre and the hotel has a very secure car-park. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us in the Waterford Marina Hotel, we all appreciate the time you took to write a review on Tripadvisor to tell the readers about your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the very near future and in the meantime we would like to wish you a Very Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Hotel clean and quite. Spacious rooms with a lovely river view. Staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Great central location. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor for the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am delighted that you and your friends really enjoyed your stay with us and that you have recommended as a a place to stay in Waterford City.
I hope that you all enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to meeting you again on a return visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing