We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location overlooking river, large rooms and very welcome at reception.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent location overlooking river, large rooms and very welcome at reception.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

fab location and comfy bar and restaurant to chill and even served irish cocktails in afternoon which was a lovely welcome. Large double rooms and very clean, overlooking river. Food very good and delicious with great restaurants nearby. Such a good location to town with secure parking, walking distance to Waterford crystal and craft shops etc.. Standard buffet breakfast under hot plates which was topped up fresh so not hanging around and as much as you could eat. Would fully recommend stay here.

Room Tip: double rooms big and spacious and lovely feel overlooking river. made one feel good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor about the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your visit especially the afternoon cocktails. I hope you all enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Waterford.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    457
    142
    33
    13
See reviews for
202
545
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

No frills but clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked one of parking areas. Ancient looking tea kettle and accoutrements. We decided to look elsewhere for dining so did not enjoy any of the river views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadivsor, I appreciate your comment that the hotel is clean and comfortable but am a little dissappointed to see that you felt the hotel was out of date especially when we are very close to finishing work in our bedrooms which included new double beds,flat screen tv's, lamps, chairs, curtains & throws plus a large number of tea trays and hairdryers and last month we completed this years painting programme,
I hope you get the opportunity to visit the hotel again and I would be delighted to introduce myself.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Hi. Stayed here for the night with our children. Got off the lift to go to our room and the hallway smelled of cigarettes. The whole floor smelled like stale cigarettes with air fresheners to cover up the smell. Didn't even know hotels had smoking rooms. Opened up our bedroom door and sure, sitting on the desk were cigarette trays. Obviously cleaned ones but nonetheless, ugh. The hotel is pricey. The food and service was excellent though. We had our dinner in the bar and we enjoyed it very much, it faces the river and that's lovely too.

Very expensive night, probably wouldn't do it again here.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmonthebanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to wrtie a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food, service and our lovely views, however I am disappointed to see that you were allocated a smoking room, our reception team are always mindful when allocating rooms to families. I am sorry to see your comment that the hotel is pricey, we offer a range of rates for Room Only, B&B, DBB and you have the option to book what suits your needs.
I would like to introduce myself to you on your next visit to Waterford and hopefully on that occasion we will redeem ourselves.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed with a few friends over the May Bank holiday weekends. The service was excellent and served with a smile at all times. Our 3 rooms were spacious and adequate with a stunning view overlooking the River Suir. The location is great and it is only a 7 minutes walk to the the city.
Will definitely go back there again and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLeongCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent visit, I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your few days with us and I really appreciate you recommending the hotel to tripadvisor readers.
I hope to meet you all again in the future but in the meantime enjoy the summer months ahead.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from our stay at Waterford Marina Hotel and found the staff just couldnt be more helpful, there customer service was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and over looked the river which was perfect. Breakfast was excellent too.
Highly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our customer service I am very lucky to work with a lovely group of people who do their best to look after our guests. I appreciate your recommendation to future visitors and look forward to meeting you both again.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in a room with a river view which was lovely. Rooms were spacious and spotless, nothing fancy but perfectly comfortable. Hotel is in a very good location, within a short walking distance of bars/restaurants/shops. About 15min walk from train station. Hotel bar was hopping each night and they had live music. Evening meal was good value, breakfast was extensive, staff were helpful. Was really excellent value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelEllen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
I would like to thank you for writing such a nice review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, your kind comments about the hotel are very much appreciated and I was delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We look forward to meeting you both again in the future and in the meantime I hope you enjoy the summer ahead.
Many thanks again.
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corkl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We just got back from a lovely break from waterford for 5 days and stayed at the Waterford Marina Hotel, great location, great food loads to do and a spacious room for our busy twin boys!! The staff at the hotel were really nice and Sharon a waitress in the restaurant was so helpful and kind we were blown away. I would recommend this hotel for cheap and cheerful family break close to waterford city and close to the local park.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11summerfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel with tripadvisor readers, we are delighted you enjoyed your break away, Jean in the restaurant was delighted with the box of chocolates that you left for her, it was a lovely gesture and truely appreciated.
We look forward to meeting you and the family again in the near future but in the meantime enjoy the summer ahead.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing