We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Like Waterford (and the Marina Hotel)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We Like Waterford (and the Marina Hotel)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Think Waterford and you think Crystal and the Marina is only a short 5 minute walk away from the factory tour. Fantastic!
That said the hotel is great value for money and clean. The staff are friendly and most helpful and there is a locked free car park which is great for people touring by car. Other hotels have charged us 20 euros or more a night.
The bar opens onto the river and it's great to sit and watch boats and rowers while taking a coffee or Guinness and the sweets are delicious. The Marina is off the main streets and very quiet. Like Duncan Llandudno's review, we found Waterford town less than exciting, but hey ho, it's got crystal and this hotel is brilliant for a mid price visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewcasabland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments are very much appreciated by myself and all the team here. We are very lucky to have a wonderful location beside the River Suir and for the explorer with a car our own on-site carpark is a definite plus for your expenses.
We would love to meet you both again on your next visit to Ireland and in the meantime I hope you have a great summer 2014.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    445
    139
    33
    11
See reviews for
196
527
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
llandudno
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Value for money spotless venue ideally located in centre of Waterford and on the marina. Bedroom almost identical to the many UK Premier Inns I have used. Sound proofing to ceilings not good, whenever there was movement above it was loud. The marina itself is sadly not anything to write home about, nor indeed is Waterford but glad we tried it as part of our first Ireland road trip. My partner needed an emergency doctor during our one night stay - which was Saturday night/Sunday morning - and the reception staff could not have been more helpful in sorting this out. They phoned the out of hours doctor to book the appointment then printed us a google map of how to get to the out of hourse surgery. (the doctor and pharmacist were spot on too)

Room Tip: Sound proofing to ceilings not good, get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I was sorry to read that your partner was ill during your trip to Ireland but delighted that the team on reception were able to help you with doctor appointments and directions.
I hope you enjoyed your overall visit to Ireland and if you are in the City again please let us know and we will arrange a top floor room for you over looking the River Suir.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in the Waterford Marina Hotel last weekend, we were booked in for two nights B&B and one evening meal. When we arrived we were given a room on the third floor, room was old fashioned but clean but had a nice view so we were happy enough. The hotel is centrally located so we walked into the town on the Friday and headed back for our meal that evening. There wasn't a great selection on the set menu so asked could we have the venison from the a la carte. The waitress didn't know if this was possible but said she would find out (didn't think it was a hard question!!), she came back saying yes but there would be a 7 euro supplement, which I thought was a little steep but we agreed. We then asked how was the vension going to be cooked i.e. rare/medium, again she didn't know but went off to find out. We did enjoy the meal but it definitely wasn't worth the 14 euro extra. Unfortunately during the night I took sick, the following morning I rang down to the reception asking for the telephone number of a doctor and just wanted some information regarding what food was available and found the staff not up to par dealing with a sick paying guest. I enquired as to whether the seafood chowder was available but was told 'they didn't know' ????? and they didn't offer to find out for me which I found quite strange. We checked out at lunchtime as had to get to a doctor and was told that because it was a 'deal' that we availed of there would be no money returned which I thought would happen. Overall was disappointed as had read so many reviews on the site about the 'friendly' staff so wouldn't be in a rush to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityslickerruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us and unfortunately due to illness you had to check out early, I have spoken to my team and they are aware that you were unhappy with the way your questions were responded to and revised procedures have been put in place.
I would hope that you and your partner could consider visiting us again on your next trip to Waterford and I can assure you that you will experience our usual high level of care and attention.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed in the Waterford Marina Hoter on a tour of Ireland and did we pick a good hotel, well, YES. It was a great stay. The food was great ( we had an evening meal and breakfast - great) and the rooms were realy nice and the staff, well, outstanding. Especially Asta and Louise, they were brilliant. So professional, friendly, helpful and just so nice. Would say if you want a hotel in Waterford go for the Waterford Marina Hotel. By the way parking is excellent. Thank you all at the hotel for a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I would like to say a big thank you for taking time out of your day to reveiw the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am so glad to read that you and your friends had a great stay with us and both Asta and Lousie were surprised to see that you remembered them. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we would be delighted to welcome you all back for a return visit the next time you are in Waterford. In the meantime we hope you enjoy the summer months ahead.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good location, disabled parking bay outside the door, hotel staff had foresight to select our two rooms (one disability equipped) opposite each other on the 2nd floor.
Ate in the hotel both nights of the stay as the food was excellent. Breakfasts were also very good. If you're heading Waterford way, I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCL_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us during your tour of Ireland. I will certainly pass on your kind comments about the staff and the food and I look forward to meeting you all again at some time in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed only one night at Waterford Marina Hotel but it was very memorable, and unfortunately, not in a good way.
The location is very good – five minutes from Waterford Crystal Factory and very close to the harbour. The hotel is old but clean. We stayed in room 303 at the end of the corridor on the 3d floor. I do not know what wrong with that particular room but it had very strong acoustics. We assumed we had a family with children one floor above us because we could hear them running and playing. We decided to be patient and wait till they go to sleep. But at night the acoustics was even louder. We could hear every single step, every single squeak of the floor boards. And it seemed they were walking all night long. We had a sleepless night. We regretted we didn’t go to reception and asked to give us a different room. But we were there just for one night and it was almost the end of our trip with Trafalgar. We felt exhausted and didn’t want to deal with situation.

The reception was good. And the breakfast was very average.

All in all, it wasn't a good experience for us because of sleeping conditions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olifka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am dissappointed to see that you did not have a good experience with us, just to let you know that had you contacted reception immediately even by phone they would have done everything neccessary to resolve that issue for you. I hope we get the opportunity in the future to welcome you both back on a return visit and please contact me personally to ensure you enjoy our usual high standard of care and attention.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here end of May and must say very impressed with everything. Staff very friendly and helpful in both front office and bar. Food first class, in fact best seafood chowder I have ever eaten. Can't stop raving about it to all and sundry. Waterford crystal walking distance and town centre full of history. Rooms great with view of the river and very clean. We considered this another first class find. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the river. Beautiful at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twins1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hello, thank you for writing such a lovely review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your praise for the Seafood Chowder to Max our second chef who is our Chowder expert. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and its great to read that you enjoyed our wonderful historical city.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Ireland and look forward to meeting you again on a return visit.
Kind regards
Karen and Team
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing