We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

For what it is this hotel is way over priced. We stayed for two nights and where charged 219 euro for a Sunday night and 99 euros for Monday night.
The location is about the only thing going for it with views from our room over the river.
The rooms are noisy and I had cause to complain to reception. Every night and every morning there is banging noise every five minutes or so. We concluded that it was probably people removing clothing from hangers or the lock on the bathroom door. The point is that noise travels through the hotel including the person using the toilet in the next room. Every day there was a coach tour staying whose itinerary seemed to necessitate a 5:45 alarm call each morning.
If we had paid 99 euros for both nights I could have accepted this level of quality but over double this for a night is just extortionate.
If i return to Waterford I would never stay here again and would strongly recommend others to do the same. Coach passengers on tours are welcome to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book another hotel somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced during your time with us. I would appreciate it if you would contact me via email or telephone I would like to discuss your stay with us.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
gm@waterfordmarinahotel.com
0035351856600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    446
    142
    33
    13
See reviews for
198
534
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Reception was amazing. We arrived early and said they would try and get the room ready ASAP. 15 minutes later (10.00am) we were in our room. The location was excellent with great pubs nearby, such as Munster Bar, The Reg and the Three Ships. Will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Trip advisor, I am delighted we were able to check you into your room on your arrival and that you were able to make good use of your time in the City. We all appreciate your recommendation to Trip advisor readers and would be delighted to meet you again on your next visit to Ireland.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for just one night prior to taking the ferry to Wales the next day. Unfortunately we arrived late at the hotel, however staff were very welcoming, allowing us to order dinner even though it was just past 9pm. Enjoyed our dinner - the quality (and quantity) of the food equal fine dining. The riverside deck was perfect for drinks. Rooms overlooked the river, and were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind comments about our food and service are much appreciated by all the team here. I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future for a longer visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very comfortable hotel. We had a great view of the Suir River. Good restaurant and breakfast. Within an easy walk of most attractions including the famous Waterford Crystal factory. Waterford is the oldest city in Ireland and the Viking heritage is obvious. Our room was much bigger than we were used to and at a reasonable price. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Suir River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Trip advisor, I am delighted to see that you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to visit the local attractions such as Waterford Crystal and our Wonderful Viking Triangle. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked a night for myself, hubby and kids on stopover to Cork. Everything was perfect. Free, secure parking, free Wifi that works. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the place is spotless and modern without being flashy. We had a fantastic family room that was bright, fresh and spacious, with amazing views of the city and all along the river. It was brilliant to sleep soundly and wake refreshed. Even the kids slept like logs! They loved it. So many hotels are hot and stuffy and you wake with a headache. Its right in the heart of Waterford city without being stuck in the hustle and bustle of the quays, where I've stayed before. Walking distance to everything (sights, shops, bars, restaurants) or even a leisurely stroll along the Marina and The Peoples Park is right on your doorstep. Its also a great location for day trips around the county, the Tramore Road, Dunmore East Rd etc. We travelled on to Cork and that hotel was a disaster so after 1 night in Cork we booked back into the Marina for the rest of our hols. We were delighted to be back and the kids were thrilled to be back. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful, and the bar food is tasty and reasonable. Had a great stay and we can't wait to go back. Kids are asking already!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitríona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I would like to thank you firstly for choosing to return to the Waterford Marina Hotel during your family holiday this year and secondly for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor readers. I am delighted to see that you all enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see lots more of what Waterford City and County has to offer. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we would look forward to meeting you all again on your next visit to Waterford, we have your details on file so will ensure to allocate you a similar room.
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Waterford Marina Hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The secure parking located behind the hotel, which is accessed via intercom, meant we could leave things in the car and not worry about having to drag everything back and forth to the room. We were on a 2 night B&B and 1 dinner package but ended up eating in the hotel bar on the second night too so can recommend the food in both the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was lovely and a wide choice of juices, cereals, fruit, bread and cooked breakfast too. I don't see why other reviewers had an issue with having to be served the cooked food, personally I much prefer that others aren't picking at stuff before we eat it. Having seen children eating from the self-serve salad bars in supermarkets and then throwing it back, I like the idea that the food here was so hygienically served.

Our room was located on the top floor with a gorgeous view over the river and despite being at the front of the hotel it was so quiet in the area at night that we could leave the window open without being disturbed. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable. Another plus....a vending machine on our floor!!! I have mentioned this before in other reviews, I think this is an essential in hotels. If I want water late at night I really don't want to have to go back to the bar to get it.

Location wise, the hotel is in a perfect spot for walking round Waterford city.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skylarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted to see that you both enjoyed your stay with us over the bank holiday weekend, I have passed your review to our Head Chef Frank and his team and it made a busy period all the more worthwhile to read that you enjoyed their cooking.
Your kind comments are very much appreciated by everyone here and we look forward to meeting you both again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Karen and all the Team
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived and got a space in the over flow car park
I'm happy once the car is parked
Reception was a lovely warm feel and staff are very helpful
The view from the room was just breath taking really was looking out over the sea view , wild life all around and just nice too see
Went down for a drink and sat outside listen too the sea was a delightful evening and I'll be back here again for sure
Perfect place

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read see that you were able to park the car and relax during your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a great location in the city where our guests can enjoy the wonderful River Suir.
I look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Waterford City and in the meantime I hope you enjoy the rest of the summer.
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing