We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel. We were part of a tour group spending September 9, 2011 at the Granville Hotel. We are all long-time travelers who have experienced all kinds of hotel rooms. We all agreed that we "loved this hotel"! It was so quaint, so homey, that we all lamented that we were spendng only one night here. The rooms were very clean. Also ours had very comfortable beds...not the norm on our tour of Great Britian/Ireland. The manager/owner? mingled with the guest responding to our every wish & offering a history of the hotel. Our dinner & breakfast was very good with good service. If I had to find a "con", it would be the small elevator. It was not a problem & a small price to pay to stay in a hotel that rivaled a B & B in style & furnishings. Also don't miss the tour of the Waterford factory.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
How very good of you to take the time to write your review. Your comments are very much appreciated by all of us here at The Granville and do really help us to trust that what we are providing meets our customers expectation and needs. Again many thanks and I do understand about the lift..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    338
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
220
571
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We really wanted to give this lovely house a higher rating and the 4 is a bit generous given the sleep quality issues. It has an excellent location along the waterfront and presents an exceptional historic feel in both public and private rooms. It is a pleasure just to wander around the place- clearly much effort was expended to perserve this gem. The one tiny elevator is a bit of problem for moving larger groups to the upper floors but that is a reality of the historic building. Service was universally above average as was food and beverages. Our room was medium sized with a compact bathroom. It was beautifully furnished and decorated in a style commensurate with the historic nature of the house. Wired internet was complementary (thank you). There was no air conditioning but fans were provided and the windows opened, so environment was tolerable. The linens, toiletries and TV were at best, average and the tiny bathtub would be more usable with a curved shower curtain. The towels and bed take the experience down several notches. The towels are the small cheesy type you usually find in low end highway motels-completely out of character with the overall feel of the hotel. And fatally, the mattress was worn out- one of those that rolls two occupants to the middle of the bed- needless to say our sleep quality left a lot to be desired. In fairness this was not typical of our fellow travelers experience- but it was our sore backs that voted. This hotel could be a 4 1/2 to 5 rated hotel ( especially at a 3 star level) if the same attention that was applied to the historic restoration was applied to the overall experience. (GT 5)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnacoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to submit your kind comments regarding the Granville Hotel. Yes a lot of effort goes into maintain this historic building. There are so many components to ones stay and when they all come together and you the customer has a really enjoyable stay gives us a nice sense of achievement. You enjoyed the building the service and food where all above average. You really wanted to give us a higher score except for those components you had an issue with in the bedroom. We will take a closer look at them and what needs and can be changed straight away will be done. We appreciate your comments and long term they will be of benefit. Hopefully you will get to come back and check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed at the Granville Hotel in Waterford, Ireland in August, 2011 for two nights. It was a older hotel, but was absolutely beautiful and elegant. The staff were all very helpful with suggestion for attractions, dinner, etc., and the rooms were beautifully appointed, and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel restaurant was also beautiful. The food was very good, with a wonderful staff of waiters. Would definitely recommend the Granville if you are visiting Waterford.

Be sure to visit the Waterford factor when you are there--very interesting tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhuntGeorgetown_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to submit your kind comments regarding the Granville Hotel. We do try our best and reading your comments helps us to maintain that effort. There are so many components to ones stay and when they all come together and you the customer has a really enjoyable stay gives us a nice sense of achievement. Hopefully you will get to come back and I thank you in advance for whatever recommendations you give the Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Charming place. Lovely room with an awesome view! It was very convenient to walk around the village and also convenient for the Waterford Crystal tour. The restaurant was nice with a great made-to-order breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the Granville Hotel. Glad that you really enjoyed the room and the view. Very nice photos you took. We like to cook breakfast to order as it should be and delighted you thought it was great. Hopefully you will get to come back and perhaps stay longer with us the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roosendaal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Sunday lunch. The Granville Sunday buffet is packed with the locals (lots of families) for their Sunday lunch. The entrance to the buffet is not the most logical as you have to pick up your food in a narrow one-way 'street' and then jostle your back back to your table via the queue again. It appears that everybody is used to it and they use the ocassion to admire the food and get their own appetites up !! On the menu HUGE plates of Turkey & Ham, Stuffed chicked, fish and chips, roast beef...comfort food to die for. All the plates piled high (literally) with the side dishes of mashed potato, carrots, etc etc and taken back to the tables by hungry and enthuastic eaters. Lots of Guiness and other delights in sight.. We all ate for Ireland! Tasty food and lots of it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the Granville Hotel Sunday luch carvery. That’s what we are trying to achieve “tasty food and lots of it “good comfort food and good value. Hopefully you will get to come back and perhaps stay with us the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed here 1 night while traveling through Ireland with another couple. First of all, I will say that the front desk staff was very nice and also helpful in giving directions to local sites. The hotel overall was attractive. However, the room we had was near a door that separated the stair/elevator hallway from the hallway to our room and boy was it noisy! We could hear every person that went through that door.....no matter what time of night or morning. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa23621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the Granville Hotel. Also thank you for bringing to our attention the noise the door made and I had maintenance fix it straight away but I do apologise that it disturbed your sleep. Hopefully you will get to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Five of us visited Waterford for the day. Just thought i'd give a quick review of the the lovely lunch we had. This was in the bar area of the hotel and is self service. If you want big plates of tasty hot food at a great price then i would suggest you eat in the Granville Hotel when in Waterford.
I had salmon with a lovely cream sauce, plenty of vegatables only €11.00. Hubby had piles of roast beef, ( freshly cut in front of him,) roast potatoes and veg, stuffing etc again €11.00. Complimentary glasses of water are available to have with your meal.
Try and get in just before 1.00p.m as it gets very busy for lunch. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilkenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
What a great review and glad you and your friends enjoyed our food and appreciated the value we are giving. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we really appreciate your kind comments regarding the Hotel. We look forward to you returning and keep spreading the word !! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing