We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Great location. Our room was on top floor with huge balcony overlooking the water. Beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for staying at The Granville Hotel. We are fortunate to be right in the centre of Waterford close to all the attractions and shopping. As we only have a few rooms with balconies overlooking the river, and the marina just request one on your next visit and we will do our best to have it available for you. Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    336
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
219
570
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
305travels
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Granville hotel for one night as part of a tour. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But be advised, that if traveling with persons with mobility issues, there is only one elevator. Also, due to the age of the hotel, there are numerous stairs to navigate in the hallways and even in some of the rooms. Our booking included dinner. We had excellent service, although the food was not to our liking. However, a manager noticed that one of us did not care for her meal. She approached us in the most respectful way and insisted that the meal be replaced to another entree. This was a very kind, and thoughtful gesture, and so the service makes up for any lack of amenity.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 305travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for staying at The Granville Hotel. Delighted to read that the service made up for something’s that the actual age of the building limits us in doing. Should you get the opportunity to visit us again please make us aware of any mobility issues and we will ensure we provide you with rooms in the part of the hotel that have no steps. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a comfortable and well-appointed hotel, within easy walking distance to Waterford's main attractions. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a lovely historic property along the quay of the river, that has been tastefully decorated. We had a small but quaint room that felt more like staying in someone's home then in a hotel. The bonus was the food. Excellent food in both the Bar and the Restaurant. Staff were helpfull and you are walking distance to many historic sites in Waterford. The Bus depot is a block or so down the street on the quay , so we took day trips to Cork City and Blarney Castle and the beaches at Tramore very cheap!
I would have given this hotel a 5 but early morning tour groups were easy to hear as they walked and talked loudly going past our room. A minor issue in the overall stay at the Granville.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olddog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and glad you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel. All reviews are very helpful to maintain our standards and fair comment about the early morning guests and I am sorry it disturbed you. My front desk team who allocated rooms have also understood your comments and in future will allocate rooms with this in mind. Thank you for all your comments prasing the decor,food etc. It is what what we strive to achieve. Hope you have the oppertunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We found the hotel to be well-maintained, well-appointed, and conveniently located to major attractions. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. We quite enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and glad you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel. All reviews are very helpful to maintain our standards and the ones like yours give us all here great satisfaction and help to maintain the focus we have in what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel. We were part of a tour group spending September 9, 2011 at the Granville Hotel. We are all long-time travelers who have experienced all kinds of hotel rooms. We all agreed that we "loved this hotel"! It was so quaint, so homey, that we all lamented that we were spendng only one night here. The rooms were very clean. Also ours had very comfortable beds...not the norm on our tour of Great Britian/Ireland. The manager/owner? mingled with the guest responding to our every wish & offering a history of the hotel. Our dinner & breakfast was very good with good service. If I had to find a "con", it would be the small elevator. It was not a problem & a small price to pay to stay in a hotel that rivaled a B & B in style & furnishings. Also don't miss the tour of the Waterford factory.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
How very good of you to take the time to write your review. Your comments are very much appreciated by all of us here at The Granville and do really help us to trust that what we are providing meets our customers expectation and needs. Again many thanks and I do understand about the lift..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We really wanted to give this lovely house a higher rating and the 4 is a bit generous given the sleep quality issues. It has an excellent location along the waterfront and presents an exceptional historic feel in both public and private rooms. It is a pleasure just to wander around the place- clearly much effort was expended to perserve this gem. The one tiny elevator is a bit of problem for moving larger groups to the upper floors but that is a reality of the historic building. Service was universally above average as was food and beverages. Our room was medium sized with a compact bathroom. It was beautifully furnished and decorated in a style commensurate with the historic nature of the house. Wired internet was complementary (thank you). There was no air conditioning but fans were provided and the windows opened, so environment was tolerable. The linens, toiletries and TV were at best, average and the tiny bathtub would be more usable with a curved shower curtain. The towels and bed take the experience down several notches. The towels are the small cheesy type you usually find in low end highway motels-completely out of character with the overall feel of the hotel. And fatally, the mattress was worn out- one of those that rolls two occupants to the middle of the bed- needless to say our sleep quality left a lot to be desired. In fairness this was not typical of our fellow travelers experience- but it was our sore backs that voted. This hotel could be a 4 1/2 to 5 rated hotel ( especially at a 3 star level) if the same attention that was applied to the historic restoration was applied to the overall experience. (GT 5)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnacoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to submit your kind comments regarding the Granville Hotel. Yes a lot of effort goes into maintain this historic building. There are so many components to ones stay and when they all come together and you the customer has a really enjoyable stay gives us a nice sense of achievement. You enjoyed the building the service and food where all above average. You really wanted to give us a higher score except for those components you had an issue with in the bedroom. We will take a closer look at them and what needs and can be changed straight away will be done. We appreciate your comments and long term they will be of benefit. Hopefully you will get to come back and check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing