We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC GRANVILLE HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC GRANVILLE HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

i have never written a review before now but felt so strongly that i had to write about the Granville in waterford. i had not stayed there for over 30 years but somthings never change - its a class act !! the rooms were spotless and very cosy with multi channel tv , tea / coffee facilities.

The staff in every dept were excellent and what can i say about the food - heavenly !!!!

With its very central location this hotel is a must when staying in Waterford - I am going to treat my wife to a visit very shortly.

JIM COLLINS - IRELAND - AGED 55

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collinsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your first ever review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you thought the service ,the roomand food were all great. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit soon and that you can bring your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    338
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
220
571
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

loved hotel and visited on more than one occasion. lovely room overlooking river. sadly we had not good experience at gaining entry to restaurant, due to american coach arrival at same time. also some staff under pressure but one young man saved the day...alan...thank u. mary.

Room Tip: room no. 420 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you enjoyed the service Alan gave you. I am sorry that the incident with the restaurant had to happen to take the shine off what was otherwise a most enjoyable stay for you. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great convenient location. Beds were so-o-o-o comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Many fun pubs close by. Be sure to ask for Bailey's for your porridge in the morning. Take a guided walking tour of the town if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nationalparkPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you thought the service and food were all good. Delighted that you enjoyed our porridge (oat meal) …….our organic Flahavans porridge is becoming quiet famous especially when you have the drop of baileys with it…what a good start to the day. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit to The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Staff are friendly & outgoing, Rooms are dated and lack of air con. made our stay rather uncomfortable in the humid summer heat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you found our staff to be outgoing and friendly. The Granville Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Ireland dating back to the early 1700’s. We try to maintain that look and fell of old world charm and I am sorry to read you felt that is was dated. We have air con in a lot of our rooms but we are restricted in putting them in to all rooms. Perhaps a tip for other travellers is to request air con and I am sure we can oblige. I am sorry that it took the shine off what was a most enjoyable stay for you. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Central waterfront location. Got great reception on arrival . Hotel very clean Food fantastic.
There was music in bar thursday and friday night which enticed us to stay in the hotel instead of going out in to the city. The satff were just fantastic all over the hotel untill the saturday night when one was quired over mixers for short's and she was very dismissive and rude I found out later that she was the bar managers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you enjoyed the welcome, thought the service and food were all great, all bar your experience on Saturday night. I am sorry that that had to happen to take the shine off what was a most enjoyable stay for you. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and thought it a very high standard. The staff were really friendly and helpfull. We had a front room and overloooked the waterfront, it is very near to the town centre so very handy .
We ate in the bar and had a meal at a function and on both occassions the food was outstanding and home made. Our waitress in the bar especially was really helpful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you thought the service and food were all outstanding. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Excellent location. Nice rooms and bathrooms Go to pub around corner (T&H Doolans) Very popular with American Tourists. Familty run.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river on Top floor are great. The rooms facing out back overlooking outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and glad you enjoyed what Waterford has to offer and the Granville Hotel. Perhaps you will someday return to visit us maybe in 2014 when the city will be 1100 years old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing