We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed one night at the Granville as part of a CIE Tour on June 16, 2012. The hotel was converted from an historic mansion and was a highlight of our trip. We were assigned one of the bridal suites on the top floor with a view of the river. It was beautiful and comfortable with every amenity you could ask for. What's more, we were given the suite without fanfare--they just did it and seemed as pleased as we were when we commented on it. The food in the dining room, from the "Full Irish Breakfast", to the dinner at which they served the 42 people on our tour from a limited menu was excellent and very professionally served. You cannot go wrong staying at the Granville. I only wish we'd had more time there.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Frequently travelling on business means I'm rarely surprised but I have to say that the Granville Hotel was a really unexpected gem of a hotel. Check in was warm, friendly and very efficient. I was immediately offered help with my bags and the receptionist checked if I was parked nearby so that they could offer their overnight parking service. Location is right next to all the amenities - shops, pubs and restaurants are a short walk away.

The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The decor throughout the hotel is not modern boutique style but then again, this is a period property and it doesn't need minimalist design. The bed was comfortable and offered sheets and blankets as opposed to the usual trend of using duvets. This helped me sleep well as the room isn't air conditioned (not something that is generally a problem in Ireland!) Free wifi throughout and the speeds were very good - I was able to get some work done before leaving for the day.

Service and food in the bar was really good quality. I was offered table service straight away and as bar food goes, I was impressed by the reasonable prices and the variety. Good big TV for watching the world cup games too. Breakfast was also excellent. Food was cooked to order and there was a huge variety of hot and cold choices. More than I could have managed and a shame I wasn't around for another day to try them. The full Irish kept me going until 8pm that evening.

I'm so impressed I'm seriously considering bringing the family over to South East Ireland and staying here for a couple of nights. Good small, independently run hotels like this break the monotony of business travel and the larger chains should aspire to this level of service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PointyHairedBoss78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Myself and my family have been going to the Granville for years.
Each year we've attempted to veer away and be adventurous with other towns, cities or hotels but on balance the Granville is just the best hotel in Waterford for what we need.
The hotel feels as though it's a place the locals go to from it's carvery to the local staff who look after us brilliantly each year. Also, with it's proximity to Waterford city centre, there's no need for taxis, buses or anything else- you just walk to and from everything & this includes my elderly grandmother!
The breakfast is also served which is a tradition I feel is dying out but sadly so.
At night, the bar is usually pretty busy but not hopping- just nice for families or couples.
If you are staying in Waterford, you will struggle to find a hotel of a higher standard in a better location than the Granville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel looking out on to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lav-senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I like historic classy places and Granville is both. It's location on the river and main street couldn't be better. You can walk to most things. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is great - we had brunch and got two-meals' worth. Ask for the porridge, but avoid the scrambled eggs unless you like them bland watery lukewarm and tasteless. Everything else was very good. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter being farther away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandEGranitebay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you thought the rooms where comfortable and clean and that your experience in our carvery was good. Other readers I think will enjoy the tip about the porridge . I am sorry about the scrambled eggs I hope it did'nt take the shine off what was a most enjoyable stay for you. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

i have never written a review before now but felt so strongly that i had to write about the Granville in waterford. i had not stayed there for over 30 years but somthings never change - its a class act !! the rooms were spotless and very cosy with multi channel tv , tea / coffee facilities.

The staff in every dept were excellent and what can i say about the food - heavenly !!!!

With its very central location this hotel is a must when staying in Waterford - I am going to treat my wife to a visit very shortly.

JIM COLLINS - IRELAND - AGED 55

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank collinsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your first ever review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you thought the service ,the roomand food were all great. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit soon and that you can bring your wife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

loved hotel and visited on more than one occasion. lovely room overlooking river. sadly we had not good experience at gaining entry to restaurant, due to american coach arrival at same time. also some staff under pressure but one young man saved the day...alan...thank u. mary.

Room Tip: room no. 420 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you enjoyed the service Alan gave you. I am sorry that the incident with the restaurant had to happen to take the shine off what was otherwise a most enjoyable stay for you. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great convenient location. Beds were so-o-o-o comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Many fun pubs close by. Be sure to ask for Bailey's for your porridge in the morning. Take a guided walking tour of the town if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nationalparkPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel and that you thought the service and food were all good. Delighted that you enjoyed our porridge (oat meal) …….our organic Flahavans porridge is becoming quiet famous especially when you have the drop of baileys with it…what a good start to the day. Hopefully you get the opportunity to make a return visit to The Granville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £77 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing