We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in the heart of the city”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elegance in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Arrived at the Granville Hotel on our tour bus and had a warm welcome extended to us by the manager before we even left the coach! This set the tone for our whole stay at this hotel. The facilities are beautiful here. Our rooms were comfortable, immaculate and spacious. The meals were wonderful -- just like someone had cooked for you in their own home. The staff of the dining room were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Best of all, not only do you have sumptuous accommodations, but you are so well situated to see this lovely city. All historic destinations are within a short walk, including the oldest pub in Ireland -- Doolan's -- just around the corner! Definitely a treat to stay at the Granville Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed Waterford and your stay at The Granville Hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write your review and your kind comments. They help us to maintain standards and make us feel good when we read them. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    351
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
229
595
33
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Cozy, huge old style hotel. friendly helpfull staff. Was surprising of nice knitted bedlinens and very tidy room. Wish back soon again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewdrop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington , Pa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Granville Hotel during our CIE tour. It truly is a lovely historic hotel and has a lot of personality. Our room, although small, was clean. Even though there is only one elevator we didn't have to wait long for it. The big disappointment for us was the food. We were on a tour and were given the "tour group" menu. I had Tagliatelle with Vegetables that was pasty and tastleless. The waitress offered me some mashed potatoes on the side which was strange. My friend had a chewy, almost inedible steak. We ordered the Rhubarb and Berry Crumble with Custard for desert and for the first time in a long time I couldn't eat it. The crumble was stale and the custard from a can. Honestly, they could have done better. Breakfast was just as bad- eggs needed to be sent back twice and a yummy looking biscuit dry as sawdust. I've had better food at diners.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaWarrington_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All comments are important to us and in some ways the negative are more important. I appreciate your kind comments about the Granville Hotel being a lovely historic hotel with a lot of personality. We strive to maintain a high standard of food, hospitality and service. Your big disappointment was the food and for this I would like to apologise to you but I am a little at a bit of a loss as we normally get great praise for our food. We have spent time creating a menu for groups that try to give a flavour of what there is to offer in Ireland. I am sorry that the Tagliatelle was tasteless and that you’re friend did not enjoy his steak. The crumble and custard are homemade daily. We cook breakfast to order and my apologies it took till the third time to get the eggs right. Regarding the biscuit dry as sawdust, that is called wheatabix cereal and that’s the way it is, milk is normally added to soften. Again my apologies and our chef is aware of all your comments. Again many thanks as your comments will help us to maintain our high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our only regret about this charming hotel in Waterford was that we only were able to spend one night. Although the room was a little small compared to the American market, its atmosphere more than compensated. And the beds were extremely comfortable. After experiencing some plumbing difficulties in other hotels on our 24-day trip to the UK, it was refreshing to find a bath and shower facility that worked flawlessly. The room was immaculately clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Hopefully the next time you can get to stay two nights at The Granville Hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere The Granville has. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable for the one night we were there. There was also a tour bus full of travelers there as well and I think the Granville Hotel caters more to these types of groups. Our room faced the back of the hotel and with the windows open, there was quite a bit of noise from the kitchen. We had requested a king size bed when we reserved our room 4 months previous, and upon check in we were told that they had very few of those and they were unavailable. Our room had 1 double and 2 twins. The staff was friendly but not overly helpful. The bar was busy and it took a bit to get some service but it was a pleasant meal with good food. All in all I would have to say that it was a simply average hotel

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marikay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Glad you thought The Granville Hotel was clean and comfortable which is what we try hard to achieve. Had we got the room request right, perhaps you would have gone away feeling that we where more than a average place. I apologies for this. Four months out should have been enough time to fulfil your request or the least we should have done was made you aware in time that we had no king size available. Should you get to stay with us in the further I am sure we will be able to facilitate your request. Many Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

As a seasoned business traveller I have stayed in many hotels, but when I'm in Waterford I always stay at the Granville, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and offer everything you actually need when away from home, a desk, a seating area, coffee and tea making facilities and complementary bottled water. These basic necessities make all the difference. The bar is friendly and the service first class, the bar meals are great if you want a casual meal and the main restaurant offers fantastic choice if you want a special evening. Situated on the quay, and right in the centre of the town it is perfectly positioned, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend some time in Waterford.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank angNpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We value your custom and very much appreciate the recommendation you give The Granville Hotel. Hopefully it will help others to choose The Granville Hotel when next they are in Waterford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On a Globus coach tour in Ireland and arrived at this hotel. Manager boarded the bus and welcomed all of us, a really nice touch. The hotel layout is brilliant. The bar decor is charming and a great place for visiting and enjoying a drink. The rooms offer a really nice comfortable bed although small, very clean. I loved staying here. The family style dining room was perfect, meals were top notch and their efficient staff are very accommodating. I had an excellent experience here. After the coach tour ended this was by far my favourite hotel. The manager also came aboard the bus to thank us all at the end of our stay. Excellent customer service. I Highly Recommend this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Many thanks for your very kind comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Granville Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Perhaps one day you will visit The Granville Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing