We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night At The Granville-Nice Hotel”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here on September 3rd and found the hotel and staff to be very nice indeed. The room was charming and the bed comfortable. Our room faced the street and there was some road noise with our windows open--but it caused us no concern--in fact as the cadence of the traffic became lighter as the night went on it actually seemed to help us get to sleep. If this noise would bother you then perhaps a room on the other side of the hotel would be better. The food was excellent--particularly the breakfast--has a very nice bar. Staff was very nice. We would definitely stay here again--the building has great history as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review. When our staff read your review I know they will really appreciate your comments and they will make them feel good about themselves. We all like a clap on the back from time to time. Hopefully you will get the opportunity to visit the Granville Hotel sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Granville experience started when I booked our stay several months before; nothing but courtesy and professionalism. Since I would be celebrating my 60th birthday while there I hoped it would be special, and it was! If you're looking for modern don't look here; if you're looking for charm, tradition and history, this is the place. Perfectly situated in easy walking distance of all you want to see in Waterford (can leave car parked), overlooking the River Suir, ample public parking directly across the street (don't worry, the staff will get your luggage). But let's talk about what's important, their PUB! Oh my, how wonderful! Cozy, well staffed, great food and lots of folks (mix of locals & travelers), perfect pub atmosphere! This is where we spent my birthday, and I couldn't have asked for a better night. Next, the dining at the Granville, just lovely! The breakfast buffet was beautifully laid out for all to partake of and then you got to order...wow, great. We had a complimentary dinner and it was one of the best during our 22 days in Ireland. Thanks Granville for a memorable stay...we hope to see you again!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to the Granville Hotel and you experienced the charm, tradition and history the hotel has to offer. It is also pleasing to read that as it was a special occasion you will have very fond memories of your 60th birthday in Ireland and the Granville Hotel. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. Perhaps you may return to celebrate more special occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I dropped into this family-run hotel to say one night without pre-booking. We asked for and received a room overlooking the river and were astonished at the warmth of the surroundings and cleanliness of the public areas and well-appointed rooms. The staff were polite and helpful throughout. The bar area is really comfortable with great food and a brilliant selection of drinks. The hotel is centrally located by the river and ideal for exploring the town centre. Breakfast too was excellent.

We stayed in a 5* Radisson Blu in Manchester, England recently. For less money, this hotel was by far the better experience. Never mind the corporate brands with their spas and beauty treatments - the Granville Hotel is a great example of Irish hospitality and charm at its best. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river is good. Was quiet enough during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrior151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Delighted we delivered what we try very hard to achieve and that is good Irish hospitality. Our staff gets great encouragement from such reviews as they help us to maintain our standards. Hopefully you get to visit The Granville Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was the second stop on our nine day guided tour of Ireland. Great staff, pleasant appointed rooms. All of the staff were polite and friendly.

We had dinner in the hotel dining room. Since we were part of a guided tour group, we dined together. We were impressed at how well the dinning room staff served us all 40 people at one time. Food was very good and we did have a choice of several main dishes.

Yes, we would return again when in the area.

Room Tip: We like high floors in a quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Hopefully you will get to visit Waterford and the Granville Hotel sometime in the future. We appreciate the time you took to write your review and they really help us to maintain our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

On a recent visit to Waterford We decided to go to the Granville for something to eat. We were not staying. the Granville has style and elegance and a wonderful atmosphere. It was evening time and the bar was quite full with people returning from shopping, others having a quiet drink, some eating. There was certainly a 'buzz' there. We got our menus which had lots of choice and reasonable prices. Our waitress then took our order and brought our drinks. Our food arrived and it was very tasty and plenty of it. The Granville has a sense of occasion about it and I would have no hesitation going back there when in Waterford. What a lovely way to end a day of shopping - like stepping back in time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enniscorthy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Your comments are very much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to write the review. Perhaps the next time you could avail of one of our offers and stay overnight. Something new that may be of interest to you is the Winterval festival on in Waterford from the 30th November to the 23rd December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed there as part of a bus tour

PLUSES
Check-in handled well for large group.
Breakfast
Special diet needs accommodated (soya milk)
Great internet access.
Common areas
Restaurant
Location - right downtown, on the river.

MINUSES
Bed too soft

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank energizer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

We very much appreciate the time to write your positive review of the Granville Hotel. We have also noted the comments regarding the soft bed and will have this checked out. Our policy is to replace when necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Although well aquainted with the Granville Hotel for weddings and functions over the years we have never had the pleasure of staying there until last weekend. Our spacious, light and beautifully decorated room overlooked the river Suir. We felt as if we were guests in a private manor house. Simple elegance, attention to detail, spotlessly clean, lovely welcoming staff...I could go on...it was a real joy. With it's amazing history, it isn't often one can stay in a living museum which so easily mixes with modern Waterford. A lively music session in the bar on Saturday evening was pitched perfectly, not too loud, but enough to give atmosphere to a full bar. In contrast, the next morning we had a delicious breakfast whilst soft classical music played throughout ...so easy to wake up to...The Granville does what so many fail to do...strike the perfect balance .... Not only will we stay again, we will recommend it to everyone we know. The Granville Hotel epitomises Waterford....a city with an amazing history and understated elegance....

Room Tip: The quay side had beautiful views and was still peaceful by night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridayroiCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We very much appreciate this and look forward to your return. I will be using one of your comments, “A city with an amazing history and an understated elegance” when replying to a recent negative review of Waterford. Hope you don’t mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing