We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old classic hotel-- extremely comfortable”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2008

If you like a centrally located, great old classic hotel, the Granville is for you! Delightfully furnished , very spacious room (514) on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the river. Close to train station (five to seven minute cab ride) and bus station (about three blocks away). Very nice breakfast menu, prompt service and good food.

Overheard some folks complain about street noise during the night; we didn't hear it; but be aware of the problem and request a quiet or back room.

Friendly and helpful staff who are glad to accommodate special requests.

A bit pricey (110 euros for suite) but really about the same as the high-end B&Bs; and we felt we got much nicer accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verticallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

We spent two nights at the Granville Hotel that included breakfast and dinner one night. We found it to be a charming old hotel with a beautiful lobby that was recently redecorated. We didn't have to wait to check in and the front desk girl steered me to a less expensive parking lot across the street at then end of the block. She was very friendly adn welcoming. We didn't find the parking to be an inconvenience at all. Our room contained period furniture and was decorated to match, not a style that I'd put in my home but it complemented the hotel.

Our room did have a tea kettle and some tea and instant coffee. We didn't use them but they were there.

We had dinner in the hotel the first night and we both had the fried mushrooms and the sirloin steak. We were both happy with dinner. Our server seemed to be new, he was a little unsure of himself, but the food was great and we were glad that we had dinner. We are naturally late eaters so we were there at about 9:00 pm and we were one of three full tables.

Breakfast was very good and great service.

The bar was beautifully decorated with a lot of oak and brass. The bar service was friendly and prompt.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Stayed at the Granville for one night and found it to be very nice indeed. After arriving relatively early in the day (10am) following a long flight from the states and a drive to Waterford, the front desk was helpful in getting a room for me earlier than would be normally done.

The room was very comfortable and amenities were as expected which is to say that the lights, tv, sink, shower, etc all worked fine.

The pub on the first floor was very, very nicely kept. I didn't eat there myself but the buffet-style lunch that was being served was clearly a hit with the locals, who literally lined up and waited for (for some) about 20 minutes to get their food. I take that as a good sign...if the locals like it, it must be authentic, tasty, cheap (or some combination of those three).

The location is excellent; being right off of the river and within a few minutes walk of a piazza-like shopping, restaurant, pub, park like district. A bit of an Italian feel to that area with people lounging near fountains and gathering with friends....very nice.

The Waterford factory is just a short 5 minute drive away. It's worth it if you've never gone. Not the sanitized, safety-ized, tour that we're used to getting here in the U.S. but an up-close and personal with the guys who are actually cutting the crystal. In many cases, they'd hand over to us what they were working on that very moment....very accessible and friendly place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My parents have just sold their house in Waterford so as I wanted some independence that I wouldn't have had staying with relatives I booked two nights at The Granville. I chose the Granville as it is a beautiful hotel and had a reputation for good food.

Our room was lovely and the reception staff friendly. We had the speediest check in with just our room key being given to us. It was mid night but if this was someone's first time in Waterford some information on the city would have been useful.

Breakfast was lovely the next morning. As I had booked our room over the internet we got a good discount on the bill and it included a free dinner in the restaurant.

I was horrified at the dinner. I ordered mushrooms fried in a garlic sauce and my boyfriend ordered a vol au vent filled with chicken in a cream sauce. What I received was breaded mushrooms with a drop of garlic sauce. It was straight out of a frozen food shop. My boyfriend’s vol au vont was filled with processed chicken cubes.

We then had an extremely long wait for our main course. People who had arrived and ordered long after us were finishing their mains before ours even arrived. Did we receive an apology? No.

The pork medallion that I had ordered turned out to be a pork escalope covered in breadcrumbs (great for someone with wheat intolerance) the peppercorn sauce had a great bug thick skin on it. The veg was mushy and topped off with some tinned tomatoes. This is not the standard of food that I would expect from a 3 star hotel. This was pub food at its worst. Serving up this substandard food totally devalues everything else about The Granville Hotel.

The head waitress was very aggressive when asking if the food was ok. I felt like a child at school not liking their dinner and having a teacher hovering over me to force it down. We literally had to wait for her to disappear before we could do a runner from the restaurant and back to our room. It didn’t end there though. The waitress phoned our room to ask why we hadn’t eaten the food.

That night we attended a wedding reception at another hotel. On returning to The Granville at 2am we discovered the front door was locked. We were outside for 10 minutes before we were finally let in.

The Granville is a beautiful hotel right in the centre of town but unless it brings its service and food up to standard there are far better places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollipopHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

We got a very cheap rate (a last minute thing) on a 2 night stay at this hotel so to be honest I wasn't expecting too much from it. But it was pleasantly surprising. The location is excellent - Right in the middle of the town with a nice view. The room was both spacious and spotless. The bar in the hotel was great "craic" after 10pm (Friday night) and our meal in the hotel restaurant was decent if nothing amazing. My main gripe would be the sound-proofing is non-existent. The walls must be paper-thin and unfortunately the couple next-door to us liked to watch Sky-News at 5am! Also when checking-out the queue was out the door. We spent 30 minutes queuing to check out which is ridiculous. But in every other aspect this hotel did itself proud and if you're looking for a good-value weekend break look no further

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank steev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Beautiful exterior & reception as per photo's on the various web sites. We found all reception, housekeeping & restaurant staff were very helpful & friendly. Our room contained a double & a single bed but the double was so incredibly tiny that we had to use both beds in order to get any sleep at all! Room contained hair dryer, safe & some tourist information. Nice to have spare pillows in the wardrobe. 24 hour porter available. Strangely they offered free toiletries if required - razers etc but very disappointed that there was no tea or coffee in the rooms & cost was €2.50 plus a porter charge of €6 per person. There is a sightly stuffy looking restaurant which proved to offer a lovely breakfast (didn't try the evening menu). Also a delightful & large bar but prices were shockingly high (€11.20/£8.70 for a single liqueur plus a coke) & bar staff somewhat curt. There is no hotel parking but a public park immediately opposite on the quayside at a cost of €5 per night (6pm to 11am), daily rates were around €1.70 p/hr & €7.50 per day (not absolutely certain of these prices). Be aware that there is a very, very busy 4-lane road out front between the hotel & the quay side although no noise penetrated inside hotel as far as we could detect so just be sure to use the crossings. Hotel was not as clean as I would expect - just general diatrus on the carpets. I was surprised that the hotel was undergoing renovation as there was no notice of this at booking - this did not concern us at all but I imagine would be problematic to some, especially as there was a strong smell of paint.

We used this hotel to break our journey between the port of Rosslare & our final destination near Limerick so it served its' purpose but we wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer.

Paid €89/£69 for single night B&B for 2
(Current exchange rate €1 to £0.78)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su-Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

stayed here for two nights as part of a supervalu getaway breaks, two nights B&B and one evening meal. we were a group of 10, 5 couples. the rooms were varied with some large and some small and some small but on a split level. the rooms were warm even with the heating off, if you leave the windows open then there is noise from the road on one side and noise from the kitchen on the other side. one of our group had a fall going to the bathroom at night in the split level room, so these rooms were impractical, the decor is a little dated but the lobby area is being renovated at the moment. the staff were friendly and helpful especially the waiting staff in the resturant, the food was lovely and you got as much as you wanted. the location is perfect so near the shops and the nightlife. we parked in the car park on the quay , not the one directly opposite the hotel but a little further down the quay, this one is cheaper and cost 5.50 until you take your car out regardless of how many hours or days you stay. i would go back to this hotel again .

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £75 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing