We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended, very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended, very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great hotel: accommodating and friendly, well located and parking available across the road.

The pub on the ground floor serves nice food and they have live music in the evening so really nice. Room was clean and comfy, breakfast was a feast with huge array of foods, there is nothing I can fault the Granville for!

Highly recommended, perfect hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    339
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
220
572
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

..still on best of british isles bus tour......clean and very central to waterford......i was in room 309 .....so when the bar staff emptied the glass bottles in the bin past 10 pm and the laundry is two rooms from mine and washing done til god knows when and the house keeper decided to vaccumpast 11 pm....it must have been urgent and the room above is either wooden floored room or passage way....footsteps all night......dinner was great ...silver service which is more work for staff and less for chefs and half of our group on dessertbefore mains......clean hotel...clean sheets ...walk everywhere to see the town......slep depends on your room..

Room Tip: not 309...... Hell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Being on a tour around the UK,I highly recommend the Granville as a must stay,staff are to be commended for A1 service throughout,meals are to die for & rooms are very comfortable.close to all conveniences such as City Centre,shops,banks etc and so easy to get around town without getting lost

Room Tip: Going by our room l am sure any choice of room would be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. Service was excellent in the hotel and the restaurant. the rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the restaurant was wonderful. we came to visit the town and the Waterford Crystal Factory, which was within walking distance and a very worthwhile experience for us (and for them, since we bought some crystal). there is a pedestrianized shopping district close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliot
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Spent one night with a CIE tour. It's a lovely old hotel, full of charm! Staff was friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious. Best shower on our trip! There was only one elevator, and staff had our luggage up in our room quickly. Great location for touring the city. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbaGals
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stopped here for lunch on our (bad choice of hote?l trip to Waterford. The Granville is a typical OLD OLD building on the "front' & very well maintaned. Even my 7 year old granddaughter noted how shiny & clean the outside paintwork was!!! Lunch was VERY busy & on tasting the food we realised why?!?!? It was pretty confusing at first as to how you bought/got a huge variety of food but then we got the cutest wee older waitress who helped us & couldnt have been nicer. Prices were reasonable too. Thought it looked like it would be steep! We had 3 very tasty lunches & coffees with one desert & one alcoholic drink & it was under 25 Euros...........& we sat for ages too.no pressure to rush us out the door..........Location couldn't be more central so would save a lot of taxi money on cheaper lodgings...........If only we had known previously!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBAGALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed one night here with a CIE tour. The restored historical features are remarkable. However, being a very old building presented some drawbacks. There was only one elevator, which was VERY inconvenient at high-usage times such as check-in. Our room was quite small. In fact we could only enter on one side of the bed--the other side was too close to the wall. The bathroom was small, but had a superb shower and unusual antique-looking sink fixtures. Fortunately we had a balcony for fresh air and a lovely view of the Quay.

Room Tip: The top floor balconies are pleasant in good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babbettemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing