We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Accommodation”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Quality Accommodation”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A nice modern hotel. Standard of rooms differ. Non air-conditioned rooms, Step-in shower in bathroom. Heated towel racks. Small but nice, neat room. Free wi-fi throughout hotel.

Pleasant food at dinner.

Conveniently located one end of the waterfront

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatscott24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is very much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay. That you mention the free Wi Fi si also appreciated as we see it as trying to add value and convience store to the guest stay. Hopefully you will get to return to The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    354
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
235
603
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The Granville is a lovely hotel in a great location my room was huge and spotless. The food in the bar was nice and breakfast was lovely and cooked to order offering things that many other hotels do not such as pancakes and eggs benedict. The staff were all very friendly too, especially on reception.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CheekybunnyKillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We got to stay, at last, at the Granville and it was gorgeous. We stayed in room 514, which I highly recommend. The guy on reception said they had a function on that night but we should hear nothing in that room, he was right. It's right at the top facing the quay so it was ideal.

A lovely, clean room with a balcony. Lovely breakfast the next morning. Couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strikermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Granville Hotel in Waterford overlooks the River Suir. Rooms at the Hotel Granville include bathrooms with baths, showers and heated towel racks. I need these at home! The Granville Hotel has been awarded Hotel of The Year 2013 by Georgina Campbell. It is a 5 minutes to Waterford, which has assortment of shops. There was a wedding reception while we visited. What a grandeur and elegant setting that would have been! The breakfast was excellent and "more than enough". It truly is a 4+ star venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schatzedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The Granville made our night in Waterford a memorable on. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was just about perfect. We ate both dinner and breakfast there and both were excellent as well. When we come back to Waterford we look forward to staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daryle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidicoles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful hotel that is full of old world charm. We got a beautiful room on the 5th floor overlooking Waterford Harbour. Bar food and breakfast delicious, service friendly and welcoming. A very relaxing stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiColes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

good hotel with friendly staff , I would stay here again and recomend the hotel .
the rooms where clean and service / food good .
good parking across the road I think the hotel paid for the parking be sure to ask before you go

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing