We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and efficient.”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
massanutten,va
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming and efficient.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were on a Globus tour and as advertised, the hotel manager came onto the bus to welcome us. We were given our room keys immediately upon entering the beautiful, old world lobby.
The room was very comfortable. Dinner was excellent and served in perhaps the most efficient manner we have ever encountered. The wait staff are highly trained, polite and gracious. The food was wonderful. The full English/Irish breakfast was equal to the dinner. Wish we could have stayed a 2d night to enjoy the bar and restaurant again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Wished you stayed longer is great for all us here at The Granville to read. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. You will just have to come back again one day. Thank you and we really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    348
    94
    35
    24
See reviews for
227
587
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel while we visited the Waterford factory. The hotel décor and rooms were great examples of beautiful woodwork and furnishing. Rooms and bed were comfortable - breakfast buffet was good and came with the room. Would heartily recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We appreciate your recommendation and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel. Thank you for your time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed from 18th to the 20th of Oct for a surprise party. all the hotel staff made us very welcome and nothing was a problem for them. food was excellent dinner and breakfast, and great value. The bar was a great place to unwind and enjoy the music, rooms very comfortable, just a little noise for traffic as our room was the road side. hope to go back sometime soon again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ager0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
“Impressive” is a great compliment to give us and thank you for that. Looking forward to your return and delighted that your first visit was so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

While on a tour of Ireland with Conway Tours, we stayed at the Granville Hotel. As soon as our coach pulled up in front of the hotel, we were greeted by the hotel manager, which was very impressive. The Granville Hotel is an older hotel, but has a lot of charm. I had a wonderful room at the end of a very long hallway. It was beautifully decorated. The family style dinners were delicious. You have to try the Porridge with Baileys Irish Cream at the Breakfast buffet. It's great and something I've been doing here in the States since I got home. Just love it! The hotel is not far from shops and eateries. If I ever make it back to Waterford, I will totally stay here again. To those at the Granville Hotel - THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR TRIP SO WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
To those at the Granville Hotel - THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR TRIP SO WONDERFUL! We thank you and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It’s what we endeavor to achieve and your comments are the full that helps us on our journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a great hotel - beautifully renovated, spotlessly clean with lovely staff. There was a wedding party the night we stayed and at check in the staff asked if we were attending and when they found we were not, they moved us to a room where we would not be disturbed. Breakfast had a good selection which was all very nice.

I was not aware of there being much by way of swimming pool or gym so not a hotel I would like to spend lots of time in but a very nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Excellent hotel is indeed great praise for us and I can assure you we appreciate the compliment. It helps maintain our standards will help other guest choose The Granville Hotel. Hopefully you will get to visit Waterford and the Granville Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed there with a globus tour manager came to bus to greet us speedy check in beautiful old world charm lovely room with complimentary water and snack wonderful tea and breakfast staff fantastic best hotel of our 17 day tour

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We all like to read that we were the best hotel on your 17 day tour. Delighted that you enjoyed The Granville Hotel Waterford and we are grateful to you for your time to write the review. Perhaps one day you may get to return to The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

we stayed at the Granville for the first time on a recent trip to Waterford. It was excellent in every respect. We had a beautiful well decorated room that was spotless. A family style dinner was superb! Our group was 18 and we had just visited France and Germany. The Granville was far and away the best hotel!! It had a charming pub, great staff and a wonderful owner who greeted guests in the lobby Don't stay anywhere else and have the full Irish breakfast- you won't eat lunch.

Room Tip: our group all had fine rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
A classic hotel is a lovely way of describing The Granville Hotel as it is how we strive to maintain its character. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing