We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
winnipeg
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel on our 1st night in Ireland.Very friendly and helpful staff.Parking for hotel right across the street on the waterfront.Grand old hotel with lovely 2 tiered room,with a sitting area.View out of our window was of the waterfront.Hotel close to Waterford crystal factory and medieval museum.Great walking in area for restaurants.Breakfast here was 1st class with buffet plus ordering from the menu included in B & B price.Great eggs benedict and the best coffee any of us had ever had.Also very nice bar downstairs in the hotel where we had our first taste of Guiness.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Great that you had your first taste of Guinness in the Granville Hotel. We are also delighted that you took the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind comments about The Granville Hotel and that you enjoyed the great eggs benedict and the best coffee any of us had ever had. Also the very nice bar downstairs in the hotel where you had your first taste of Guinness. Your review will help other travelers to choose the Granville Hotel and for this we are very grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    331
    92
    34
    23
See reviews for
217
561
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our visit to the Granville was comfortable. It is about a ten-minute walk from the train station and located on a busy street at the river, near a bus station for intercity buses and riverside parking. Based on past Tripadvisor reviews, we requested a room on an upper floor to limit noise exposure, which the hotel accommodated (we had to wait for the room though, which seems to be something unique to UK and Irish hotels, as we almost never experienced this in our other travels around the globe; but the room was ready at the official check-in time).

The hotel radiates old world charm and seems to cater mostly to a somewhat older clientele. The lobby was relatively small but decorated in a very inviting way. There was only one elevator which caused an occasional wait, but this was not a major issue.

Our room toward the street and river was nice overall, although it was a bit longish and narrow and had an extra bed in it. Most importantly, we slept very well, undisturbed by any noise. Everything was very neat and clean, and breakfast was fine. We also enjoyed the bar where live music was played at 10 pm, with many guests singing or humming along to music from John Denver, Neil Diamond and the like. Again, a comfortable feel (helped by a Smithwick's Ale) and a good opportunity to listen to songs we hadn't heard for a while.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room because of the view of the river and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate your comments that the hotel radiates old world charm and that you most importantly slept well and enjoyed what the hotel had to offer. Glad you enjoyed the Smithwicks and hope you get to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIRE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Recently we had an overnight stay in the Granville Hotel which we enjoyed very much. The staff were great and very welcoming. Upon arrival they gave us a lovely balcony room which had a beautiful view across the river. The beds were extremely comfortable. It was really nice. The ensuite was spotless although a little on the small side. The breakfast was wonderful with a great variety eventhough the buffet breakfast was not on that am as it was Christmas Eve, the staff would have got us anything we wanted. This hotel has' the olde world charm'and would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyCatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
This hotel has' the olde world charm’ and would love to return again soon.We hope you will be able to do so someday. Many thanks for your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an overnight stay, the decor and rooms are excellent. The welcome was warm...dinner in the bar by the fire was lovely. The room was spacious, with a sitting area. Bathroom exceptionally clean. Having recently stayed in the Ritz, London we believe the Granville rates equally or just fractionally better. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Granville apparently gets quite a bit of group business as evidenced by the ever-changing row of buses lined up outside. I was part of a small group as well. This didn't seem to be a drawback. Check-in was efficient and with no delay, we were in our rooms. During the couple days we were in residence, I never found the lobby crowded with people waiting to get in.

Our room was comfortable, immaculate, and with pleasant decorations. The ambiance in the public areas including the lobby, and the restaurants was welcoming and elegant in a "not over-the-top" way, but really added to the comfortable feeling. The breakfasts were nothing short of amazing.

I would certainly plan to stay here again if my travels bring me back to Waterford in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dekberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
When someone stays for a few days in the one Hotel they get a great feel for a place. Your kind comments about the room the décor and the breakfasts that were nothing short of amazing are very much appreciated by all of us here at The Granville Hotel. That you would certainly plan to stay here again if my travels bring me back to Waterford in the future is high praise indeed and we thank you that. These comments help us in our journey to deliver a high level of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhead
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here as part of a 21-day Scenic coach tour through England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland. The hotel was very welcoming and a wonderful place to stay. Our room was extremely cosy and well appointed.

We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening then listened to some live Irish music which was very well received by our Australian tour group. The Guinness flowed freely!!

Breakfast next morning was very nice indeed and the staff couldn't do enough to look after us.

Should we venture back to this part of the world again we would most definitely stay at the Granville again.

Room Tip: I can't recall where our room was but there was no problem with it nor did we hear any complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hopefully you get back to this side of the world and we would love to have you stay at The Granville Hotel again. We are grateful for your comments and your recommendation which I feel will help others to decide to stay here also. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here at the end of November, (My hubbies Birthday Treat) found it to be very busy, impersonal, and trading on its name more than anything else. The room was large with a seating area and a view, thought it would be nice to have breakfast in the room, went to find the door card that you fill out and there was none in the room. Approached the reception desk on our way out and asked if we could have one sent to the room. A very rude young man offers the card and a pen and says you can do it now.. I explained we where on our way out and would prefer if he could organise for the card to be left outside on our door. Went into the town where the Winterval Festival was just starting to get under way. We had a pleasurable evening stroll through the Christmas Market area, took pictures of the huge Carousel, watched young and old getting into the festive spirit, mulled wine and hot chocolate filled the air. The train lit up as it chugged passed, the music and laughter of the people in the ice skating rink all added to the mood.. delightful!
We returned to our room expecting to find the breakfast order card there.. still no card. Went back to reception and had to ask for the card again, I asked is it still customary to hang the completed card outside the room before 10pm for someone to collect it and he replied no you can hand it back here! I booked dinner for 8.30pm the resteraunt was pleasantly decorated, but the staff where quiet rushed, trying to cater for a big birthday party. When our meal arrived it was barely hot. I went for the Turkey & Ham thinking it would be very good ,seen as its a traditional Christmas dish, it was more like a canteen Christmas lunch, The breakfast the next morning arrived on time and was plentiful. I would recommend this hotel for B&B only.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 853Antoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your kind recommendation. We here at The Granville Hotel are all responsible and accountable for our behaviour and how we act and react. It would not be our intention to be rude and I am sincerely sorry if that is how you felt and my colleague has been made aware of your comments. You have described the events of your stay very well and your dinner should not have tasted like a canteen and for this I also apologies. However I do feel you have been balanced in your comments and I appreciate your praise and your recommendation. Hopefully you will get to stay with us again and you will see we took your comments on board and made it easier for people to order breakfast to there room. Also the chef has taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing