We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but slightly jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Adequate but slightly jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here overnight during a business trip, maybe it was a bit quiet prior to the Christmas season but I felt the hotel was a bit jaded and worn out. Room was OK, nothing spectacular. Funny noises from the water pipes in the middle of this night. Very deceptive step on the way into the room, almost sprained my ankle. Heating was on full blast, had to open a window. Had food in the restaurant which was fine. Guinness not great in the bar to be honest. The hotel might be much better in the summer season, but not this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoForSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Disappointed that is how you felt leaving The Granville Hotel. All your comments I have taken on board and I understand what you’re saying and would like to apologies for the noise in the pipes and the Guinness not being great. Regardless of the time of the year these things should not be. I do hope you will stay with us again and that your view of us will change. Perhaps if you wish just request a different room that does not have a step. Looking forward to you coming back and you having a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    339
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
220
571
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a short break in the Granville hotel on fri 19th dec.we arrived before midday expecting to just drop off our luggage but lovely lady on the front desk immediately checked to see if room ready and we were given room straight away . lunch at their carvery was fantastic but far too much food we could easily have shared one lunch, we had late drink in the bar very friendly helpful staff.room was spotless,car park voucher very useful. , all in all lovely stay and will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
“All in all lovely stay and will be back soon”. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We can’t ask for much better than that and we are delighted that you enjoyed your and we looking forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel on our 1st night in Ireland.Very friendly and helpful staff.Parking for hotel right across the street on the waterfront.Grand old hotel with lovely 2 tiered room,with a sitting area.View out of our window was of the waterfront.Hotel close to Waterford crystal factory and medieval museum.Great walking in area for restaurants.Breakfast here was 1st class with buffet plus ordering from the menu included in B & B price.Great eggs benedict and the best coffee any of us had ever had.Also very nice bar downstairs in the hotel where we had our first taste of Guiness.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Great that you had your first taste of Guinness in the Granville Hotel. We are also delighted that you took the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind comments about The Granville Hotel and that you enjoyed the great eggs benedict and the best coffee any of us had ever had. Also the very nice bar downstairs in the hotel where you had your first taste of Guinness. Your review will help other travelers to choose the Granville Hotel and for this we are very grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our visit to the Granville was comfortable. It is about a ten-minute walk from the train station and located on a busy street at the river, near a bus station for intercity buses and riverside parking. Based on past Tripadvisor reviews, we requested a room on an upper floor to limit noise exposure, which the hotel accommodated (we had to wait for the room though, which seems to be something unique to UK and Irish hotels, as we almost never experienced this in our other travels around the globe; but the room was ready at the official check-in time).

The hotel radiates old world charm and seems to cater mostly to a somewhat older clientele. The lobby was relatively small but decorated in a very inviting way. There was only one elevator which caused an occasional wait, but this was not a major issue.

Our room toward the street and river was nice overall, although it was a bit longish and narrow and had an extra bed in it. Most importantly, we slept very well, undisturbed by any noise. Everything was very neat and clean, and breakfast was fine. We also enjoyed the bar where live music was played at 10 pm, with many guests singing or humming along to music from John Denver, Neil Diamond and the like. Again, a comfortable feel (helped by a Smithwick's Ale) and a good opportunity to listen to songs we hadn't heard for a while.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room because of the view of the river and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate your comments that the hotel radiates old world charm and that you most importantly slept well and enjoyed what the hotel had to offer. Glad you enjoyed the Smithwicks and hope you get to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIRE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Recently we had an overnight stay in the Granville Hotel which we enjoyed very much. The staff were great and very welcoming. Upon arrival they gave us a lovely balcony room which had a beautiful view across the river. The beds were extremely comfortable. It was really nice. The ensuite was spotless although a little on the small side. The breakfast was wonderful with a great variety eventhough the buffet breakfast was not on that am as it was Christmas Eve, the staff would have got us anything we wanted. This hotel has' the olde world charm'and would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyCatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
This hotel has' the olde world charm’ and would love to return again soon.We hope you will be able to do so someday. Many thanks for your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an overnight stay, the decor and rooms are excellent. The welcome was warm...dinner in the bar by the fire was lovely. The room was spacious, with a sitting area. Bathroom exceptionally clean. Having recently stayed in the Ritz, London we believe the Granville rates equally or just fractionally better. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Granville apparently gets quite a bit of group business as evidenced by the ever-changing row of buses lined up outside. I was part of a small group as well. This didn't seem to be a drawback. Check-in was efficient and with no delay, we were in our rooms. During the couple days we were in residence, I never found the lobby crowded with people waiting to get in.

Our room was comfortable, immaculate, and with pleasant decorations. The ambiance in the public areas including the lobby, and the restaurants was welcoming and elegant in a "not over-the-top" way, but really added to the comfortable feeling. The breakfasts were nothing short of amazing.

I would certainly plan to stay here again if my travels bring me back to Waterford in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
When someone stays for a few days in the one Hotel they get a great feel for a place. Your kind comments about the room the décor and the breakfasts that were nothing short of amazing are very much appreciated by all of us here at The Granville Hotel. That you would certainly plan to stay here again if my travels bring me back to Waterford in the future is high praise indeed and we thank you that. These comments help us in our journey to deliver a high level of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing