We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5star quality”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in February with parents. Absokutly cannot fault this hotel. This is a five star quality hotel! Dinner was second to none and while we were waiting for mash and veg we were offered complimentry drinks due to the wait we had incurred which was a lovely gesture. We booked into a suite, by far the nicest hotel room i have ever stayed in. Thank you- we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you and we do hope you will get back to stay with us again in the not too distant future. We very much appreciate the time you took to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for one night on 14th February in Granville Hotel. This hotel deserves its 4 star status.
Staff are so friendly, courteous and assist in every request - even made sandwiches at 2 in the morning. Rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Great selection in the buffet for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was very good. Again staff were so courteous and professional. Well done to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ligure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for the accolade and I am sure our team appreciates all your comments. We are always very grateful when people take the time to write a review as I am sure it helps other guest decide to choose The Granville Hotel. Hopefully you will get to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time in a few months having been a regular visitor up to three years ago. Staff as usual very pleasant & service was good. Food in the bar is average- decent portions but very bland and ordinary. Rooms are comfortable but are very tired and needing some investment. Really shouldn't be considered a 4 star hotel. Will probably be back as unfortunately Waterford is not blessed with good affordable hotels.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Luhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Staff as usual very pleasant & service was good are nice comments to get and we thank you for them. Also that we are a good affordable hotel and that you will be back is great. However your were disappointed with your room which I am sorry about as I am that you thought the food was bland. I do hope you will return and if you would like to make your next reservation directly with me on rhurley@granville-hotel.ie I would be more than pleased to look after it for you. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was one of the most memorable hotels in which we have ever stayed. We stayed here at the recommendation of my distribution partner whom I was visiting while in town. As it turns out, we were very impressed as this place was wonderfully nostalgic. The location on The Quay was ideal as it was within walking distance from the city centre. The exterior had a rather grand appearance which was matched by the regal interior. The woodwork and décor were extraordinary. We were checked in quickly and efficiently and we found the two women working the front desk to be very pleasant and engaging. We took the elevator to the second floor to find our room. It was at that point that we ran into the one disadvantage we found with this fine old hotel. In true Fawlty Towers style, once reaching the second floor there were stairs that were there for no apparent reason. While this added charm, it was not pleasant lugging around heavy suitcases. We had to do this going up and down three short flights of stairs. Nonetheless, we ultimately found our room, however, and were very impressed with the décor. It was clean and everything functioned well, including the WiFi. There were a dearth of outlets but that would be expected in a vintage establishment like this one. We ate at the bar the Sunday night we checked in as there were no other choices for outside food by the time we inquired. The bar had a beautiful appearance equal to that of the rest of the hotel and we indeed enjoyed our meal there in a relaxing environment. The morning breakfast in the restaurant was also very enjoyable with hot items made-to-order as well as a very good selection of cold items. Our check-out was quite efficient. There was a problem with the bill but they took care of it and emailed the corrected version of the invoice to me later. In all, this was without question one of the nicest hotels at which we have ever stayed. The appearance was striking, the service was friendly and efficient and the price was very reasonable for what we received. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful kind comments.The appearance was striking, the service was friendly and efficient and the price was very reasonable for what we received. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation. This recommendation I am sure will be very helpful to future guests. We are very grateful and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is right on the waterfront and you can walk everywhere from here. Excellent shopping around the corner. Easy to get to Waterford crystal and galleries from the hotel. Nice Irish breakfast included in our room rate. Staff are very friendly. Gluten free options on the menu were appreciated.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and the time you took to write them. We are very lucky to have such a good location and I am glad you enjoyed our gluten free options. Hopefully you will get to make a return visit to The Granville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Came here in July 2012 with about eight girls for a birthday weekend.

The price was good we got a deal 2 nights b&b and one dinner for 99 per person.

Good location right along the quays and in walking distance from the train station.

Reception is quite small though not a problem.

As there was eight of us we had four rooms I was lucky enough to be given a huge room although other people in our party had tiny rooms which they requested to be moved and that was done no questions asked.

First night we sat in the bar and got bar food which was lovely the atmosphere in the bar was great too,

The location is brilliant with walking distance to the towns main nightlife centre.

The hotel itself is old style but elegantly done and service is brilliant,

The choices on the breakfast menu were brilliant (full irish and pancakes with fresh berries and cream to name a few) with brilliant service.

The same goes for the dinner we had the second night in the hotel with silver service and a great choice on the table d horte menu including duck and fish.

Would definitely be back if in Waterford again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chloecooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you do come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a wonderful hotel and what great service!! Upon arrival at the hotel, the hotel manager came on the bus and welcomed us to the hotel. He personally welcomed each person as we left the bus. Checkin was speedy and luggage was delivered promptly. We had our best dinner and breakfast of our tour here. The dinner and breakfast was superb! The food was also the best that we had experienced since being in Ireland. The manager came to our dinner table to chat and upon learning that one person in our group had just had a birthday and another coupe was celebrating their anniversary, he ordered complimentary champagne for our table. What a great touch of service!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for a most wonderful review ““Best Hotel on Our Tour!” We really appreciate your time and are very grateful for your comments. You captured all we set out to achieve and that you leave The Granville Hotel having had a good experience, one that you will remember. Hopefully you get to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing