We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming part of Waterford character...”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Barryton, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A charming part of Waterford character...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel in the heart of Waterford. It still maintains it's historical charm while upgrades bring it to the 21st century. Walking distance from stores and restaurants make it an ideal spot to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a level room and bathroom. One of the tourists from our group was in the hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sldavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are very fortunate to be in such a good location close to all the visitor attractions, stores, restaurant and pubs. Thank for your kind comment that we are a gorgeous hotel in the heart of Waterford and still maintain its historical charm while upgrades bring it to the 21st century. Perhaps one day you will get to return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    350
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
229
594
33
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel year in year in year out fails to disappoint. We stayed here for one night in April and wished we could have stayed for far longer. There was nothing about this hotel (the rooms, the staff, the food, the reception area, everything) that was in anyway disappointing.
I must admit I had made the big silly error of booking 2 rooms for 3 nights in the nearby Travelodge at some exceptionally super duper never to be repeated knock down internet rate and lived to bitterly regret the decision. We were taking our breakfast and other meals at the Granville anyway but I had had enough of the Travelodge after the second night so we moved into the Granville. We have 3 teenage children and this was probably the last time we'd go to Ireland as a family and didn't want their abiding memory of our last trip together there to be of 3 nights in some 3rd world grot hole of a Travelodge. And the Granville obliged in style at retrieving the quality of our mini-break.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the quay. From experience some years ago... if you're a family avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoggyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Glad we were able to help and recover the experience and help create the emotional attachment for you and your family on what you feel is your last trip to Ireland together. You just never know what will happen. We are grateful to you for taking the time to write your lovely review and whenever look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was in Waterford today (25/05/2014) with a group of 15, and we went to the Granville for the carvery dinner. Even though we understood that we would have to sit where ever we found a seat, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us as a group. Everyone loved the food and it was value for money. Thank you to Jackie for organising seating together, to Anne (I think) on the till for her service and I believe Irene for spotting when we arrived and helping us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherpamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted with all the positive comments about the food and service in the carvery and those you mentioned will also be delighted to read your comments. It’s these type of experiences will bring customers back again and again.Hopefully you will get to return to The Granville in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent one night on a recent trip to Ireland. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was average with attentive wait staff. We ate dinner that night in the pub. Again the food was average. It was a Saturday night with a large wedding party to attend to so the staff had their hands full managing the crowd. Good location in town with easy walking distance to the Waterford factory/store.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nctravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Appreciate your comments. You liked the location, you found us clean and the staff attentive and I would love to see you coming back to stay as I feel we could deliver that what you found average to at least good. Just a thought and many thanks for the time you took to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May just before the heavy tourist season. This is an older hotel, with features from the 40's, 50's, etc. Friendly staff and a large pub right off the main lobby with reasonably- priced food. There are some negatives to consider, at least for Americans accustomed to more modern accommodations:
1.) There is only one small lift to the upper floors. It will accommodate two persons with their luggage. It will be a real hassle if you arrive at the same time as a tour bus.
2.) Once you are at your floor, there are liable to be short flights of stairs to haul luggage up and down to get to your room. Might have been quaint in the 50's, but a PITA for older folks.
3.) The place could use a good cleaning. Dust has accumulated on things like lamps, the tissue dispenser in the lav, the picture frames and headboard. Looks like the room had not had a thorough cleaning in perhaps two to three years.
4.) Car parking is free (as advertised), but only from 5:00pm through 9:00am the next morning. Basically overnight parking in the commercial lot across the street. If you arrive early, or want to walk around town during the day, it's a Euro an hour for the 8 hours not covered by the hotel. The hotel does not have its own parking lot.

These are just things to consider. Aside from the cleaning issue, we found The Granville to be a nice place at a reasonable price. Their breakfast, included with the room, was great! Everything you could possibly want. The eggs Benedict were superb. The assortment of fruits, breads, etc. was excellent.

It's about a 10 minute walk to the city centre, and the tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king bed for an extra €10. It's much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Overall you found The Granville to be a nice place at a reasonable price. Their breakfast, included with the room, was great! Everything you could possibly want. The eggs Benedict were superb. The assortment of fruits, breads, etc. was excellent. Thank you for these comments and also for your others. I must try and deal with the other comments also as you have been good enough to take the time out to write them. We are a very old building and because of certain restrictions we will never be able to have that what a new build can have. We however feel what we do deliver on the expectations of our visitors with our product. Yes we pay for car parking from 5pm to 12 noon next day and can offer 24 hour parking for 3.50 euro which in light of our reasonable rates I feel is not bad for a city centre.
What concerns me most is that you felt you room was not clean and for this I sincerely apologies. We have what I thought is a good housekeeping system in place and from other reviews you will see the cleanliness of the hotel comes through. However in light of your comments we have had a thorough check of all rooms to ensure that our daily and scheduled deep clean are carried out in time and to standard. So thank you for your comments and I hope you can come back someday and find that we are in fact a very clean hotel. Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spend a night in this well appointed hotel with an essence from the 1940's to the 1980's on different parts of the hotel. The rooms might be a little small but that is general in Europe. We had a nice dinner, sleep and breakfast next morning. We did take a small walking tour of the principal buildings to discover the city's history. A visit to the House of Waterford Crystal was also very interesting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted with all the positive comments that you had a nice dinner, sleep and breakfast next morning and that you found the visit to the House of Waterford Crystal also very interesting. We appreciate the time you took to write your review and perhaps one day you will return to Waterford and to The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed in hotel as part of a tour group. Located along the waterfront in Waterford with nice view, and close to pubs and restaurants. Room was very cramped as the hotel is quite old, but well mantained. Bed was small for two, smallest I have seen in a while. Very helpful staff and breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your comments are appreciated. What is nice to read is that any negative you found was compensated with some kind of positive and which is what happens that you quiet rightly pointed in an old building. Helpful staff and good breakfast helped you form the overall opinion that we are a pleasant place to stay. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing