We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to Beat This One”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Sparta,NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat This One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This Hotel has everything and knows how to please their customers. The Hotel itself is beautiful and perfectly maintained. Very comfortable room and bath, well decorated and spotlessly clean.
We had the full breakfast and it was elaborate, well staffed and delicious. They also have a very nice Bar and lounge area. We only had time for one night but wish we could have stayed longer
Located at the riverfront and handy for a walking tour of the city. The room also had a small terrace outside our room which was very nice.
Courteous and friendly Hotel staff helped finish our perfect visit.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a bad room, but can personally vouch for the rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. That The Granville again is hard to beat is a great recommendation to give and we are very grateful for your comments. Hopefully you will get to return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    339
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
220
571
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely traditional hotel. Lovely big rooms with clean bathrooms. Really comfy bed.Great bar that serves good food. Breakfast was excellent. Traditional irish cooked and served to you. Also with the usual buffet. Staff were very friendly. Free wifi too. There is a car park just over the road. Location is excellent in walking distance of the shops and the Waterford Crystal factory . I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. That you would stay at The Granville again is a great recommendation to give and we are very grateful for your comments. Hopefully you will get to return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here on a Globus tour of England, Ireland and Scotland. What a pleasant surprise! An older hotel that had so much charm and grace.The room was comfortable. The food was excellent. We had dinner and breakfast. The staff showed us how to prepare an Irish coffee. The pub in the hotel was great. All in all a great stay. Not the usual chain hotel experience. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks fro your great recommendation and I hope you are making plenty of Irish Coffees at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammanford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a wonderful traditional hotel. Felt so comfortable and pampered. Wonderful staff, glorious food. Right in centre of Waterford, easy parking. Room a good size, with an armchair each, did not want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Not wanting to leave is a great recommendation to give anywhere and we are delighted that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Hopefully you will get to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to attend a conference. Ana on check in was one of the most genuinely friendly receptionists I have come across. As I have some mobility issues I booked a few weeks in advance so had a beautiful room on the fifth floor beside the lift. This room also had a lovely balcony outside where I could relax, look out over the city and enjoy my smoke. Even though I'm a smoker I can't abide sleeping in a smelly smoky room so the balcony was ideal and I wasn't bothering anyone. The rate for this lovely room was €110 incl breakfast. This is excellent value. I was travelling alone so made full use of room service for dining etc. again very efficient and food was lovely. Parking is in a public car park but it is literally across the road so no hassle. When you get your parking ticket from the machine bring it with you to the hotel. They will validate it for the overnight stay when you check out.
The bar looked gorgeous and comfortable but I only had lunch there which was very good.
The only small negative would be the size of the bathroom in my room. If you are any way on the big size it's a bit of a squeeze.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Granville and definitely plan on returning. Highly recommend but do take note of the room tips. A special mention also to Fiona in reception and Paul the room service waiter. Fabulous friendly staff!! Oh. Make sure to try a Waterford Blaa. They are yummy!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank rennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Granville Hotel for two nights and felt it was a wonderful place to stay. The room was very generous in size. A warning for those with mobility concerns...be sure you let the hotel know when you book your limitations. Our room was on the second floor and you could take an elevator to the second floor but then you had to go down a half flight of stairs to get to the room. The bar on the first level is a really neat place, fun, clean and the nightly entertainment is great (albeit repetitive if you go more than one night, seemed to be the same act). Wifi was included in the stay which is important for us. The location is fantastic, great place to stay to enjoy Waterford. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeadedWhimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
That you felt The Granville was a wonderful place to stay is very nice to read. That the location is fantastic, great place to stay to enjoy Waterford and you would go back in a heartbeat is the icing on the cake. Hope you do come back someday. Very grateful to you for the time you took to write your review. It all helps to create the awareness of Waterford and The Granville Hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been travelling Ireland for nearly 2 weeks . Seen the most amazing sights and scenery . Stayed at many hotels but this one exceeds anything we have ever stayed at. 4 star and should be 5! Clean neat friendly amazing food beautiful great entertainment... Did not want to leave . Extremely reasonable in price and expected to pay much more . Do yourself a favour and do not skip this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillmac2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are so lucky here in Ireland to have so much amazing sights and scenery. All you need is enough time or else come back again. To say that you have stayed at many hotels but this one exceeds anything we have ever stayed at is really humbling. I am sure when my colleagues read this they will be very appreciative, for its these comments that keep us all enthused about delivering what we do. Thank you and perhaps one day you will get to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing