We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lovely grand period hotel which is kept up to date within keeping of the hotel. It is spotlessly clean. The bar is huge and intimate at the same time. Woodwork polished and clean. The food in both the bar and restaurant is excellent. The service in the restaurant is exceptional.
This hotel is used a lot for American coach tours but this did not spoil waiting times etc.
The road is very busy outside the hotel which overlooks the marina. However I think if you needed to open your window in these rooms it would be very noisy.
I love staying here.

Room Tip: If looking over marina ask for top third floor. Fourth floor only has a velum window. Back rooms nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    351
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
231
595
33
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed one night at the Granville Hotel. It is located on a street near the water and within walking distance of many attractions. The elegance was apparent as soon as we entered. The lobby is small was beautifully decorated and welcoming. Our room was quite large with ample sitting space (including a bay window), a desk and chair, a queen bed, and a twin bed. There was also an armoire and two comfortable chairs. The bathroom was somewhat small but there was adequate counter space. It appeared that the room had recently been renovated, however, it did not lose any charm during the update. I especially enjoyed the staircase in the hotel. It was not like many of the more modern hotels where there is nothing to see on the way down. It was like being in an enormous house! The breakfast was served in the dining room/restaurant. The service was fantastic! The breakfast consisted of a variety of hot & cold items.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I am in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I spent one night at the Granville Hotel in Waterford. I could have spent a few more if time were available. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The personnel couldn't have been nicer. The front desk was extremely helpful in suggesting stores to shop. There was a lovely dining room and bar where you can get a great lunch at a reasonable price. Breakfast was included with the room and a wonderful breakfast it was. I suggest you stay at the Granville for the dining experience alone! Next time I'm in Ireland, I will surely stop again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good ones I was told from the family/friends I was traveling with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Lots of good food. Outstanding rooms and wonderful service. Conveniently located to everything. Soft comfy beds and plenty of amenities. Clean. The only issue we had was a pub right under our window but I'm sure if you get in the middle of the front upper floor you will be fine. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I rarely write reviews, however I feel I must for the Granville Hotel. I am a group General Manager of three five star hotels in Wales and know a little about quality and service.

Meeting with family in the area, we decided to stay at The Granville based on the tripadvisor reviews. We booked in for two nights.... And in fact I am writing this review on our second day (Tuesday 1st July), sitting in the bar enjoying a beer after a long day out in the sun.

Where do I start? Arriving at the hotel we were greeted at reception with a wonderful smile and check in was seamless. We were informed about the car parking opposite and were offered help with out luggage.

The receptionist was outstanding, giving us all the information we needed about the hotel, dining, bars and local information. A credit to the hotel.

We booked dinner for 8.30pm and decided to have a cheeky Gin and tonic before dinner in the well appointed bar. Again, service from ALL of the bar staff was second to none. Really friendly and really cheerful staff. Again, a credit to the hotel.

Dinner..... Oh where do I start !!
We had booked in on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package and thought dinner would be your run of the mill menu. How wrong was I. To start, I had the black pudding with Stilton .... Fantastic. Main course I opted for Turkey, ham with vegetables, really outstanding and served on hit plates which kept the meal hot throughout. For desert, I had smoked cheese. Again outstanding.

I sent my complaints to the chef and kitchen team. Fantastic food, well served by outstanding waiting staff who were very helpful, cheerful and pleasant.
Again outstanding.

Our room (315) was well appointed, faced the front, very clean and lots of room and spotlessly clean. Well done to house keeping. Again outstanding.

Breakfast was superb, lots of choice of buffet foods, homemade jams, breads, ham, cheese and lots more. I had the full Irish and WOW it was fantastic. The waiting staff, some of who were working on dinner service were really great again and could not do enough for you.

I know reviews are normally written after a stay, but feel so pleased of our choice to stay at The Granville Hotel I just had to write after one night......

We are looking forward to our second night tonight and can't wait for dinner :-)

For all you who are thinking about booking elsewhere I'm Waterford.... Don't bother, The Granville wins hands down.

Location, value for money, food, accommodation and best of all... The staff.

To the General Manager, you've got a great team and well done on keeping such a great hotel.

We will be back.
Diolch yn Fawr....

That's thank you in Welsh.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRMORGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our tour group stopped here for the night. The Granville is a wonderfully old-fashioned hotel with well appointed public rooms. It's in a great location, on the water, about 3 blocks from Reginald's Tower. Dining room is wonderfully decorated and the food was decent. Waterford is a great walking city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were made to feel so welcome at this grand hotel, once an opulent private home.
The rooms were immaculate and comfortable, the hot and cold breakfast buffet so delicious and detailed, that Baily's Irish Cream is offered to flavor your morning porridge! What struck me most, however, is the level of dignity with which the staff treated each of us. We were completely pampered in lovely old world surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyKingston_PA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing