We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most pleasant !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Most pleasant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful property with a lot of history and tradition.
Great up kept ,comfortable and beautiful rooms,fantastic beds,hot towels in the bathroom and more.
Breakfast to die for ,oatmeal with choice of Irish Whiskey or Baileys!
Dinner was great too!
Staff professional at all levels!
The GM greeted us on arrival and departure,nice touch!
Comparable with Leading Hotels in the World like the Peabody Hotel in Memphis,TN
I would go out of my way to return,a big Thank you to all!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kapitaenleutnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    331
    92
    34
    23
See reviews for
217
561
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, MT
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have to preface this review by saying I was part of a 30 person tour group that was booked into this hotel by the tour company. So I’m not sure of the price per room, but I want to share what I experienced and know about this place. Location is excellent. Everything is within walking distance. Dining, shopping, sites, and crystal factory. Breakfast was excellent. I'm from Montana and found it very interesting that one of the previous owners became one of our Montana Governors. The manager even came on the coach to say goodbye as we were leaving. Can't think of anything negative. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank washmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Granville Hotel is a charming and delightful hotel full of character and warmth set in the center of Waterford. In spite of its age, the Granville Hotel has all the modern amenities of a newer venue. But what really sets the Granville apart is the amazing attention to service. EVERYONE is "on point" in providing the ultimate experience for the guest. The wait staff provided a dinner service that rivaled anything you might see on an episode of Downton Abbey (and the food was fabulous). Niall, the general manager, appeared around every corner ensuring that we were very well cared for, and we were. The charming pub off the lobby was an authentic Irish experience with proper singing and drinking. We loved our stay at the Granville and only wish it were longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jntthamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lovely grand period hotel which is kept up to date within keeping of the hotel. It is spotlessly clean. The bar is huge and intimate at the same time. Woodwork polished and clean. The food in both the bar and restaurant is excellent. The service in the restaurant is exceptional.
This hotel is used a lot for American coach tours but this did not spoil waiting times etc.
The road is very busy outside the hotel which overlooks the marina. However I think if you needed to open your window in these rooms it would be very noisy.
I love staying here.

Room Tip: If looking over marina ask for top third floor. Fourth floor only has a velum window. Back rooms nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed one night at the Granville Hotel. It is located on a street near the water and within walking distance of many attractions. The elegance was apparent as soon as we entered. The lobby is small was beautifully decorated and welcoming. Our room was quite large with ample sitting space (including a bay window), a desk and chair, a queen bed, and a twin bed. There was also an armoire and two comfortable chairs. The bathroom was somewhat small but there was adequate counter space. It appeared that the room had recently been renovated, however, it did not lose any charm during the update. I especially enjoyed the staircase in the hotel. It was not like many of the more modern hotels where there is nothing to see on the way down. It was like being in an enormous house! The breakfast was served in the dining room/restaurant. The service was fantastic! The breakfast consisted of a variety of hot & cold items.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I am in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I spent one night at the Granville Hotel in Waterford. I could have spent a few more if time were available. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The personnel couldn't have been nicer. The front desk was extremely helpful in suggesting stores to shop. There was a lovely dining room and bar where you can get a great lunch at a reasonable price. Breakfast was included with the room and a wonderful breakfast it was. I suggest you stay at the Granville for the dining experience alone! Next time I'm in Ireland, I will surely stop again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good ones I was told from the family/friends I was traveling with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Lots of good food. Outstanding rooms and wonderful service. Conveniently located to everything. Soft comfy beds and plenty of amenities. Clean. The only issue we had was a pub right under our window but I'm sure if you get in the middle of the front upper floor you will be fine. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing