We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If You're in Waterford, Stay Here!”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If You're in Waterford, Stay Here!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only were able to stay one night but it was a great experience. Built in the mid eighteenth century, this place oozes charm. It has been upgraded over the years but still maintains an old world feel. Service was top notch and the food was excellent. All rooms are quite different so expect to be pleasantly surprised, no matter which one you get. Very close to the Waterford Crystal factory which is also well worth the tour. Highly recommended if you can stay more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweatSox37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    347
    94
    35
    24
See reviews for
227
585
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humlebaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spend 1 night at this lovely historical hotel. What a great hotel. Lovely. Friendly and helpfull staff all over. The bar and restaurant are worth visiting. We had a nice room overlooking the waterfront. There are some repair of the road in front of hotel, could be a little noisy when the start at 8 oclock
In the morning, but we were lucky until 10 oclock.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found this hotel to be an historic building located right on the harbourside of Waterford. It wasn't the charm or comfort or even the food of this hotel that was special - it was the friendly, professional and courtious staff who made our stay special. We highly recommend staying at this hotel so you too can expeience this old-fashioned fantastic service. You can also enjoy the quiet beuty of this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the wharf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for just one night but found the hotel to be very inviting. The lobby is just so beautiful. The room was spacious and comfortable and immaculate. The room faced the river and the street front, so it was a little noisy, but did not keep us up at night. There is only one elevator, but the staircase was really impressive (if you are able to do stairs). The Granville has a great history dating back to the 1700's. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel were both delicious.
Nice location to walk around and we even caught a sunset just across the street. With heated towel racks and WIFI, it is really a nice mix of modern and days gone by. Only some rooms have air conditioning which is not needed most of the time. We did use it because it was exceptionally warm.

Room Tip: Room in the front of the hotel have street noise. Ask for an air conditioned room if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The Granville is Charming!!! We spent the night and thoroughly enjoyed the decor, staff, food and drink! As part of a tour we received a demo on how to make Irish coffee and had a blast- highly recommend this hotel! The view was not quite so wonderful but the hotel can hardly be responsible for buildings on the other side of the river.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kmmrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was looking for the real Ireland and wanted to stay in a historic and traditional hotel. The Granville fitted the bill perfectly - it is a bit "rough round the edges" but that is what I wanted - an honest experience.
The good stuff:
1. Staff - friendly and helpful
2. Popular - the bar is full of local people enjoying themselves
3. Wi-Fi - free throughout the hotel
4. Free car parking - from 17:00 until 12:00 every day
5. Location - good for the whole town

The less good stuff:
1. Bed & linens - quite good but I have slept in better
2. Bathroom - a little tired and dated but clean and everything worked fine
3. Food - breakfast and bar food was basic but authentic
4. Aircon - there is no aircon but it rarely gets too hot in Waterford

There is nothing bad about the hotel.

In summary, I would definitely stay at the Granville again - it isn't a polished 5* big city hotel offering a cookie cutter sanitized experience. The Granville is the real deal and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Ireland.

Room Tip: It is worth paying an extra EUR 10 for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is right on the waterfront, so convenient to most everything. Right now, the main street out front is all torn up, making it very difficult to gain access to the hotel and challenging to offload luggage. You must use one of the public car parks across the street from the hotel and getting through the construction....well, just be aware.

The staff was warm and welcoming, the restaurant and pub were lovely and both served traditional very tasty food with large portions. Service was good in both venues. The room was a little disappointing; a VERY tight fit, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The weather was very warm and so was the room without air conditioning. There was a fan in the room, but it did little to alleviate the heat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing