We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Run Hotel - Best Hotel in Waterford”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This hotel is many years in Waterford. 4* and lives up to it. Staff v friendly and excellent at their jobs. Bedroom very cosy, antique furniture, marble bathroom. Great clientele drink and eat in hear. Food superb at great prices.Big bar, lots of people stroll in to the open fire bar for a spot of lunch. great attention to detail by staff. Cant recommend this hotel enough. Soft chairs in smoking area. not these steel ones that you get elsewhere. they say its the best hotel in Waterford - totally agree

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nualafarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2008

Recently stayed in the Granville Hotel in Waterford, the hotel is well located in the centre of the city. The hotel has plenty of character our room was a good size on the third floor overlooking the main road and river but we were not disturbed by the traffic. The room was very nicely decorated with two beds on small double and a single. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and have everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Only problem is that the walls are very thin and we were awoken one night by the couple next door arguing. I found the staff to be friendly and professional. That said, it should be pointed out the hotel caters for coach tours and therefore it can be busy at breakfast time. I would also advise those of you considering staying at this hotel not to bother with a package that includes dinner, because it was only average and you are only allowed choose from a limited set menu, However, Waterford has plenty of good restraunts within walking distance of the hotel. I would recommend Bodega restaurant and wine bar at 54 John's Street. (booking advisable). We had one of the best meals out we have had in a long time there and it won't break the bank. You should also check out the Munster bar (which also has a popular restaurant), its like stepping back in time lovely.
The Granville does not have a car park, and when I rang to make our booking I was told that they would validate the ticket for the public car park across the road between 5pm and 11am. But they omitted to tell me that they would only do so for only one nigh............. It should be noted that further up the quay side there is a long stay car park with a flat fee of €5.50. Which is much better value. All and all I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the South East.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We booked the night before our stay and the Hotel had no record of our reservation. This is no problem , these things happen. My problem was that Reception were not prepared to entertain the notion that we had booked, stating that they were full for quite some time and it was somehow our fault.
I work in the Hotel Industry and persisted in getting them to check their bookings and that particular website arrivals for that date. I still wasn't annoyed but we would have been left find another Hotel even though the booking was made in good faith.My Boyfriend had booked it and assumed by receptionists attitude that he had made a mistake and I was annoyed that he was made to feel stupid as they were quite consending towards him.
An older Manager was called and reluctantly checked their inbox and found our reservation, he found it and proceeded to explain how our booking slipped through using jargon that most people would not understand , there was no apology at all for refusing to accept that we had not booked and they 'found ' a room for us after all that!!!
The water was just about warm, but we were staying for one night only so just mentioned it on check out for their own benefit.
We didn't pay a very high rate and it is quite central, but the attitude annoyed me especially when we were so laid back about it, not even complaining during the 15 mins we were waiting to get a room, I just can't believe that no effort was made to be in any way friendly to us or apologise for the errors . We didn't complain, look for anything but I would have expected an effort in the form of customer service

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bialann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We unfortunately stayed here only one night as we were part of a tour. What especially pleased us all, was the fact that the hotel manager came on board the bus to welcome us and to say goodbye when we left. This was truly a lovely touch.

The hotel had been refurbished some time ago and they have retained the grand flavour of yesterday. Our room was charming. We had a bay window area with two easy chairs to sit and read. And the lights were bright enough to actually be able to see to read after dark. There were 2 casement windows to throw open for air.

Free access to a computer in the foyer. We were served an excellent dinner and full Irish breakfast.

This will be our first destination when we return to Ireland! We only saw the Waterford glass factory but there is a lot more to this town than that.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a group tour. So, the hotel was booked by the tour company. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were polite and friendly. The food was excellent. For breakfast, I asked for scramble eggs instead of the typical poached and fried eggs, and received my order promptly. The only minor problem was trying to control the temperature of the shower, which fluctuated between comfortably hot and just warm. Maybe it was just me since my wife didn't seem to have this problem. There is a very nice pub in the hotel. There was also a great pub to the back of the hotel, with a lot of character. All in all, a great place to stay with a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franko60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed here last weekend. My husband got a great deal for 2 nights b&b with one evening meal. Its a lovely hotel and we had our inclusive evening meal the first night which was absolutely delicious! In saying that, I think they gave us the wrong menu, there was a different menu for the 'inclusive evening meal' but we werent charged differently.
The hotel had a wedding on the first night and was very very busy. Our room was adequate but unfortunately, even though we were on the 3rd floor, we were awake pretty much all night listening to the wedding party downstairs and for some unknown reason, what sounded like a woman pacing around her room on the floor above us, we were sure they had wooden floors on the floor above, the noise was that loud from her heels! Then just to top it all off, someone during the night thought it would be funny to turn our 'do not disturb' sign around and the maid was trying to enter our room from about 8 oclock onwards!
Anyways, reception were very nice and apologetic and immediately moved us up to the 5th floor 'Penthouse floor' The rooms are slightly bigger up there but pretty much the same as our original room and just as noisy. I would recommend this hotel for people who are planning on late nights, if you're looking for a quiet hotel with the family or anything, forget it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Have just returned from a trip to Ireland and was delighted with our stay at the Granville Hotel. The receptionist was great and even though we had arrived early our room was ready.
The room was very comfortable with a small flat screen TV, a double bed and a second bed was also in the room. The bathroom was quite large with adequate towels.
The breakfast included with our deal was excellent with plenty of choice and very good service. The hotel is old and gracious and we would definitely go back .
Parking is across the road in the public car park. The hotel will validate your ticket from 5pm until 11am other wise it cost 1.80 Euro an hour to park which is quite expensive but as it is on the waterfront I guess this can be expected.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing