We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Granville Hotel is in a great location. Great staff, great rooms, great service, reasonable rates. Try the Munster Bar for very good food.
There is parking across the street and the hotel covers the overnight rate. The hourly rate for for the remainder of the time is1.80 euros.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    340
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
220
572
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blessington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Myself and 16 others in our group recently stayed in the Granville Hotel in Waterford. We all had such a good time, the weather was beautiful but even in winter the hotel is so central (its very close to the railway and bus station) There are local buses every half hour and long distances every hour). The city centre is only 5 minutes walk away. Best of all the foot is excellent and the staff are the friendliest you could wish to meet anywhere in the world.
I am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessobubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Having read the reviews on this forum I was very apprehensive about booking this hotel. We booked two nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal. Check in was friendly and informative. Room was perfect with a lovely big bathroom. Breakfast was amazing. Buffet of juices, cereals, porridge, fresh fruit and yogurts. Then, had to decide on Full Irish Breakfast or fresh fish, cold meats and cheese or kippers. I had the fresh fish (plaice) which was delicious. Also included coffee, tea or herbal teas, toast, Irish soda bread, croissants and pastries. Hotel was buzzing, great atmosphere. Evening meal was really good, plenty of choice and great service. would recommend this hotel if you would like to be spoiled and to enjoy a real Irish Cead Mile Failte.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed at The Granville for one night as part of our honeymoon tour of Ireland and can honestly say that this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in! The reception staff were unhelpful and while being checked in, were chatting to each other. The room we had was very hot but we couldn't open the windows as we were right next to the kitchen extractor fans and the smell was awful. The mattress was old and saggy with a big dip in the middle. We ordered breakfast in our room the next morning which was dried up and tasteless. Waterford however is a lovely place and we would recommend a visit especially to Waterford Crystal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFORD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

This hotel is many years in Waterford. 4* and lives up to it. Staff v friendly and excellent at their jobs. Bedroom very cosy, antique furniture, marble bathroom. Great clientele drink and eat in hear. Food superb at great prices.Big bar, lots of people stroll in to the open fire bar for a spot of lunch. great attention to detail by staff. Cant recommend this hotel enough. Soft chairs in smoking area. not these steel ones that you get elsewhere. they say its the best hotel in Waterford - totally agree

  • Liked — Homely feel of hotel, location bang in city overlooking quays
  • Disliked — Could pay for the parking till 12pm next day and not cut it off at 11am
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nualafarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

Recently stayed in the Granville Hotel in Waterford, the hotel is well located in the centre of the city. The hotel has plenty of character our room was a good size on the third floor overlooking the main road and river but we were not disturbed by the traffic. The room was very nicely decorated with two beds on small double and a single. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and have everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Only problem is that the walls are very thin and we were awoken one night by the couple next door arguing. I found the staff to be friendly and professional. That said, it should be pointed out the hotel caters for coach tours and therefore it can be busy at breakfast time. I would also advise those of you considering staying at this hotel not to bother with a package that includes dinner, because it was only average and you are only allowed choose from a limited set menu, However, Waterford has plenty of good restraunts within walking distance of the hotel. I would recommend Bodega restaurant and wine bar at 54 John's Street. (booking advisable). We had one of the best meals out we have had in a long time there and it won't break the bank. You should also check out the Munster bar (which also has a popular restaurant), its like stepping back in time lovely.
The Granville does not have a car park, and when I rang to make our booking I was told that they would validate the ticket for the public car park across the road between 5pm and 11am. But they omitted to tell me that they would only do so for only one nigh............. It should be noted that further up the quay side there is a long stay car park with a flat fee of €5.50. Which is much better value. All and all I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the South East.

  • Liked — Very Clean, good location
  • Disliked — No parking and very very hot plates ...........so hot the food continued to cook on the table
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

We booked the night before our stay and the Hotel had no record of our reservation. This is no problem , these things happen. My problem was that Reception were not prepared to entertain the notion that we had booked, stating that they were full for quite some time and it was somehow our fault.
I work in the Hotel Industry and persisted in getting them to check their bookings and that particular website arrivals for that date. I still wasn't annoyed but we would have been left find another Hotel even though the booking was made in good faith.My Boyfriend had booked it and assumed by receptionists attitude that he had made a mistake and I was annoyed that he was made to feel stupid as they were quite consending towards him.
An older Manager was called and reluctantly checked their inbox and found our reservation, he found it and proceeded to explain how our booking slipped through using jargon that most people would not understand , there was no apology at all for refusing to accept that we had not booked and they 'found ' a room for us after all that!!!
The water was just about warm, but we were staying for one night only so just mentioned it on check out for their own benefit.
We didn't pay a very high rate and it is quite central, but the attitude annoyed me especially when we were so laid back about it, not even complaining during the 15 mins we were waiting to get a room, I just can't believe that no effort was made to be in any way friendly to us or apologise for the errors . We didn't complain, look for anything but I would have expected an effort in the form of customer service

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bialann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing