We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveller rating
988
418
123
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
418
123
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porridge old world charm historic hotel irish whiskey old style the river wonderful hotel cie tour the pub waterford crystal breakfast was excellent car park full irish breakfast bar food viking triangle hotel bar central location
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely historic hotel. Room was very comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower. Good location for lots of things from tours to sights to restaurants. They really do have outstanding breakfasts!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank readingfundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Many thanks for your five star review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. We are blessed with our location, being so close to all the historic attractions, the Waterford Greenway and a host of bars and restaurants. We pride ourselves on offering a breakfast experience and it's great to hear you enjoyed it so much. i hope we get to welcome you back again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

This “Heritage Hotel” was charming enough but the weather was unusually warm when we were there the beginning of this month. We were there on our first Collette Tour and, frankly, expected better accommodations. Our room was clean but VERY small, had no view whatsoever, and no air conditioning. Yes, a room “cooling unit” was supplied and it did help, having put it on a table to blow directly on us all night. Some folks in our group complained that the cooling unit in their rooms did nothing to cool them. Not acceptable! Thankfully, after one night, we moved on to the next location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Pam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have been experiencing uncharacteristic exceptionally hot weather the last week or two alright. The Granville is one of Ireland's oldest hotels, although we have air conditioning in many of our hotel rooms we are incapable to have in it each bedroom due to structural restrictions. If you are returning you can request a room with air conditioning and/or a view to better facilitate your needs. I really hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Very impressed with every single member of staff from the front desk and restaurant staff, to the cleaners, and the manager knows his business. They really know their business and anticipate their customers needs and desires. This hotel sets the benchmark. The hotel has a popular bar with very good pub food. The breakfast is very extensive and high quality. The porridge is particularly good! I will definitely return!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dianne329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Dianne,

Thank you very much for your five star review. It's great to hear such kind words about the Granville team, I'll be sure to pass on your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Just stayed in this excellent heritage hotel for a couple of nights.
By definition heritage hotels are old, charming and not as convenient as a modern building
But the Granville makes it up immediately with wonderful staff that smile and welcome you

The restaurant and the pub was heaving with lots of people enjoying themselves
Irish hospitality at its best and Adrian at the Restaurant welcomes you and proactively guides you through the menu and makes sure you have a wonderful time. His tip for egg Benedict was well received and much appreciated. Thank you Adrian!
There was another chatty waitress that made my day through her causal Irish charm that makes you feel at home and better. I wish i had more time to chat to her

The room was comfortable too and roomy. The location on the river and very close to city centre is excellent too. Wifi does nt need password and works well around the day.
Breakfast is wonderful and charming.

The hotel gets a lots of american coach tours and many of the american guests were challenged by the building but were enjoying the charm.
Enjoy genuine Irish hospitality and the incredible heritage of the place! I will be back!

Room Tip: have eggs benedict
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I'll be sure to pass on all your kind words to the Granville team. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed in The Granville on a group tour of Ireland. I’ve done dozens of trips like that, and this is the ONLY hotel I’ve stayed at where the GM came out to our coach and welcomed us before we even got off! She also came on to say goodbye and thank us for our stay!!
This hotel is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are cozy and more like a home than a hotel! The food in the restaurant and bar is wonderful, and the restaurant staff is so attentive and also very friendly and personable.
I can’t recommend this hotel enough!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank fpsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you so much for your five star review. It's lovely to hear you felt so at home during your stay, that is our aim for all of our guests. Thank you for all your kind words and your generous recommendation. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews