We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed there on Easter weekend. It is decorated in the good old traditional way. Located right in the centre of Waterford.
It is a nice hotel but a bit too expensive for what you're getting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AniekaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    331
    92
    34
    23
See reviews for
217
561
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Chose this hotel rather randomly on arrival at Waterford airport but found it rather pleasant all round. Slightly noisy outisde the window but that lasted only very briefly in an otherwise relaxing and pleasant one night stopover. The 'early bird' meal was excellent value and very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Many thaks for staying at The Granville Hotel and for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments are very much appreciated and I do hope you get to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Granville Hotel on the May Bank Holiday weekend, after having luckily escape the Athaneum House Hotel (see my review).
The Granville was almost full to capacity which is always a good sign. The room was decorated in the traditional hotel style which made for a relaxing weekend. Everything was very clean and well maintained.
The evening meal was fine, the one fault we had was that the hotel residents were allocated a smaller dining room off the main dining room which was much nicer.
Breakfast was absolutely excellent, fresh food, and the cooked breakfasts were served via able service without the usual messy buffets. There was plenty of fresh breads, scones, croissants and these were kept well stocked up.
The hotel is in a great location along the river but is just around the corner from the main shopping area.
We also found a fantastic Italian restaurant up the street called La Fontana which we found to be excellent and well-priced.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We were in Ireland for a wedding at the Heritage Golf & Spa Resort and drove down to visit family in Waterford. The Granville met all of our expectations. The location is right on the Quay and close to town center. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even making us sandwiches after the kitchen was closed in the bar area.

The included breakfast was first rate also. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

My friends and I booked 3 rooms , 2 smoking 1 non smoking, we were looking for somewhere quiet, near shops, parking, near nightlife, nice breakfast, with good staff , and we got it all!! and for a great price, well done to all staff, pleasant , helpful and kind. Room fab! I will def return, and would recommend this hotel very highly.so close to the shopping area , I personally loved the fact that I could shop , drop all bags to the hotel and the shop again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muraod k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Check in was very rapid despite a wedding in progress. Our 4th floor room was well soundproofed, very spacious and immaculate. A small improvement would be to have a socket in the farthest corner from the door, which could double for the light. THe included dinner in our package was too good. The steak portion was a challenge in the context of three courses.

Breakfast next morning was excellent. Orders were taken for the fry items and kipper was on the menu, which is a great start on a cold day (though weather was exceptionally good for mid-Feb).

A small quibble re. parking. If you need to take the car out after 5, you have to pay the charge up to then.

The place has been newly redecorated and all is spotless.

Great location, but Waterford city centre is compact so Tower is also good in that regard.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyndevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin-Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

Just been back from staying in this hotel for the weekend
My second time staying here and I have to say I would stay nowhere else in Wateford.
Exceelent location (although i do take point re car parking!), superb staff,wonderful breakfast and spot on carvery lunch on the saturday in the hotel bar.
We were looked after very efficiently from original booking onwards and will deffinitely return .
The rooms are nice ,functional and have everything we needed .As to the point in another comment by a member from kent re linen tableclothes spoiled by paper napkins - i think if he is being a little bit pedantic here.
If he is looking for these he should perhaps go next for Waterford castle or Mount Juliet which provide linen napkins but are in a different league on pricing .

All in all -excellent recommendation at the price -could not find fault with it .

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing