We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miserable beds”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2010

A lovely old hotel, but the beds are awful, hard with no padding whatsoever.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you will appreciate we are very dissapointed you found our beds very hard and are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Comments such as yours we take very seriously and will have them fully investigated. Again we appreciate your comments as it helps us maintain the standards and ensure another guest does not have your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

This is a lovely old style hotel - however the rooms are not 'old style' in a negative way - our room was extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated (looked recently refurbished) and had everything we needed, plus a river view. The reception staff were lovely and welcoming, and the breakfast good quality and plentiful. So close to the pubs and restaurants of Waterford and also only about a 15 minute walk to the train station. We're looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzzieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed there on Easter weekend. It is decorated in the good old traditional way. Located right in the centre of Waterford.
It is a nice hotel but a bit too expensive for what you're getting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniekaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Chose this hotel rather randomly on arrival at Waterford airport but found it rather pleasant all round. Slightly noisy outisde the window but that lasted only very briefly in an otherwise relaxing and pleasant one night stopover. The 'early bird' meal was excellent value and very good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Many thaks for staying at The Granville Hotel and for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments are very much appreciated and I do hope you get to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Granville Hotel on the May Bank Holiday weekend, after having luckily escape the Athaneum House Hotel (see my review).
The Granville was almost full to capacity which is always a good sign. The room was decorated in the traditional hotel style which made for a relaxing weekend. Everything was very clean and well maintained.
The evening meal was fine, the one fault we had was that the hotel residents were allocated a smaller dining room off the main dining room which was much nicer.
Breakfast was absolutely excellent, fresh food, and the cooked breakfasts were served via able service without the usual messy buffets. There was plenty of fresh breads, scones, croissants and these were kept well stocked up.
The hotel is in a great location along the river but is just around the corner from the main shopping area.
We also found a fantastic Italian restaurant up the street called La Fontana which we found to be excellent and well-priced.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We were in Ireland for a wedding at the Heritage Golf & Spa Resort and drove down to visit family in Waterford. The Granville met all of our expectations. The location is right on the Quay and close to town center. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even making us sandwiches after the kitchen was closed in the bar area.

The included breakfast was first rate also. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiefEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My friends and I booked 3 rooms , 2 smoking 1 non smoking, we were looking for somewhere quiet, near shops, parking, near nightlife, nice breakfast, with good staff , and we got it all!! and for a great price, well done to all staff, pleasant , helpful and kind. Room fab! I will def return, and would recommend this hotel very highly.so close to the shopping area , I personally loved the fact that I could shop , drop all bags to the hotel and the shop again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muraod k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £75 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing