We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best Irish hotels I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“one of the best Irish hotels I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Granville Hotel. I didn't know anything about it before I went and was pleasantly surprised to find that it is one of the few old elegant quality hotels left in Ireland. From the welcome at check-in we found the staff extremely helpful and friendly; rooms were good quality, food excellent, terrific choices on breakfast menu.
The rooms to the front look onto the river but in between there is a busy street and traffic can be a bit noisy - so I would suggest if that bothers you, ask for rooms at the back. We stayed at the front and it didn't bother us - it quietens down late at night.
All in all, this hotel was really good value for money. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    331
    92
    34
    23
See reviews for
217
561
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

We went to Waterford for a reunion of a great circle of friends that we meet in Spain.....our very memorable experience was compounded by a fantastic two night stay in the Granville Hotel. The olde worlde ambience in the foyer is like a charming step back in time....the gleaming brass, the olde style reception area, a beautiful bar and library adjacent to the reception....the first impression we got there when we arrived is that the only thing missing here is a doorman in uniform. The sheer elegance of this hotel on the quays is simply beyond words. There is also the historic fact that Thomas Francis Meagher, the creator of the Irish Flag was born there,a reminder that not only do you get to enjoy the best of Irish hospitality here but also to experience a taste of Irish history.Our real value for money stay comprised of 2 nights bed and breakfast and one dinner for 99€ per person sharing.After a fantastic reunion dinner in our friend's home we spent a very comfortable night at the Granville. Next morning at breakfast time we were amazed to see a number of people queuing for breakfast, everyone queuing was very good humoured and I did not hear a single murmur of complaint, amongst the guests, as staff profusely apologised and assured us of a table as soon as possible, the delay was short and the breakfast was well worth waiting for.....the breakfast was simply superb.....not a bain marie or food warmer in sight.The waitress took our order, for my Husband a full Irish breakfast, I ordered the grilled fish of the day. There was a great selection on offer of fruit, cereal,freshly baked brown bread, home made jams and marmalades, croissants , biotic yogurt, as well as a great selection of fresh juices. When our cooked breakfast arrived, my husband's first comment was "piping hot and freshly cooked". My fish of the day was delicious melt in the mouth, grilled plaice....the best breakfast we enjoyed for a long time.We also noticed on the breakfast menu, freshly made pancakes and maple syrup ( not that commonly served in Ireland),....someone was doing the market research for the Canadian and American guests !..On our second night we enjoyed a beautiful dinner which comprised of locally sourced and the best of Irish ingredients, simply delicious !.We reluctantly checked out of the Granville, making a silent pledge to return again and again, God Willing.The Granville is a sheer treat of history, heritage, and Irish hospitality at its best, the staff are in a league of their own, the location is perfect , so near the city centre, and of course the world famous Waterford Crystal factory. This great value for money break, is also enhanced by the fact there is free car parking on the quay opposite the hotel.
The only thing that is overlooked in the Granville hotel is the beautiful city of Waterford !!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collettebonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

This was by far the best hotel experience we had during our one week trip around Ireland. Old fashion charm, clean spacious rooms, nice staff and a very nice bar and the only hotel were we had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was a good experience as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Hotel is in perfect location, facing the marina and < 2 minutes walk to the main shopping area. The shopping area itself is a nice pedestrianised area similar to many found on the continent. Hotel is lovely with lots of antique (looking) furnishings. It is neat and clean and staff are very friendly. Our room was spacious. The hotel bar has a good atmosphere and is used by many of the locals.

Lots of places of interest to see locally including the recently opened Waterford Crystal Centre (< 5mins away).

Only downsides for me was that the bed (in Room 410) wasn't all that comfortable - it seemed smaller than a regular double bed. Also had to switch the car from car park to car park to get best rates. We visited during the week so there was no entertainment in the hotel. If going again, we'd go at the weekend as there is entertainment on Friday and Saturday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick021961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed here 3 times and i am arriving back next week! A group of us from dublin go hear twice really and have never found any problems regarding the hotel. Clean rooms, lovely staff, great bar, great location and perfect price! Only complaint would be it can be abit boring at times (music for entertainment!) Perfect hotel for nice quiet holiday and would definatly recommend it! 4/5

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallMerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

This was a lovely hotel, with clean rooms and a friendly staff. The meal we ate in the dining room was very good.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AikenPhotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Just back from a wonderful 3 night stay in the Granville Hotel in Waterford.. Thank you to Mary the receptionist for all her assitance a few weeks back when I made my booking. I told her it was a special occasion( a very significant Bday for me and she kept her word) the room that she had allocated for us was stunning... We had a rooftop room overlooking the river with its own balcony... Bliss. The staff were very friendly, efficent and helpful , giving us advice on parking and local restaurants... But in the end, weather was so bad, that we ate all our meals in the hotel and they were lovely... freshly cooked breakfasts, not congealed bacon in a bain marie... Appetising bar food and my Birthday diiner in the restaurant was served with panache... The only downside to our trip was the RAIN... and oh boy did it rain... but we enjoyed our stay and we will definitely go back to the Granville and we would definitely recommend it to all our friends and families.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayzelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing