We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but avoid if you don't like bus groups”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Spent five nights at the Granville as our base for exploring Waterford County. Overall we had an enjoyable stay, though a few things could have been better. Roads were closed because of a fun run and food fair the day we arrived, so the directions given by the hotel were useless and no one had emailed alternative routes to us. Luckily we found a couple of very helpful Gardei to help us. The hotel also plays host to lots of bus tours, which means there are times when the one lift is just impossible to use as suitcases are being delivered to rooms. Our room was very comfortable, but we felt the thin, skimpy bath towels did not befit a 4-star hotel. We were given a room that does not have the internet (apparently the thickness of the walls means the wireless does not reach everywhere) - and were not advised of this on check-in. At least there is wireless in the bar, which we used but obviously not as convenient. We found the Irish staff very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately the Eastern European staff in the restaurant where we had breakfast were much less so and seemed more interested in setting tables for lunch than helping those of us who chose to miss the early bus tour rush and breakfast a little later (though still well before breakfast closed). We ate dinner in the bar a number of times, and enjoyed both the variety of on-tap beers and the food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJSCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at The Granville Hotel. Its pleasing to read the overall impression was good and that you enjoyed the beer and the food in the bar. The things that could have been better I do apoligse for. Some of them are within our control and are looking into ways we can improve the services and those that are outside our control we are also looking into ways of improving communication between all parties involved. When what you have commented on is resolved we will be all the better for it. So many thanks again for taking the time to write. Looking forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

3rd time staying in this hotel .Previous times with supervalugetawaybreaks .On both times got excellent rooms to the front of the hotel .This time booked on hotel website with weekend break offer of 2 nights b/b and 1 one evening meal . Got a small room at rear of hotel overlooking kitchens with noise and smells coming from same .Also wedding in hotel on friday night and noise coming from same a until late from reception hall also at rear of hotel outside our bedroom window

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedcrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

Thank you for staying at The Granville Hotel many times and for taking the time to write your comments. I am so sorry your last visit was not as good as the previous ones. When reserving your next weekend with us, please email that your room choice is to the front of the hotel and we will ensure that's what you will get. Looking forward to you returninn to The Granville Hote.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Granville Hotel exceeded our expectations. We had a good deal with 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner for £160. Considering the exchange rates on euros this is an excellent deal. The checkin was easy and friendly. The bar is always lively and again very friendly staff. The room we were in did not have a view but this is our perference as we prefer to be away from any main roads. The room had a double and a single bed with large space and lovely bathroom. The dinner we had was a set menu with 6 main choices, starter, dessert and tea/coffee which I think is their early bird menu (5.30pm - 7pm) but for the deal they offer it all evening. The food was lovely, generous portions, service efficient and we enjoyed every mouthful. Breakfast is also excellent. Lots on offer and the cooked breakfast is hot and tasty. We used Waterford as a base to explore the coast and there are some gorgeous beaches from 4 to 10 miles away to spend the day with your family. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay and there are some lovely restaurants and bars in Waterford itself for your stay. Would also recommend The Gingerman for pub grub and pleasant helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

Your high recommendation and kind comments are greatly appreciated. We thank for taking the time to write your review and look forward to you revisiting The Granville Hotel sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Ireland and touring Ireland, one of our stops was Waterford. We stayed at the Granville Hotel and were very happy with the service, our room, and the hotel's decor was very charming and inviting. I had some reviews prior to staying at the Granville, stating that it can be a bit noisy at night. But we did not find that to be the case. In fact, since we were only there we were disappointed that we didn't get to stay longer. My only advice is if you're traveling from the states make sure you eat before 8:30, its very difficult to find food after that. I would recommend the Granville to anyone and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyFanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel Waterford when on your honeymoon and thank you for writing the review. Should you decide to reviset The Granville Hotel on any of your anniversaries !!!! please remind us you stayed with us when on honeymoon.Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed in 7 hotels on our Globus tour this was our favorite! It was a beautiful hotel right on the water in waterford. It is very old with lots of history the man that designed the Irish flag was born in the hotel, it is very old. The dinner was amazing we had salmon and the best blackberry crumble I have ever had. We did a walking tour thew the town which was very nice. You can walk to most everything from the hotel lots of pubs and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talbbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

To have been your favourite hotel of the seven you stayed in while on a Globus Tour is a truly great accolade to give The Granville Hotel Waterford. Thank you for writing the review and many happy touring days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Whilst staying in Waterford we struggled to find where we wanted to go to eat. We liked the look of this elegant hotel and went in to look at their menu. The Restaurant Manager was so efficient and welcoming and gave us a copy of the Early Bird Menu which she recommended for families with young children. The meal cost us 20 Euros per adult and 10 for children and was such excellent value. There was a brilliant choice and included three courses which were all freshly prepared and to a very high standard. On overservation of how hotel clients were so well looked after we will definately stay at this hotel if we visit Waterford again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Granville Hotel. I didn't know anything about it before I went and was pleasantly surprised to find that it is one of the few old elegant quality hotels left in Ireland. From the welcome at check-in we found the staff extremely helpful and friendly; rooms were good quality, food excellent, terrific choices on breakfast menu.
The rooms to the front look onto the river but in between there is a busy street and traffic can be a bit noisy - so I would suggest if that bothers you, ask for rooms at the back. We stayed at the front and it didn't bother us - it quietens down late at night.
All in all, this hotel was really good value for money. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing